Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fan Day (with pics)

Every year there's whinging about fan day, without fail. Does my head in.

To be honest, I haven't seen or read much whinging. Sure there has been some, but generally it's been pretty good.
Don't make it sound worse than it really has been by some off the cuff comment .

Most of the opinions have been pretty fair tbh.

Fathead

In all honesty Fathead, regardless of what you think they are being being paid to do wouldn't you think that for ONE day of the year, they would be capable of being nice to those of us who pay their wages?
I for one thought that the majority of them did that very well today.
But for the one or two that didn't - (and it seems as though it's the same culprits lately), they should be told to pull their heads in.

On the whole, I think the squad seemed very approachable this year, but the point is, Fathead.........surely they can do that for the one day a year they are asked to.

Come on Suity, we have conversed on this forum for years so I know that you have met your fair share of footballers so you know where I am coming from.
They are kids !! The management would have spent a lot of time with lectures etc telling them to smile at the fans and be approachable. Most of the 'kids' would have nodded their heads and said " yep I understand" - and it would have evaporated from their mind just as fast !
I agree that there are a few blokes that seem to let the team down but how hard is it to get all those footballers there and get a perfect outcome?
Can you imagine being someone like Fui or Hayne ??? yeah its great having money but fame ? Can you imagine that everytime Hayne walks out to have a coffee or got to maccas, there is some fan who pushes a piece of paper at them or wants their photo.
Joey Johns told me once that he even gets blokes approaching him in the toilet trying to get him to sign stuff !! or there is some hero that wants to show his mates how tough he is. Its really a wonder that they even talk to fans or even leave their houses.

Mostly these are not well educated kids. Im not being snobby or unrealistic but we have to understand this.
Its the very reason someone like Jonathon Thurston has two minders that follow him whenever he goes out in Townsville or someone like Todd Carney, who has the brainpower of a flea - continues to get into trouble.
I know Ozzie would be concerned if he knew that some of the fans thought some of the players were rude but that would be far outweighed by the fact that one of them wasnt feeling up a female or caught pissing in the mall.
At the end of the day, all I am saying is that we sometimes have to excuse the behaviour of 'our' players and not be suprised to find that they dont play the 'I love the fans' role so well. To expect this is setting the bar too high.

I once asked Matt Peterson for a autograph with my wife in tow and he told me to go f&&k myself!
Luke Burt is a lovely bloke who is never rude.
lets take the good with the bad and appreciate that life as a footballing celebrity probably isnt all that its cracked up to be !

All in all I think they do a great job.
As for the location... brickbats to the management !!

Fathead

To be honest, I haven't seen or read much whinging. Sure there has been some, but generally it's been pretty good.
Don't make it sound worse than it really has been by some off the cuff comment .

Most of the opinions have been pretty fair tbh.

I agree.

mickdo

Sure there has been some

And it's the 'some' I am referring to. For once it would be nice to not have to listen to people complaining about the players not smiling, or staying long enough, or this and that. Just once.

nöyd

I once asked Matt Peterson for a autograph with my wife in tow and he told me to go f&&k myself!

he wouldn't have known how to react to someone genuinely asking him for an autograph, probably thought you were taking the piss

1 Eyed TEZZA

Its the times where you hear storys that players are rude to fans etc etc, that make me wonder why other players like Thurston deserve an "embassadors fee". I believe Mark Gasnier wanted something like that a few years ago and I never found him to be very fan friendly, but then you have players like Wendel Sailor and Joel Reddy whome are genuinely friendly and great to fans.

natheel

to thse who went how were poore and shackleton with the new fans? i say new as theyre both new to the club

Come on Suity, we have conversed on this forum for years so I know that you have met your fair share of footballers so you know where I am coming from.
They are kids !! The management would have spent a lot of time with lectures etc telling them to smile at the fans and be approachable. Most of the 'kids' would have nodded their heads and said " yep I understand" - and it would have evaporated from their mind just as fast !
I agree that there are a few blokes that seem to let the team down but how hard is it to get all those footballers there and get a perfect outcome?
Can you imagine being someone like Fui or Hayne ??? yeah its great having money but fame ? Can you imagine that everytime Hayne walks out to have a coffee or got to maccas, there is some fan who pushes a piece of paper at them or wants their photo.
Joey Johns told me once that he even gets blokes approaching him in the toilet trying to get him to sign stuff !! or there is some hero that wants to show his mates how tough he is. Its really a wonder that they even talk to fans or even leave their houses.

Mostly these are not well educated kids. Im not being snobby or unrealistic but we have to understand this.
Its the very reason someone like Jonathon Thurston has two minders that follow him whenever he goes out in Townsville or someone like Todd Carney, who has the brainpower of a flea - continues to get into trouble.
I know Ozzie would be concerned if he knew that some of the fans thought some of the players were rude but that would be far outweighed by the fact that one of them wasnt feeling up a female or caught pissing in the mall.
At the end of the day, all I am saying is that we sometimes have to excuse the behaviour of 'our' players and not be suprised to find that they dont play the 'I love the fans' role so well. To expect this is setting the bar too high.

Luke Burt is a lovely bloke who is never rude.
lets take the good with the bad and appreciate that life as a footballing celebrity probably isnt all that its cracked up to be !

All in all I think they do a great job.
As for the location... brickbats to the management !!

I seriously can't disagree with either of those two posts.........particularly the second. ;-) :lol:
Seriously, your first post is excellent. Agree in total, but ultimately, it doesn't excuse the fact that on one day a year, one or two players who "aren't feeling up to it" can influence many people's opinion about players.
It's sad, but it's a reality. It's also a shame.
I can accept it and understand it. So can many others. But how does a 5 or 7 year old deal with their hero being a knob for 10 seconds? It's a tough job for these blokes.
In the end, no one is perfect. So be it.
I'll reiterate what I said before.
All in all, I thought today was pretty good. I'll add that it was a pretty good advertisement for the club.

And it's the 'some' I am referring to. For once it would be nice to not have to listen to people complaining about the players not smiling, or staying long enough, or this and that. Just once.
Simply use the "ignore" feature, if other fans opinions on things offend you so much?

Congrats to Fui for the presentation of the LU award, although it would have been nice if he had at least said thanks, instead of appearing so dismissive.
How did that go? Was it on the stage/over the microphone etc?

Yes it was.
Mits was referred to as "Parramatta's number one fan" by Steve Edge.
I found that a bit strange, considering that there were thousands of other fans there. Way to go Edgey.
Having said that, Mark did a very good job in presenting the award.
As I said, it's a shame Fui appeared so dismissive of it, but I'll take that as that just being Fui. :|

Edge comes across like he can be a bit "loose" with his comments on the mic... kind of like the funny uncle at a wedding? Glad Mark could put that behind him and do a good job of giving the award.

I guess in the whole scheme of things, a lot of players wouldn't even know that LU exists, and in the whole scheme of the number of Parra fans we only represent a few. And add to that Fuifui being a man of few words, I guess that it's great just that the award got some stage time on a day like that.

Edge comes across like he can be a bit "loose" with his comments on the mic... kind of like the funny uncle at a wedding? Glad Mark could put that behind him and do a good job of giving the award.

I guess in the whole scheme of things, a lot of players wouldn't even know that LU exists, and in the whole scheme of the number of Parra fans we only represent a few. And add to that Fuifui being a man of few words, I guess that it's great just that the award got some stage time on a day like that.

On the red bit, not sure Mark even noticed, nor needs to put it behind him to be honest. It was a comment by Edgy I picked up on as did a few others and don't think he would have noticed. If indeed he did at all, you'd have to ask him, and then ask if he reacted :?.

Other than that, I think you are spot on with the rest of your comments.

Fair enough, I just assumed that having something said like that in an intro can be quit embarrassing. All the better if Mark didn't notice or it didn't effect him.

Tyler Durden

nrl players are like chooks.

you can treat them like the battery hens on fan day and tie them up to a table and they will produce the autographs and photos, but they will be unhappy and stressed.

or you could treat them like free range hens on australia day and let them roam freely around an area, producing an autograph and photo for them that wants one.

generally, the free range hens appear to be happier and more productive than the battery hens. same for the players.

Fair enough, I just assumed that having something said like that in an intro can be quit embarrassing. All the better if Mark didn't notice or it didn't effect him.

Mark presented the award very professionally on behalf of LU, as I said previously.

nrl players are like chooks.

you can treat them like the battery hens on fan day and tie them up to a table and they will produce the autographs and photos, but they will be unhappy and stressed.

or you could treat them like free range hens on australia day and let them roam freely around an area, producing an autograph and photo for them that wants one.

generally, the free range hens appear to be happier and more productive than the battery hens. same for the players.

I reckon Ian Herron would have been the best at this tbh, followed closely by John Raper.