Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels in the media

I am seeing something different. I've noticed alot of rucking out by Penisini more than fox if you ask me. Well more effective than fox.
Yep, Penisni is built to take that second tackle run after JAC has fielded the opposition kick. He also previously has shown some attacking skills that imo aren't evident in the way he's playing (or seeking to get involved with or pass to those around him) this season.
Generally, I think he is struggling to adapt to the left edge as he hasn't got blistering speed. He's making wrong calls buy digging in in tackles instead of sliding.
Yep, I think after four weeks we should put him at right centre and move Lomax to wing. They can swap during the game if they want, might make it easier for Penisini to adapt to the new skill of sliding...
I know he's been shit but I do think he is struggling to adapt.
Stick him on the right edge as 2nd row, Liam Martin style until Lomax moves (for mine wing or 6).
Yep, we could do worse than that. For his so called/hyped leadership skills, Penisini should be leading the charge to learn and adapt to this sliding, which seems to have him baffled (at least on the left). But what I'm seeing so far this season is the opposite of engagement and effort to learn, which is a worry.

I thought the POs were defeated once and for all......
They are just no longer allowed to be reported, due to media/fan backlash.

The fact of being off contract or not is still very much a thing, and has nothing to do with POs. Off contract players will still be able to change clubs, and players who aren’t off contract will still be free to not try their hardest because they already have job security for one or more years.

Pazza

The fact of being off contract or not is still very much a thing, and has nothing to do with POs. Off contract players will still be able to change clubs, and players who aren’t off contract will still be free to not try their hardest because they already have job security for one or more years.

...players who aren’t off contract - and any who are off contract but have unreported POs which they themselves can trigger to stay - will still be free to not try their hardest because they already have job security for one or more years.

Timana

Yep, Penisni is built to take that second tackle run after JAC has fielded the opposition kick. He also previously has shown some attacking skills that imo aren't evident in the way he's playing (or seeking to get involved with or pass to those around him) this season.

Yep, I think after four weeks we should put him at right centre and move Lomax to wing. They can swap during the game if they want, might make it easier for Penisini to adapt to the new skill of sliding...

Yep, we could do worse than that. For his so called/hyped leadership skills, Penisini should be leading the charge to learn and adapt to this sliding, which seems to have him baffled (at least on the left). But what I'm seeing so far this season is the opposite of engagement and effort to learn, which is a worry.
He runs hard and I reckon could run those 2nd rower lines and decoys.
He could be first down their in defense after a kick ala Martin (and Carty in yesteryear).

Since he doesn't really pass either

The contract clauses didn't cost them those players. We re-signed them with those clauses. So they did the opposite of costing us Brown and Moses. Therefore I can't really take this quality piece of rugby league journalism as gospel if they don't even know how a PO works, or what it's used for.

...players who aren’t off contract - and any who are off contract but have unreported POs which they themselves can trigger to stay - will still be free to not try their hardest because they already have job security for one or more years.
If they're going to stop trying because they have a guaranteed contract for another year, they won't be worth much for future contracts. Clubs don't only look at a player's current form when making offers, they look at past performance as well.

Pazza

The contract clauses didn't cost them those players. We re-signed them with those clauses. So they did the opposite of costing us Brown and Moses. Therefore I can't really take this quality piece of rugby league journalism as gospel if they don't even know how a PO works, or what it's used for.

Beach, in his first public address since succeeding previous chairman Sean McElduff, added: “This is a really important topic. There are three additional points I’d like to make more broadly in relation to player options.

“The first point is we haven’t entered into a player contract that has an option for about two years; May 2023 was the last time we entered into a contract with a player option.
“Point two, since that time we’ve signed or retained 22 to 24 players since [then] without issuing player options.
“Thirdly, we will not be issuing player options going forward.”
The last comment was met with a round of applause from the Eels faithful.

horse-mouth-open-close-up-its-142894445-2265123302.jpg

If they're going to stop trying because they have a guaranteed contract for another year, they won't be worth much for future contracts. Clubs don't only look at a player's current form when making offers, they look at past performance as well.
POs aside, for decades we've seem blokes who play out of their skin for one year - their "off contract year' - and then be a pale shell of themselves until off contract year rolls around again. We've still got a few of them running around in our colours (some who happen to have triggered POs)!

Throwing POs in, especially future unreported ones as you speculate, just means this quirk of human nature for some pea-hearted players will be less predictable as to when (and ergo why) it is occurring.

Could be something to that.

Siosifa Talakai is listed at 178cm, and 100kg
Will Penisini is listed at 180cm, and 98kg

If he stays in rugby league, his future may well be in the second row...

Johnny88

@Johnny88

Pretty please with sugar on top.
View attachment 100541
Did you mean this?

I know our fans are disappointed and frustrated, but give us time, we have complete faith in our coach - we need understanding, patience and we will improve.
This is the blunt message from Parramatta chief executive Jim Sarantinos after the club’s horror 0-2 start to this season.
In his first interview this NRL season, Sarantinos backed the club’s decision to allow Clint Gutherson and Reagan Campbell-Gillard to leave, denied Dylan Brown had become a distraction while claiming to be “completely behind” new coach Jason Ryles.
Bulldog’s Bite posed 10 questions being asked by Eels fans to Sarantinos – why, how, when and where did the club fall in such a heap. And, to his credit, Sarantinos fronted up under pressure to provide answers.
He declined to answer just two questions.

Bulldog: Should you, as CEO, shoulder some blame for the first two defeats?
Sarantinos: No one at the club is shirking responsibility, my job is to support Jason, our staff and players through this period of change and ensure they feel that support at all times and have the resources they need to do their job.
Bulldog: Was letting Clint Gutherson and Reagan Campbell-Gillard leave a big mistake?
JS: Those decisions were made by both Clint and Reagan and our football department together, to get the best outcome for the club moving forward as well as the players’ futures. I am comfortable that these decisions are the right ones for us as a club and are a part of the change and reset that comes with a new head coach and a change in direction.
Bulldog: Are you shocked at the poor opening two games?
JS: We’re all disappointed with the results, it’s certainly not the start we were hoping for. However, we have driven a lot of change to the football program, across coaching, support staff and playing personnel and we know it will take some time for that to all come together.

Bulldog: What’s your message to fans?
JS: We have the most loyal fans in the NRL, and I understand that they are frustrated and disappointed. But we have complete faith that the change and reset of the NRL program will make us a better club and we want our fans to come on the journey with us.
Bulldog: Many agree the Eels can’t make the finals already?
JS: It’s only round three and too early for predictions. We have a number of new players to our squad, a number of young players just starting out their NRL journey and we also have some key players returning in the coming weeks. It will take some time to build cohesion in the team and our performances will improve with time.
Bulldog: Is Dylan Brown now a distraction?
JS: No, Dylan Brown has made his decision, and we’re all focused on the rest of the season and making sure our performances improve.
Bulldog: How are you supporting Jason Ryles?
JS: Jason has been fantastic from the day he first walked in the door and has built a great relationship with everyone at the club. We have supported Jason in bringing together his new coaching and support staff, we are completely behind his desire to drive change for the betterment of the club, and we all want to see Jason and the team succeed. He is starting out his NRL head coaching journey, and many others have experienced similar challenges so it’s important that there is understanding and patience.
Bulldog: Was losing by such a big margin to Wests Tigers, a team which has collected the past three wooden spoons, acceptable?
JS: (Declined to comment)
Bulldog: Where does the club go from here?
JS: We have a game to play this weekend against the Bulldogs and that’s what everyone’s focus is on. We have the utmost belief and confidence in Jason’s vision and where he’s taking our football program.
Bulldog: It would appear the 39-year wait will continue?
JS: (Declined to comment, interview concluded).

Let’s be fair here, Parramatta has been playing without Mitch Moses, Josh Addo-Carr and Ryan Matterson, who came back through NSW Cup last week. Addo-Carr will debut for the Eels against Canterbury this Sunday. Moses is world class but could he have stopped his side conceding 88 points in two games? I doubt it.
Ryles is two games into a four-year contract and deserves time.
But Parramatta fans are tired of being told to wait for their next premiership. Fed up with being assured their team is in a rebuilding phase. It’s been 39 years…and counting.
Premiership aren’t even in the equation for Parramatta at present. They’d be more worried about claiming another gong - a wooden spoon.

Johnny88

‘I don’t have that chip on my shoulder any more’: How Dylan Walker found peace​

Dylan Walker reckons his career has all the hallmarks of a page-turner.
“Mate, it’s been the best ride in my life, taking me all the way to the ups, and then I’ve gone all the way down to the downs,” Walker said.

“I should write a book about it, to be honest. There’s been a lot of ups and downs. It’s landed me here today.”
Here is Kellyville, for his first day of training as a Parramatta player. The journey Walker alludes to has taken him to South Sydney, Manly and New Zealand, with 232 NRL appearances along the way. There’s also a premiership, with the Rabbitohs in 2014, as well as four Tests for Australia and two NSW State of Origin appearances.

There have been missteps off the field. A year after earning a grand final ring, he and close mate Aaron Gray almost lost their lives after overdosing on painkillers, including oxycodone and tramadol. Two years later, he fractured his hand after punching his apartment door, resulting in a $10,000 fine and a month-long absence from football. Then there was another $10,000 fine, and a one-game ban for assaulting a pizza shop worker.
The NRL also stood down the journeyman after he was charged with domestic violence offences, of which he was later found not guilty, in 2019.
“On the field, I think I was always good at blocking things out,” Walker says ahead of his Eels debut against the Dragons on Saturday.
Parramatta Eels recruit Dylan Walker

Parramatta Eels recruit Dylan WalkerCredit:parramatta Eels
“Off the field, that’s where I had my challenges. But deep down in myself, I knew that I’m a good person at heart that just had to grow up a bit, discipline myself.

“No one’s gonna get it perfect. I’m not gonna say I am or that anyone else is. Everyone has their journey, and I’m happy about it.
“I’ve learnt from it. I’ve matured as a man, father, and even when I did become a father, I wasn’t doing the best job at it.
“Coming here, Parramatta gave me the opportunity and now I feel a sense of loyalty to give back to Parra.
“I’ve had my challenges – people love to always go into it – but I don’t have that chip on my shoulder about it any more.”
Asked if previously had a chip on his shoulder, Walker replies: “I think I did. I had my walls up for sure, definitely. I felt it was the victim mentality, and I felt like I had to hold my gloves up and fight back. But at the end of the day, a lot of myself was taken away.

“I lost myself a little bit in that sense … but I’ve got myself in a good spot where I could be proud of my career because I’ve done it all.
“I’ve done everything and I can say that I’ve had a really good career. You can’t be a premiership-winning player, play for Australia, play for NSW, play over 230 games if you’re a dickhead.
“Along the way, growing up, there are going to be times when my kids are gonna ask me about this and that. It’s part of life, it’s the journey of it. It’s not smooth sailing always.”
“I’ve had my challenges – people love to always go into it – but I don’t have that chip on my shoulder about it any more.”
Eels recruit Dylan Walker
Brown was granted a release from the Warriors on compassionate grounds to be closer to his children. The move has given a young Eels squad valuable experience as well as a player who can play virtually every position.

As a schoolboys star, he played with and against Mitchell Moses, and the pair spoke before Walker signed with the club. There have been suggestions that they could link up again in the halves, as a potential replacement for Newcastle-bound Dylan Brown. However, the 30-year-old will come off the bench on Saturday and his ongoing role will probably be as a roaming forward.
As far as Walker is concerned, he’s here to help rather than replace Brown.
“I think Dyl Brown is an exceptional talent and we all know that,” he says. “I see the criticism as just a bit silly, and it does spark conversation, which I understand, because it’s a lot of money, but we all know what he can do.
“Me coming back and being 230 [games] deep and voicing what I sort of understood throughout the years, I think he can take a lot out of it. As that develops, it’s gonna create a better relationship.
“I wish him all the best in the future, but right now, working together right now, we’re locker buddies at the moment, and he’s a cool dude.”

After 15 years in the top grade, Walker believes he can bring the leadership and experience that new coach Jason Ryles has been looking for.
“I’d like to think that I’ve got a lot of knowledge about the game, a footy brain,” he said.
“There are different types of leadership. Your communication and language is powerful, how you use it, especially to younger guys and even to the older guys.
“It’s the emotional intelligence to understand when to say something or when to pull back.

”I think some guys can word-vomit and say it out loud and sort of dampens it, it doesn’t make it more effective.
“It doesn’t hold the value or the weight behind it. It’s not being quiet, but it’s just saying the right things but not over-explaining it.”