Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels V. Chooks Trial at Bluetongue: Game Thread

fish eel

DA said his concern in trials were injuries so im guessing that perhaps he told the players not to go all out in case of injury and just get match fit rather than trying to win the game that means nothing.l

yep, and I'll take a dusty 2 point win in Rd 1 in exchange for a touch up in a trial.

Ike E Bear

DA strikes me as a coach who has very clear priorities. I just don't think you can apply the same measure to trials to the real rounds, especially when he's the coach. He'd never tip his hand tactically like that. If he didn't mind losing that game to the Dragons, he won't mind losing a few trial matches. He might even be happy that they were lost. Shrug.

parra.letic

Nothing that cant be fixed, but i sincerely doubt the coach would ever tell the side to not put in 100%.

And along with that anybody with a competitive bone in their body would know that once the whistle blows and a game starts the drive to win kicks in. Parramatta need to play with greater intensity come round 1 or a similar result is on the cards.

born an eel

No, he'd just give them a vanilla game plan, like the final round against the Dragons last year
i don't actually think he gave them a game plan. He just told them to play how they wanted.

A perfect example for the players why they should follow his game plans in the future.

The trial form, while nothing to panic about, should atleast ensure a sharper focus from the boys come round 1. They just cant turn up and pick up where they left off last year but once again will need to work hard to get results.
i agree better to lose a few meaningless trial games and go into round 1 fired up and wanting to make amends than win all the trials and go in thinking everything will just fall into place for them and the two points are in the bag

I'm keen to see the differences. The forwards took the Roosters game well. With some more faces, including Poore and Shackleton to come, it'll be interesting. Hey, the Roosters forwards have bloody improved and you matched them well.

There was one player who I don't watch often...Oake I think...played great.

lingard

I'm keen to see the differences. The forwards took the Roosters game well. With some more faces, including Poore and Shackleton to come, it'll be interesting. Hey, the Roosters forwards have bloody improved and you matched them well.

There was one player who I don't watch often...Oake I think...played great.

Thanks for the comments, mate. By the way, how do you rate Shackleton? I must confess I didn`t see him at all last year. Is he any good?

He is very hot and cold. When he's hot, he's hot. When he's cold, he's cold.
Anderson will bring out a lot more in him than Fittler did.

My tip, Sky Blue in 2011 or 2012.

Delboy

I believe the story is that they were hammered on tha training paddock right up to game day in the trials, that is why they were flat.

The tapering and preparation for round 1 has only just commenced (under instruction from Hayden), they played the trials to get used to body contact again with little focus on much else. Also used the trials to give players like Horo. Lassalo , Wright etc extended time on the field to prepare them for future use. I understand Horo was told, just tackle and get used to it, not to worry about attack etc just get confident,

Parra Steve

He's had a couple of injuries too at his time with the roosters so if he can remain fit I think he'll be a good buy

lingard

Thanks, NT.
And here`s (a probably unwanted) tip for you. Brian Smith will instill discipline and get Easts into the finals on a regular basis. He`ll get them to a grand final (but not win it). He will ultimately create divisions in the team with his 'my way or the highway' philosophy (he refuses to listen to others` opinions or advice). He will eventually leave your club a demoralised and directionless rabble. Get set for a real roller-coaster ride.
Cheers.

yy_cheng

If Brian could get a top notch half, he could win.

I'd bet Carney will slot into the halves later on and run the team. He could just help Brian make it in a few years time.

Or they should go hard for Thurston with Willie's money.

He'll bring everything that Lingard said he will to the chooks. He just needs the icing to help him over.

I reckon Kimmorley would really suit Brian Smith.

parra pete

Brian Smith, in my opinion, has over achieved with teams he has coached, rather than UNDER achieved.