Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fan day aftermath.

1 Eyed TEZZA

This is gunna sound funny, but IMO his pnemonia is probably not enough to have exempt him from the Major photo. Unless other clubs requested him not to be there so as to not contaminate their players.

Thats Erics excuse and it will pass. I can imagine all the other clubs being pissed off with half of their players being unavailable for round one because Eric Grothe sneezed during the photo shoot. Ben Smith might get away with it because of his knee but I believe Timmy had a shoulder recon, hardly an excuse. Id like to know what Lukes was because he is usually good with the fans.

I doubt the club will aknowledge anything. Just wait for it to blow over.

i reckon we should all reserve judgement on these guys - they may well have a good excuse .... altho i would have thought having pneumonia would make it unwise to turn up at all :lol:

Nikki

That is not Eric's official excuse and he is actually over the worst of it, having suffered from it for at least 2 months now. Also, if he should be in quarantinne then they would have let him face fans at the cricket day. (or maybe they DO have that little respect for us and wanted us all to get sick).

Hellsy

I'd like an official statement from the club for the reason for the absence of those 4 players from the photo.
Im sorry but getting over pneumonia, or recovering from off season surgery would be a pathetic excuse considering that they WERE THERE for the individual team photos prior to the gates opening for fans.. surely they could have hung around for the main one.
I dont think I want a copy of it without those 4 players completing the most historical picture in Rugby League history to date.

I am so sick of our players not giving a f**k about their fans, who they hell are they without us????????... they escape out side-doors after games leaving kids waiting for autographs and photos, they don't turn up in full to organised events and those that are there think it is a freakin funny game to piss off early...seriously they sneak off and they do so knowingly.
Then there is the club.... they organise sh*t all for us throughout the season and then this year we get a massive kick in the guts by not having a fan day prior to season opening.
NOTE TO EELS OFFICE - Player recovery sessions DO NOT TAKE PLACE AT THE ROSE AND CROWN. So stop feeding us that piss poor reason when we ask why there are no after match functions. We are not idiots.
The NRL day was a poor showing and lack of interest by our club and most of the players, the kids up in the arts/crafts were so upset they werent going to see their heroes thta they had waited for. Id also like an official statement from the club on why the hell everyone else knew they had to be there but they didn't.

I am ashamed of our club.

Hellsy said:
I'd like an official statement from the club for the reason for the absence of those 4 players from the photo.
Im sorry but getting over pneumonia, or recovering from off season surgery would be a pathetic excuse considering that they WERE THERE for the individual team photos prior to the gates opening for fans.. surely they could have hung around for the main one.
I dont think I want a copy of it without those 4 players completing the most historical picture in Rugby League history to date.

I am so sick of our players not giving a f**k about their fans, who they hell are they without us????????... they escape out side-doors after games leaving kids waiting for autographs and photos, they don't turn up in full to organised events and those that are there think it is a freakin funny game to piss off early...seriously they sneak off and they do so knowingly.
Then there is the club.... they organise sh*t all for us throughout the season and then this year we get a massive kick in the guts by not having a fan day prior to season opening.
NOTE TO EELS OFFICE - Player recovery sessions DO NOT TAKE PLACE AT THE ROSE AND CROWN. So stop feeding us that piss poor reason when we ask why there are no after match functions. We are not idiots.
The NRL day was a poor showing and lack of interest by our club and most of the players, the kids up in the arts/crafts were so upset they werent going to see their heroes thta they had waited for. Id also like an official statement from the club on why the hell everyone else knew they had to be there but they didn't.

I am ashamed of our club.
You echo the thoughts of most of the Parramatta fans at this moment.

Hellsy

Bring back Mark Donkin or Trish Crews... the club actually gave a sh*t about us when either of those people ran fan relations (or at the very least gave us the impression they did)
Whoever the hell does it now needs to be shot and sacked... in that order.
Seriously who the hell are they without us?????????????????????????????????
Just some overpaid players that no-one cares about thats who.

Parra Guru

The club should make a statement if these players had valid reasons for leaving.

It's not surprising that we were shown up by everyone else including the Tigers. Who are heavily targetting our area, and tbh I can't blame them.

I feel sad already, and we haven't even lost our mandatory opening 6 games yet :lol:

Nikki

Im just looking back thru my photos and never realised how many photos I took of the Titans.. Well at least I wouldnt have to change my colour schemes much :-k

Stackers

We arrived there very much looking forward to the day and left feeling very very disappointed in our club.

butch82

Suitman said:
As previously stated, some of this should go into the report MITS.
Even if it's just a printed copy of some of the posts in this thread.

I don't care whether some people of note read this board, some of these complaints have been being aired for yonks, but nothing seems to ever change.

Seriously, oh how I would love to have two men on board like Russell Crowe and Peter Holmes a Court. It is obvious that they are the type of people who want to make things happen.
I can't help but think that Denis and his cronies are from the "George Piggins School of Marketing"

fully agree.i was gona come up for the day but i live 7 hrs away.( griffith nsw )
by the sounds of things it was pretty ordinary.
i came up in 2006 for a " parra fan day " waited in line for nearly 2hrs n had 1 signature on a jersey i just bought.
the day started at 10 n finished at 12. i had the sh*ts n so did everyone else.
then i sent n email to damian kelly to express my feelings n all he could say was sorry.but there wasnt much they could do.
i eventually got him to get the rest of the 06 squad to sign my jersey,but it was like it was to much effort to even have a fan day so they just had a 2hr signing session.
i have a mate who played for the dragons , now for the titans and he said that both clubs have full day fan days.
so i think dennis better pull his finger out n start to have a fair dinkum go in tryn to promote the best club in the world or he will risk losing fans.
but by what he said in the article about ray price he doesnt seem worried bout the fans reactions bout anything.
sorry bout the rant.
go the eels

Hellsy

There really wasnt much DK could do.. he could only organise what he was told to I guess. But I know exactly what you mean.
The question is "Why dont we have someone who deals with Fan relations as a fulltime job?" Because that certainly wasnt DK's position at the Eels

Hellsy

***MH*** said:
The Parramatta tent and all it's fans.
IMG_0537.jpg

From the NRL forum........

Nikki

Blue and Gold Army membership, Season Tickets and Parra TV. Thats all we had to offer

I saw a picture of the Cowboys stand and they had like a swarm of 20-30 people round it.
1000miles from Townsville and we had nothing and were 10mins up the road!

what did they have on offer that we didn't?

is it a reflection on the stall or the number of fans showed up??? .... or maybe even the timing of the photo? - i can see some ppl at the parra stand in the back of the cowboys photo :lol: