Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ellis to return to UK in 2013

Didn't Dwyer recently state that he's made great progress and is actually looking at a return next year?

Gus22

Devastating news, but understand. Family should come first. I put him up there with one of the best I have seen. Although he gets plenty of wraps, he is still underrated.
I think we need to replace Ellis with another top class experienced 2nd rower - not another back. God knows who can take his place?? The only one I can think of is possibly Beau Scott?
$BW is off to the Roosters - wouldn't want him.

Nothing's official (or even unofficially conceded) with the Roosters yet.
It's Sonny & Koder - even if they had an agreement with the chooks do you really think they wouldn't entertain a last minute, big $ bid?

Blackdiamond

Love to see Dwyer return, but would not want to put any pressure on him to replace a player such as Ellis. He has enough to worry about ATM. Dwyer has serious 'potential' & is a quality player, but in all respect to him, he's not quite at the level of Ellis. Its going to be difficult replacement?
$BW - Whether or not he has signed to the Roosters, I don't care how good he is/was. When he walked out on his teamates it left a bad taste in not just Dogs fans, but RL fans.

magpie_man

I'm glad that the tigers have done the right thing by him, even though it's sad to see him go.
hopefully our next batch of forwards can continue to improve: groat, woods, bmm with Blair inheriting the role as the leader. Add to that dwyer's recovery and the future is looking bright.
I'd love to see the tigers splash the spare money from tuqiri and ellis on another big name english/union import like Paul wellens or quade cooper; its exciting for the team, exciting for the sponsors, exciting for the members and fans.

Dwyer coming back would sweeten the deal. Should have some serious money to burn with Ellis and Lote contracts gone and seemingly no massive upgrades required..

Fordy20

Ellis has been a wonderful asset to the club and while it's a shame to see him go, he definitely deserves to go out on his own terms. A premiership would be a nice parting gift for him.

dumpy

Ellis is a superb competitor and has done the tigers proud. A premiership would be a deserving reward before his departure. Never had any doubts that he would reach the highest levels in the NRL. Tigers have been hovering around title but its time to step up and fulfill potential before opportunities evaporate. As for a replacement, all out effort for glen stewart.

Blackdiamond

Ellis is a superb competitor and has done the tigers proud. A premiership would be a deserving reward before his departure. Never had any doubts that he would reach the highest levels in the NRL. Tigers have been hovering around title but its time to step up and fulfill potential before opportunities evaporate. As for a replacement, all out effort for glen stewart.

Glen Stewart & Adam Blair packing down together in the 2nd row - now I want to see that!

macnaz

Glenn Stewart is one wanker id never like to see in a Tigers jersey !!

For maybe the first time ever, thinking where to throw Tuquiri and Ellis money, there doesn't seem to be many glaring areas apart from second row and wing - depending on how Moltzen goes in 7 and the new fullback goes...

We've got good depth and plenty of stars across the park. No need to find two superstars to replace them.

Could always use another prop or two but not more than 300K for sure.

Could front load contracts...

Mr_Raditch

Rumour in the Telecrap today that we will be making a very strong play for Beau Scott who is off contract at the end of this season.

hybrid_tiger

Glenn Stewart is a quality player, if he's off contract we would be mad not to be interested.

As for Scott - no thanks. Good defender but offers nothing in attack.

Magpies Forever

Maybe we dont need to buy anyone. WT for such a long time had an excess of second rowers but few props- hopefully a local can fill his shoes and gain the experience from playing beside Blair. And, if all the stars and planets align well, maybe Dwyer can make it back onto the field at some stage. (if he re-signs with WT after he hopefully recovers from his injury)

Tigers Tale

I don't know what the future holds for Dwyer but that is the tragedy of this whole accident. He was serving his apprenticeship next to Ellis who would have shown Dwyer those perfect lines to run out wide. We will miss Ellis enormously and his heir apparent.

Magpies Forever

I don't know what the future holds for Dwyer but that is the tragedy of this whole accident. He was serving his apprenticeship next to Ellis who would have shown Dwyer those perfect lines to run out wide. We will miss Ellis enormously and his heir apparent.

Too true. Best wishes to Ellis (and Dwyer- have to say I never thought o him as an heir apparent to Ellis but I reckon you're right).