Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Elliotts Successor named ?

The Nature Boy

Three quarters the way down the article hints Steve Georgallis may take over after Elliott's contract is up in 2010.

Pritchard's threat to quit

BACK-ROWER Frank Pritchard has refused to guarantee he would remain at Penrith beyond this season.
Amid speculation he is poised to join the UK Super League or French rugby, Pritchard told The Daily Telegraph he has "stuff to sort out". "Whatever happens, happens," he added.
The bombshell came as Penrith's nine-man board prepared to meet today, with director and club legend Greg Alexander questioning Pritchard's commitment to the club.
Pritchard's future will be a hot issue today, along with that of coach Matt Elliott.
Pritchard, who asked for a release from the final two years of his contract in April, was coy about his plans.
"I'm locked in for next year, but there is still some stuff to sort out," he said.
"I'll deal with that in the off-season. The Panthers have been good to me and they'll have first and last offer."
Fresh questions surrounding Pritchard's commitment to the Panthers came after the Kiwi international had to be coaxed out of the dressing rooms during Monday night's loss to Melbourne.
An MRI scan today will reveal the full extent of a shoulder injury.
Pritchard is already booked for a reconstruction at the end of the season, but his surgery could be brought forward to next week if today's scan rules him out of Penrith's final two games.
Pritchard denied reports that he had exaggerated the injury to avoid playing on.
"It annoyed me when I realised I had been accused of faking an injury to stay off the field," he said.
"Faking an injury is the worst slur you can have. I wanted to get back out there but the coaching staff and doctor told me I couldn't. I would have given anything to get back out on the field."
Alexander has not forgotten that Pritchard requested a release earlier this year.
"The fact he has asked for a release this year, to me, I've got my doubts about Frank's commitment to the team," he said. "It is always difficult to deal with a player when you don't know whether or not he wants to be at the club.
"You don't know what to believe. But as for Monday night, I have got to believe Frank. If he said he wasn't right to go back on, then I've got to go with him on that.
"Only Frank knows how serious his shoulder injury is."
Pritchard and Alexander will meet to thrash out a range of issues ahead of the board meeting, which was always scheduled for today.
Penrith CEO Mick Leary said neither Pritchard nor Elliott were on the agenda. But it is inevitable the directors will discuss the pair's future.
"If anything comes up in general business we'll discuss it, but at the moment neither is on the agenda," Leary said.
Sources close to the club say Toyota Cup coach Steve Georgallis is being groomed to take over from Elliott, whose contract ends next season.
The Daily Telegraph understands Pritchard and Elliott have not seen eye-to-eye for most of the season.
Pritchard also remains disappointed at the way in which the Panthers released Tony Puletua and Rhys Wesser with a season remaining on both their contracts.
Asked would he release Pritchard, Leary said: "We wouldn't consider letting him go. We haven't received any concrete offer anyway.
"He hasn't said he is unhappy and hasn't come to me saying he is unhappy."
Pritchard skipped yesterday's recovery session and spent time at Nepean Private Hospital undergoing scans.

http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/sport/nrl/story/0,26799,24247300-5012662,00.html

mxlegend99

I would love to see him given a chance. He couldn't be any worse then Matt Elliott.

He has been great in the Under 20's, and he has been working with a severely depleted roster all season. He knows the players extremely well, and he doesn't play mind games with his players.

He would also be far more likely to pick our strongest 17 players then Matt Elliott.

Big Mick

Hmmm I dunno...I could coach that team...they could coach themselves in the under 20's. I don't know Steve can get that extra bit out of them in first grade.

*Sandy*

With no disrespect to Frank, if Frank wants to go, then I feel the best outcome for Penrith would be to let him go at seasons end. Yes I can understand in making Frank play out the season - and so he should, whilst he can uninjured of course.

And on the coach... I'm not overly excited about Steve Georgallis but if for financial reasons it's the best way the club needs to rid of Elliott, then go for it.

Copperhead

Poor Frank. Disappointed his friends have been treated harshly.

Their form hasn't warranted first grade selection for years, yet when fit have never

missed selection. If he wants them to stay he can pay their wages.

Brandy's got to be thinking what we all are. Does the occasional good game compensate

for the friction he causes?

I'll take Georgallis over Elliot, especially if he starts next season. But they're not thinking

too far out of the box, are they?

Dave Q

Big Mick is right, its a quantum leap from the kids to NRL. Success at one level doesnt automatically mean success at another. The threat from within wont please ME.

If I was Penrith, I'd be chasing muzza or even Folkesy as a replacement at the moment.

You cant blame the bulldogs demise on Steve Folkes, hes about the only man there who can walk out with his head high.

As for Frank, hes way too wrapped up in his own "stuff" to worry about the football side of things. A couple of great games a season has served him well, why should he change things.

In the cold light of day, Frank's been nothing less than a long-term bludger and a distraction. So much talent, so little to show for it. Fugging usless most of the time, like a ferari that wont start.

He should be shown the door immediately.

At least Brandy seems to be waking up from his decade long slumber. Still the kicking coach is he? Whats that worth?

The sons and daughters of Penrith are getting sick and tired of this rancid game-show. It repeats season after season.

They deserve a fair dinkum team, sharp management and most of all, results.

mxlegend99

On the other hand, how is Georgallis going to get first grade experience if no one gives him a chance?

He's a step up from Matt Elliott even if he fails. The players don't like or respect Matt Elliott... and that's why our team plays like sh*t.

Dave Q

On the other hand, how is Georgallis going to get first grade experience if no one gives him a chance?

He's a step up from Matt Elliott even if he fails. The players don't like or respect Matt Elliott... and that's why our team plays like sh*t.

Thats a good point MX, but Id rather be in the trenches with a tried and tested.

The last thing people want to hear about now is another bloody plan or project.

Its all been politically correct to support the youth and all that, but thats been tried and its produced very little except for a few stars like Coote and my current favourite, jennings.

But the best panther by a mile has been an import, namely Civo. He was supposed to come here to retire, but instead he's lifted the whole pack by the scruff of the neck. Hes truly maginificent, perhaps one of the best players Ive ever seen. He'd probably never heard of Penrith a few years ago.

murraymob

i agree with big mick anyone could have coached the u20 when they where at full strength early in the year.Coote ,Graham,Paulo,Isofia,Mckendry.But since they have had injuries they have fallen slowly down the ladder.I would prefer a experienced coach one not already involved or that had any previous ties to penrith. Lets start fresh

maple_69

Well if you take all the journo inferences out of that article and leave Pritchard and cos quotes, a very different story is painted. Sounds like a beat up to me. No odubt he's not heaps happy, hopefully its mainly an issue with Elliott, and hopefully we can get rid of Elliott.
I think Georgallis would be a decent option if it was a one year provisional deal. If we can't afford to sack Elliott and bring in another high profile coach we might as well stop the rot and hope Stevey goes well, otherwise we punt him at seasons end and sign up Anderson/Kearney/Flanagan etc.

Gonna be very interested in Penese this weekend. Like for like replacement of Pritchard perhaps.

Dave Q

Get with the program my feline friends:

52086354.jpg

mxlegend99

I'd rather give Steve Georgallis a chance. If he fails, it won't be expensive to get rid of him or put him back to the Under 20's.

murraymob

i think we should look outside the square and hire fibro.I am sure we could negotiate a package that he is happy with.Just hope security will let him in the ground :lol::lol::lol:

Spot

Steve Georgiallis is a hoax. When he catched the Maggies a few years ago, he revolutionised interchange play by subbing a player after 45 seconds. He was obviously saving him for later in the game

Dave Q

Steve Georgiallis is a hoax. When he catched the Maggies a few years ago, he revolutionised interchange play by subbing a player after 45 seconds. He was obviously saving him for later in the game

That kind of talk gets the panther fans aroused!

Fibroman

i think we should look outside the square and hire fibro.I am sure we could negotiate a package that he is happy with.Just hope security will let him in the ground :lol::lol::lol:

About as funny as a cot death.

I'm still filthy over the incident. I went in the ground no problem. The only resason I was ejected was because I decided to debate an issue of Legislation with a bone head security guard who was on a power trip.

Bad luck Panthers, I won't be renewing my season tickets next year. Who won?

Next year I will go and get a free pass, stand on the hill, start a fight or 2 and actually give the security a reason to eject me. I will make it my mission to cause as many problems as I can.

When I get a bee in my bonnet and decide to pay back. I pay back tenfold.

murraymob

fibro you really want to cause problems and confuse security stand on the hill and fight yourself.Lets see security throw the one that started the fight out :lol::lol:

murraymob

Latest news on Elliott no suprise the club does not have the money to pay him out.

NRL
Article from:
Elliott's job safe despite division

0,,6225342,00.jpg
Under pressure ... Matthew Elliott. / The Sunday Telegraph

PENRITH chairman Barry Walsh has torpedoed a push to sack Matthew Elliott, insisting the under-pressure coach will see out the final year of his contract. But the Panthers remain divided, with departing senior player Luke Priddis mounting a behind-the scenes campaign to oust Elliott.
As Penrith play for their season against the Warriors in Auckland today, Walsh has thrown the full support of the Penrith football club board behind Elliott.
Often regarded as the kiss of death for an under-pressure coach, the Panthers boss maintains the club can ill-afford to pay out the final year of Elliott's estimated $400,000 contract.
"We never raised the coach at the latest board meeting. We haven't discussed it because as far as we're concerned we have a coach for next year,'' Walsh said.
"We'll do an evaluation at the end of the year, as we always do for the football club.
"That's just normal. As far as we're concerned, it's business as usual and there's no issue. No one's getting a release and we're moving forward.''
Last Sunday on Channel 9, retired Panthers second-rower Mark Geyer suggested Elliott was under mounting pressure.
Geyer outlined a push to lure former Warriors coach Daniel Anderson to the foot of the mountains.
Despite the club finishing with the wooden spoon last season and struggling to make the finals again this year, Walsh dismissed the notion. Two years into a three-year deal, Elliott has been rocked by the amount of politics in the playing ranks at Penrith.
While there is no questioning captain Petero Civoniceva's on-field efforts, off the field it has been far from smooth sailing.
At the start of the season, the Penrith skipper was forced to confront the coach to tell him his game plans were too complex.
More recently, Civoniceva has been going into bat for his former Broncos team-mate Priddis at the selection table.
The Penrith prop has pushed for Priddis to be the Panthers' starting hooker, a move many club insiders oppose due to the presence of outstanding rookie Masada Iosefa.
Departing senior players Priddis, Tony Puletua and Rhys Wesser make no secret of the fact they dislike Elliott and his methods.
"In this job it's about producing results, if you don't produce results then you risk not having a job. I get that,'' Elliott said.
"My plan isn't just to see out my next year at Penrith, I want to see out the next 10 years.
"To be successful over a long period of time sometimes you have to make changes.
"That's not always going to be a painless process''.
On his working relationship with Priddis, Elliott said: "I've got a heap of respect for Priddo. I've probably done some things that Priddo wouldn't have thought were fantastic, particularly last year.

"He's one of the most professional players I've had the opportunity to work with.''