Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels in the media

Interesting read mate and makes sense why we could continually play Hands earlier this season. I have to ask the question though, is MA really considered a similar talent to what Suali or Walsh were at that age? I’d say good young talent with potential but not superstar.
Of course not. Matt Arthur will be in the top 30 at age 21. Suaalii and Walsh were playing regular first grade at 18. Arthur isn't being treated like they were. Plenty of merkins are top 30 at the age of 21. It's not some kind of special treatment. It's just a projection based on his ability right now, aged 18.

Happy MEel

Of course not. Matt Arthur will be in the top 30 at age 21. Suaalii and Walsh were playing regular first grade at 18. Arthur isn't being treated like they were. Plenty of merkins are top 30 at the age of 21. It's not some kind of special treatment. It's just a projection based on his ability right now, aged 18.
How many 18 year olds are given a top 30 spot in three seasons time, having only played against kids? I guess that’s the issue and where our opinions differ. I don’t think it’s necessary to make that projection so early on what MA has shown to date. The fact his dad is the first grade coach and a member of the r and r team, and we’ve decided to take that gamble with Jake isn’t a good look IMO.

I don’t reckon Hastings has turned out to be the type of
Player a club should have rushed a top 30 roster spot. That’s what I’m saying.
Easy to say in hindsight. Hastings was dominating the under 20s comp at 17. It was reasonable to expect that he might become an NRL star. So reasonable that those proven bums the Roosters thought he was worth the risk.
He’s a first grader but that’s it. It’s an unnecessary gamble if you haven’t even seen them play against men unless you have an out and out superstar and you know it.
I'd say a superstar will be getting better offers than the bottom of the top 30.
I’m not even sure Mataele is that to be honest, but at least he had played about 10 games of NSW Cup.
I'd say Hastings performed better in under 20s than Mataele did in Flegg. This is the difference between talent and mere physical maturity that clubs need to weigh up. In the case of Matt Arthur they're convinced of his talent, and are projecting his physical maturity to have caught up by the year he turns 21. I don't think it's as controversial as merkins are making out.

Gazzamatta

It seems to me Ive heard many an Eel promised a future top 30 spot only to be gone a year later. Im not sure this means much. I absolutely agree that this should not be heralded by Eels Media. Crazy!

Happy MEel

I reckon plenty of them. Did you read the article posted by emjaycee?
So we take media articles as gospel now?

Regardless, I’m guessing you’re referring to this bit:

When the manager of a star of the future comes knocking looking for an attractive deal or a guaranteed spot in the full-time squad, a club is pushed up against a wall.

They may believe that the kid is still two or three years away from playing NRL but they don’t want to lose him to a rival club and then risk looking silly if that kid does leave and happens to end up being the Walker-Walsh-Suaalii exception. So the club does what it has to do and locks in their future and then loses a spot in their top 30 that could have gone to the actual next cab off the rank.”

So what you’re saying is that we’re taking a punt on a top 30 spot in case MA turns into the next Walsh or Suali type talent? We have different risk appetites.

emjaycee

When the manager of a star of the future comes knocking looking for an attractive deal or a guaranteed spot in the full-time squad, a club is pushed up against a wall.

They may believe that the kid is still two or three years away from playing NRL but they don’t want to lose him to a rival club and then risk looking silly if that kid does leave and happens to end up being the Walker-Walsh-Suaalii exception. So the club does what it has to do and locks in their future and then loses a spot in their top 30 that could have gone to the actual next cab off the rank.”

So what you’re saying is that we’re taking a punt on a top 30 spot in case MA turns into the next Walsh or Suali type talent? We have different risk appetites.
As far as potential NRL number 9's already in the club and not part of the top 30 in '24 and '25, I reckon MA is probably the only one. So while he may never become the 'superstar' talent of Walsh or Sualii, locking him up so we get to be the ones that find out how good he ends up being is probably worth the 3.33% of our 2026 roster spots.

Happy MEel

As far as potential NRL number 9's already in the club and not part of the top 30 in '24 and '25, I reckon MA is probably the only one. So while he may never become the 'superstar' talent of Walsh or Sualii, locking him up so we get to be the ones that find out how good he ends up being is probably worth the 3.33% of our 2026 roster spots.
Isn’t he already contracted to us for 24 and 25? Don’t we have that benefit anyway, at least for this year? Let’s see how he goes in NSW Cup and if he kills it then upgrade him for 26 then.

emjaycee

Isn’t he already contracted to us for 24 and 25? Don’t we have that benefit anyway, at least for this year? Let’s see how he goes in NSW Cup and if he kills it then upgrade him for 26 then.
Sure and that might have been the clubs opening position with his agent.
But if the agent came back and said "nah, we want top 30 in 2026 or we walk" should we have let him walk?

Happy MEel

Sure and that might have been the clubs opening position with his agent.
But if the agent came back and said "nah, we want top 30 in 2026 or we walk" should we have let him walk?
No. We make him play for us or he doesn’t play footy for 2 years. We don’t give a shit as he isn’t costing us anything. It’s going to be far worse for his development. Bloody hell, I hope that’s not the reason we relented as that would be embarrassing from a negotiating perspective. We have all the leverage.

emjaycee

No. We make him play for us or he doesn’t play footy for 2 years. We don’t give a shit as he isn’t costing us anything. It’s going to be far worse for his development. Bloody hell, I hope that’s not the reason we relented as that would be embarrassing from a negotiating perspective. We have all the leverage.
Was he already signed for 2024 and '25?
I thought it was a new 3 year contract.

Happy MEel

Was he already signed for 2024 and '25?
I believe so. Zero tackle (I know this is unreliable) has him listed for 24 and 25 and OA mentioned that he was contracted for the next two seasons and the third year extension may have been a way to get him on a development contract or something.

Seeing as though his dad is contracted to 25, it somewhat makes sense.

Like I said, I see it often on the NRL signings page. I do take that as gospel.

So what you’re saying is that we’re taking a punt on a top 30 spot in case MA turns into the next Walsh or Suali type talent?
There are some very, very ordinary players in the top 30 at every club. Giving a top 30 spot to a 21-year-old junior star with no NRL experience isn't the risk you think it is. Walsh and Suaalii were in the top 17 by Matt Arthur's age; a much bigger risk.
We have different risk appetites.
We have a different understanding of what a top 30 spot entails. It is one player out of thirty, potentially on minimum salary.

3.33% of roster slots and potentially only 1% of the cap, which is what the minimum salary represents in 2023.

It seems to me Ive heard many an Eel promised a future top 30 spot only to be gone a year later. Im not sure this means much. I absolutely agree that this should not be heralded by Eels Media. Crazy!
Looks like the club learned nothing after what has happened with Jake, the club is full of people that always do the right thing at least. Talk about putting in wanted pressure on the
Kid.