Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

f*ck off phil gould

Runaround Man

Gould wrote a very good article in the Herald today outlining the steps that need to be taken to improve the situation.

The first and most crucial step is to separate News Ltd and the ARL from ownership of the game and instead make it more independent. This will enable the league to waggle a heaps better TV deal.

Apparently the players get 20 cents for every dollar profitted by The Game. I would think that is a bit low.
At my school wages take close to 70% of the budget.

Seems like more money could be directed to the players. If it was 50%, then the cap could rise to 8million. That would seem a lot healthier.

I'm not sold on why the ARL need to be separated from the ownership. News Ltd? Sure. And restructure the ARL to cut out the chaff that takes up that huge % of the budget? No worries.

But a refined, slim-lined ARL (with a truly Independent Commission instead of currently appointed board, or club appoints all model) should be able to negotiate TV deals like you wouldn't believe. No need to separate that from the ownership imo.

Gould wrote a very good article in the Herald today outlining the steps that need to be taken to improve the situation.

The first and most crucial step is to separate News Ltd and the ARL from ownership of the game and instead make it more independent. This will enable the league to waggle a heaps better TV deal.

Apparently the players get 20 cents for every dollar profitted by The Game. I would think that is a bit low.
At my school wages take close to 70% of the budget.

Seems like more money could be directed to the players. If it was 50%, then the cap could rise to 8million. That would seem a lot healthier.

See the problem I have with that is that the clubs make 3.25 million a year from the NRL, which gives them 52 million a year.

Now if 52 million is 20 cents in the dollar then the NRL supposedly makes $260 Million a year.

Now we know the TV rights deal is $500 million, over 6 years meaning $ 83 or so million a year if you do not factor in production costs. So where is the other $177 Million a year coming from?

We all know that the IC will bring change and a reduction in the costs and costs duplications for Area league, but the bigger win is getting News out of the game, to stop them taking from our profits. The IC presentation to the clubs said with the changes and removal of news, we could see the cap rise to 6.5 million with about 5.7 million provided to the clubs by 2012 and more when need to talk about the new TV rights deal after that. But the major amount in that is our stake to News, they put a lot of money into this game in the mid 90's and have been taking a great deal out of it since, Now News wants out, maybe that means the debts plus interest have finally been paid. The NRL needs to be independent of News to see this funding drain stop and the funds move to the players.

This f**khead will not STFU. On the Sunday Footy Show, Phil Gould was asked if Falou signs with a rival code, will he pick him in the National side, if his form warranted it. Goulds responses was, why not, Falou hasn't turned his back on the NRL, if he sign with a rival code. It is the NRL that has turned its back on Falou. WTF??????????
Gould's lost his marbles!

I look forward to the day when we don't have to listen to his simplistic views of issues in the broader game, and he is just restricted to what he is good at - analysing tactics in a game at half and full time.

Craig Johnston

See the problem I have with that is that the clubs make 3.25 million a year from the NRL, which gives them 52 million a year.

Now if 52 million is 20 cents in the dollar then the NRL supposedly makes $260 Million a year.

Now we know the TV rights deal is $500 million, over 6 years meaning $ 83 or so million a year if you do not factor in production costs. So where is the other $177 Million a year coming from?

We all know that the IC will bring change and a reduction in the costs and costs duplications for Area league, but the bigger win is getting News out of the game, to stop them taking from our profits. The IC presentation to the clubs said with the changes and removal of news, we could see the cap rise to 6.5 million with about 5.7 million provided to the clubs by 2012 and more when need to talk about the new TV rights deal after that. But the major amount in that is our stake to News, they put a lot of money into this game in the mid 90's and have been taking a great deal out of it since, Now News wants out, maybe that means the debts plus interest have finally been paid. The NRL needs to be independent of News to see this funding drain stop and the funds move to the players.

all the current revenue numbers according to roy masters;

http://www.theage.com.au/business/nrl-players-at-the-bottom-of-the-pile-20100309-pvrt.html

The Engineers Room

Gould's lost his marbles!

I look forward to the day when we don't have to listen to his simplistic views of issues in the broader game, and he is just restricted to what he is good at - analysing tactics in a game at half and full time.

I even think he isn't the best at that. Too much bias.

But once again where is all that coming from.

Our TV deal is reported to be $500 Million over 6 years, so that means about 83 million a year, where is the other 90 million coming from?

I know the competition is sponsored by Telstra, but IIRC there end is about 10 million a year. so where is the other 80 million coming from?

Also clubs make an all up gate of 14 million, so that is about 800,000 a year per club. that might cover the gap between the grant and the cap.