Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels in the media

Speaking on Nine's Sunday Footy Show, Slater backed the likely move and believes having a "blank canvas" to work with could be beneficial for Arthur.

2052be9b77fa5af3cc750dba58b290dec58e2b23

Brad Arthur during an interview with Leeds Rhinos. Getty

"He's got the runs on the board," Slater said.

"He had been quite successful at Parramatta in setting up that club and taking them to a grand final. Obviously they didn't get a premiership, but it's the next best thing.

"The experience is certainly something that they will want to lean on as well - been there, done that, knows what a successful NRL team looks like.

"Starting from scratch, he's got a blank canvas."

no not at all...

not only were there more players to choose from but we were an established club who should of planned for the expansion better.

a further expansion only means that there's less NRL quality players around.
Planning for the expansion better would’ve meant rebuilding after 2021 rather than extending our premiership window. It’s easy to complain in hindsight since we didn’t win the comp in 2022 but a grand final appearance and rebuilding later is better than no grand final appearance and rebuilding sooner. Complaining now is like asking for your money back when you lose on the punt.

Delboy

Planning for the expansion better would’ve meant rebuilding after 2021 rather than extending our premiership window. It’s easy to complain in hindsight since we didn’t win the comp in 2022 but a grand final appearance and rebuilding later is better than no grand final appearance and rebuilding sooner. Complaining now is like asking for your money back when you lose on the punt.
As usual you make a point by not making any sense. The club knew in 2021 that 6/7 NRL and some rep players would be moving on. The failure to replace them with few if any players of the same standard placed the club in its start to a downward trajectory. That was the issue, the failure to compete in the market place with poor decisions and poor recruitment.

Planning may well have been part of it, but reality shows without doubt the recruitment process was awful and below standard , it’s up to Ryles to put a line in the sand and get R&R up to the level needed. The junior reps have shown the way in smart recruitment in the last 3 years, look at how they’ve strengthened the squads externally to assist our own juniors.

As usual you make a point by not making any sense.
I reckon plenty of things don't make sense to you.
The club knew in 2021 that 6/7 NRL and some rep players would be moving on.
They did. Do you reckon we had any control over whether they stayed? Demand for our players had increased because they were playing well, meaning they all required upgrades. Under a salary cap they all weren't able to get upgrades (not from us anyway) so we had to upgrade some and let others go.
The failure to replace them with few if any players of the same standard placed the club in its start to a downward trajectory. That was the issue, the failure to compete in the market place with poor decisions and poor recruitment.
It wasn't poor decisions or recruitment, it was that they weren't freeing up enough space to replace them with players of the same standard. They were all on unders because we had developed them. If it was as simple as replacing them with players of equal standard we may as well have just kept them. The reason we didn't keep them is the same reason we couldn't buy players of the same standard, and that reason was the salary cap. If we failed to compete in the market place it's because we had less to spend. If we had it to spend, we would've just kept the players we lost. It's not as though we didn't rate them; they were in the top 17 every week ffs.

Consider that if there were players of equal standard available for the same price, why didn't the Dogs (Mahoney), Tigers (Papali'i), Sharks (Kaufusi) and Warriors (Niukore) just chase these other imaginary players instead?
Planning may well have been part of it, but reality shows without doubt the recruitment process was awful and below standard ,
No, your limited understanding and need for a scapegoat shows there was anything wrong with our processes. Those same processes got us into a position where we made the finals four straight years. Something our club hadn't achieved for 20 years. If we suffered a decline afterwards it's because that's what the salary cap does to premiership windows. There's no need to blame anybody.
it’s up to Ryles to put a line in the sand and get R&R up to the level needed.
His job is coaching the team, not recruiting/retaining them. We have an entire staff for that, and they don't answer to the head coach.
The junior reps have shown the way in smart recruitment in the last 3 years, look at how they’ve strengthened the squads externally to assist our own juniors.
Here's a tip, it isn't Ryles investing in our pathways. It's the same merkins you are blaming for our decline. They decide where the money goes, including whom to hire to coach the NRL team, and when he should be replaced.

Delboy

Listen you absolute dickwad, people have been around the game a lot longer than you and have opinions. Your sanctimonious replies to anyone that dares to see that your assumptions are incorrect just continues. Seriously you make this blog a difficult read most of the time , when you reply and argue against almost everyone.

Hold on mate, you're the one who thinks the value of anyone's opinion is determined by where they live or how much park footy they watch. You're the last merkin who should be throwing stones.

People Clap GIF