RHYTHM AND STEALTH
Gidday Peeps
Today The Fan In The Stand packed up the Whanau and ventured down to Henson Park to watch the league leading NSWarriors take on the Newtown Jets.
With our first grade team on a 2 match winning streak and playing some good footy I wanted to see that filter down to the reserve grade team and watch a good game.
With our side littered with first grade experiance i expected good tries, strong defence and with twin towers Ali and Lane in the 2nd row i expected offloades for days.
I wanted to write a good fun filled report instead I wrote out a invoice charging the club for my petrol grrrrrrrr
I love Henson Park. A great suburban ground where u can park your car on the hill and enjoy the game from there but i sat in the bleachers surrounded by Jets supporters. Heaps of changes to our line up. Very dissapointing to see Ata Hingano scratched. Got a funny feeling he will make his debut for first grade this weekend. Especially with SJ in doubt. Gavet was back early from his ankle injury and big Ali was starting. Heaps to look forward to plus big Patrick Sipley (who i also rate highly) was playing.
Jets were kicking off and the kick didnt even go 10 metres so we get the penalty. Almost the best start possible. We kick for touch and already we are hot on attack and manage to get a repeat set from a Robson grubber. Im thinking how good is this start. Next set on the 4th Lane has a kick which was really a nothing kick and the Jets get possesion and make some decent yards then Gavet gives away a penalty. The next set Gavet amends with a big hit on the opposing front rower. Late in that set Henare Wells is penalised and we are on our goal line defending. Jets take the tap and spin it and Lane
comes up with a try saving tackle. Next play Tavenga makes a try saving tackle and im yelling out great defence boys and the next play the Jets crash over grrrrrrr. Typical jinx. So early on we are 6-0 down.
I yell out some encouragement for them "cmon Warriors big defence here boys" nek minute ive done it again. Warriors kick off and we kick it dead on the full so back on the halfway and penalty to the Jets. They kick for touch and 4 plays later they chip through and our winger Tomas Aoake cant gather and the Jets are in again and we are down 12 zip after 14 minutes and im like WTF im not saying anything this set lol.
We kick off and trade a set with them then we start getting some quick play the boys and roll up field and put a good kick from Robson and get a repeat set. Excellent cos with this team if we build pressure we usually get points. In the set though Bunty Afoa drops the ball and the Jets race 65 odd metres to score with only Ali chasing. Dam 16-0 down after 20 minutes. We kick off and the Jets drop it cold then 2 plays later we drop it grrrrr man this is not going to be our day. The Jets get back in our 20 fairly easily and have a full set there and we finally show some resolve and character and hold them out and we earn a penalty.
Then just a horror 2 minutes. We get another penalty kick for touch and drop it on play 2. The jets have 3 tackles and we give away a penalty they kick for touch and on play 4 just barge through the middle to score another try. Very soft try at that. A few minutes and couple sets later Jets make another long range break but Wells along with Tavenga (who gassed it from the D line) bring him down. On the last tackle of that set they kick and we get possesion 10 metres out then drop it on tackle 1. more grrrrrrr then on tackle 2 Lino is penalised and they take the 2.
Dam 24 zip still in the first half and the team just hasnt turned up today. Jets controlling the game nicely making easy yards and finding open space for their last tackle kicks. Just before halftime Tavenga takes an intercept
from the Jets and he called for it to lol. 2 minutes out from the break we are in their 20 and call a backline move and Robsons pass sends Lino over after brushing 2 tacklers to score our first try. He converts and its now 24-6. Right on half time Gavet walks off limping from his heavily strapped right knee, doesnt look good.
2nd half starts and Gavet returns with no limp and takes his place on the field. 5 minutes in Robson puts in a massive shot causing an error and we have possesion. Good start boys. We are making some good metres thanks to Ofahiki Ogden. Linos last tackle kick sees us get a repeat set. Gavet whos played about 46 minutes straight finally gets a rest and Sipley comes on. We are finally mounting some pressure on their line but Robsons tackled on the last. We get the ball back and get back down in their 20 but Robsons kick goes dead so pressure off. At this stage im thinking we cant come back from this. Im seeing no offloads or 2nd phase play. Its just doesnt look like a team that is leading the competition.
Our other prop Bunty Afoa finally gets a rest after 65 minutes. Good effort especially coming up from the 20s for this game. Mid way through the 2nd half Tavenga who is having an awesum game puts a Jets player in a dangerous position and is penalised.
Im sure he has no carry over points so no worries. But the Jets take the 2 points. Another set and another error Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad kicks out on the full. The next set that we are in possesion we knock on. The handling errors must be in the 1000s by now. Lane gest taken off with a gash in his head. Looked like it needed stitches. It gets taped up up and he is back on later.
Sipley makes a try saving tackle with a rag doll tackle haha. Finally we have some good defence and hold them out for a couple of sets but by the time we have the ball we cant make it out of our 20 and our kick just makes it to half way. The jets attack but we hold on. But we are totally gassed. The next set no forward hits it up its all backs. But we make yards and get a good kick.
When we finally attack James Bell gets held up. We are trying everything now but everything we try just isnt executed well. Lino tries a chip kick but only goes 1 metre. The preceding set The Jets score after a flukey kick richochets off our player and the Jets score. Next set the Jets just throw it around like a hot Kumara threw heaps of sets of hands and make a break but drop it over the line.
2 sets later we are totally camped on our line and the Jets score easily from dummy half. The boys are totally juiced from all the defence we have had to do. Warriors kick off and Jets just march down field at ease and score again FFS. They convert and its 38-6. Pretty much thats it and i think that was the final score.
A few things i saw that caught my eye
- After every Newtown try there is a guy that does a lap of the ground on one of those penny farthing type bikes blowing a horn and all the kids chase him around, all up its about 500-600 metres and he was stuffed by the end of the first half lol
- The ground announcer said the crowd was 8316 but it was more like 250 people
- With a 3pm kick off they didnt turn on the lights at all. Was real dark by the time we were deep in the 2nd half
- For those that dont know Jeff Robsons family (wife and kids) still live in Sydney so it was a nice moment to see them reunited after the game on the field
- Matt Allwoods family was also there
- Starting Props James Gavet and Bunty both played all of the 1st half without a break
- Henson park is only a couple of clicks from the Airport so heaps of Airbuses and 767s were flying in very low over the ground to land. It was a good distraction from the massacre i was watching.
Players to impress
Jazz Tavenga was our best by miles. He was everywhere and in everything. In defence he was going from marker then chasing down their backs then stopping their frowards. Dude was fearless. Jets forwards started getting a bit upset and he was in a couple of push and shoves due to their frustration. Also had some good runs with quick play the balls. One thing i did notice was that Jazz would race up to put pressure on the Jets halves but no one would go with him and if they stepped him they made metres cos no one was there(not his fault) he was just switched on. Im still scratching my head as to why he is even in this team and Nathaniel Roache is in first grade. No offence to Roache but cmon Cappy.
Bunty Afoa had some great runs in the first half and Sipley some good ones in the 2nd.
Our old heads Ali and Robson were quiet and fairly containded. Our young guns of Wells, Bell, Lane, Klokstad and Poching were quiet and the players in between Gavet, Allwood and Lino didnt shine.
Marata Nuikore who started at centre went off injured in the 1st half. As i said before the boys were very very flat with lots of errors.
In the Jets kiwi hooker Matt McIIrick was very good and the boy from CHCH #7 Faamanu Brown was good to. Saw Sharks coach Shane Flanagon watching the game as Newtown are the Sharks feeder club.
Noticed to that the old evergreen Mitch Brown was the Jets fullback. Thought he had retired.
As i said earlier it wasnt a great game to watch from a warriors fans perspective and the only positive i got from the day was when i bought a water, chips, coke and mars bar they didnt charge me for the Mars bar ha #winning
Lets hope the first grade can cheer us up tomorrow against the Chooks and the NSWarriors bounce back next week against the Bears in Auckland. If you can get along and cheer them on
Fan In The Stand
#warriornation
Today The Fan In The Stand packed up the Whanau and ventured down to Henson Park to watch the league leading NSWarriors take on the Newtown Jets.
With our first grade team on a 2 match winning streak and playing some good footy I wanted to see that filter down to the reserve grade team and watch a good game.
With our side littered with first grade experiance i expected good tries, strong defence and with twin towers Ali and Lane in the 2nd row i expected offloades for days.
I wanted to write a good fun filled report instead I wrote out a invoice charging the club for my petrol grrrrrrrr
I love Henson Park. A great suburban ground where u can park your car on the hill and enjoy the game from there but i sat in the bleachers surrounded by Jets supporters. Heaps of changes to our line up. Very dissapointing to see Ata Hingano scratched. Got a funny feeling he will make his debut for first grade this weekend. Especially with SJ in doubt. Gavet was back early from his ankle injury and big Ali was starting. Heaps to look forward to plus big Patrick Sipley (who i also rate highly) was playing.
Jets were kicking off and the kick didnt even go 10 metres so we get the penalty. Almost the best start possible. We kick for touch and already we are hot on attack and manage to get a repeat set from a Robson grubber. Im thinking how good is this start. Next set on the 4th Lane has a kick which was really a nothing kick and the Jets get possesion and make some decent yards then Gavet gives away a penalty. The next set Gavet amends with a big hit on the opposing front rower. Late in that set Henare Wells is penalised and we are on our goal line defending. Jets take the tap and spin it and Lane
comes up with a try saving tackle. Next play Tavenga makes a try saving tackle and im yelling out great defence boys and the next play the Jets crash over grrrrrrr. Typical jinx. So early on we are 6-0 down.
I yell out some encouragement for them "cmon Warriors big defence here boys" nek minute ive done it again. Warriors kick off and we kick it dead on the full so back on the halfway and penalty to the Jets. They kick for touch and 4 plays later they chip through and our winger Tomas Aoake cant gather and the Jets are in again and we are down 12 zip after 14 minutes and im like WTF im not saying anything this set lol.
We kick off and trade a set with them then we start getting some quick play the boys and roll up field and put a good kick from Robson and get a repeat set. Excellent cos with this team if we build pressure we usually get points. In the set though Bunty Afoa drops the ball and the Jets race 65 odd metres to score with only Ali chasing. Dam 16-0 down after 20 minutes. We kick off and the Jets drop it cold then 2 plays later we drop it grrrrr man this is not going to be our day. The Jets get back in our 20 fairly easily and have a full set there and we finally show some resolve and character and hold them out and we earn a penalty.
Then just a horror 2 minutes. We get another penalty kick for touch and drop it on play 2. The jets have 3 tackles and we give away a penalty they kick for touch and on play 4 just barge through the middle to score another try. Very soft try at that. A few minutes and couple sets later Jets make another long range break but Wells along with Tavenga (who gassed it from the D line) bring him down. On the last tackle of that set they kick and we get possesion 10 metres out then drop it on tackle 1. more grrrrrrr then on tackle 2 Lino is penalised and they take the 2.
Dam 24 zip still in the first half and the team just hasnt turned up today. Jets controlling the game nicely making easy yards and finding open space for their last tackle kicks. Just before halftime Tavenga takes an intercept
from the Jets and he called for it to lol. 2 minutes out from the break we are in their 20 and call a backline move and Robsons pass sends Lino over after brushing 2 tacklers to score our first try. He converts and its now 24-6. Right on half time Gavet walks off limping from his heavily strapped right knee, doesnt look good.
2nd half starts and Gavet returns with no limp and takes his place on the field. 5 minutes in Robson puts in a massive shot causing an error and we have possesion. Good start boys. We are making some good metres thanks to Ofahiki Ogden. Linos last tackle kick sees us get a repeat set. Gavet whos played about 46 minutes straight finally gets a rest and Sipley comes on. We are finally mounting some pressure on their line but Robsons tackled on the last. We get the ball back and get back down in their 20 but Robsons kick goes dead so pressure off. At this stage im thinking we cant come back from this. Im seeing no offloads or 2nd phase play. Its just doesnt look like a team that is leading the competition.
Our other prop Bunty Afoa finally gets a rest after 65 minutes. Good effort especially coming up from the 20s for this game. Mid way through the 2nd half Tavenga who is having an awesum game puts a Jets player in a dangerous position and is penalised.
Im sure he has no carry over points so no worries. But the Jets take the 2 points. Another set and another error Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad kicks out on the full. The next set that we are in possesion we knock on. The handling errors must be in the 1000s by now. Lane gest taken off with a gash in his head. Looked like it needed stitches. It gets taped up up and he is back on later.
Sipley makes a try saving tackle with a rag doll tackle haha. Finally we have some good defence and hold them out for a couple of sets but by the time we have the ball we cant make it out of our 20 and our kick just makes it to half way. The jets attack but we hold on. But we are totally gassed. The next set no forward hits it up its all backs. But we make yards and get a good kick.
When we finally attack James Bell gets held up. We are trying everything now but everything we try just isnt executed well. Lino tries a chip kick but only goes 1 metre. The preceding set The Jets score after a flukey kick richochets off our player and the Jets score. Next set the Jets just throw it around like a hot Kumara threw heaps of sets of hands and make a break but drop it over the line.
2 sets later we are totally camped on our line and the Jets score easily from dummy half. The boys are totally juiced from all the defence we have had to do. Warriors kick off and Jets just march down field at ease and score again FFS. They convert and its 38-6. Pretty much thats it and i think that was the final score.
A few things i saw that caught my eye
- After every Newtown try there is a guy that does a lap of the ground on one of those penny farthing type bikes blowing a horn and all the kids chase him around, all up its about 500-600 metres and he was stuffed by the end of the first half lol
- The ground announcer said the crowd was 8316 but it was more like 250 people
- With a 3pm kick off they didnt turn on the lights at all. Was real dark by the time we were deep in the 2nd half
- For those that dont know Jeff Robsons family (wife and kids) still live in Sydney so it was a nice moment to see them reunited after the game on the field
- Matt Allwoods family was also there
- Starting Props James Gavet and Bunty both played all of the 1st half without a break
- Henson park is only a couple of clicks from the Airport so heaps of Airbuses and 767s were flying in very low over the ground to land. It was a good distraction from the massacre i was watching.
Players to impress
Jazz Tavenga was our best by miles. He was everywhere and in everything. In defence he was going from marker then chasing down their backs then stopping their frowards. Dude was fearless. Jets forwards started getting a bit upset and he was in a couple of push and shoves due to their frustration. Also had some good runs with quick play the balls. One thing i did notice was that Jazz would race up to put pressure on the Jets halves but no one would go with him and if they stepped him they made metres cos no one was there(not his fault) he was just switched on. Im still scratching my head as to why he is even in this team and Nathaniel Roache is in first grade. No offence to Roache but cmon Cappy.
Bunty Afoa had some great runs in the first half and Sipley some good ones in the 2nd.
Our old heads Ali and Robson were quiet and fairly containded. Our young guns of Wells, Bell, Lane, Klokstad and Poching were quiet and the players in between Gavet, Allwood and Lino didnt shine.
Marata Nuikore who started at centre went off injured in the 1st half. As i said before the boys were very very flat with lots of errors.
In the Jets kiwi hooker Matt McIIrick was very good and the boy from CHCH #7 Faamanu Brown was good to. Saw Sharks coach Shane Flanagon watching the game as Newtown are the Sharks feeder club.
Noticed to that the old evergreen Mitch Brown was the Jets fullback. Thought he had retired.
As i said earlier it wasnt a great game to watch from a warriors fans perspective and the only positive i got from the day was when i bought a water, chips, coke and mars bar they didnt charge me for the Mars bar ha #winning
Lets hope the first grade can cheer us up tomorrow against the Chooks and the NSWarriors bounce back next week against the Bears in Auckland. If you can get along and cheer them on
Fan In The Stand
#warriornation