Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Farewell Parramatta Stadium - thanks for the memories..........

Joshuatheeel

You got to play at Parra Stadium? sucks, when we did Parra knock out (High School, 96) we had to play at Ringrose... :(

Yeah back in the day they played the group games at a "local" field, then the following day all the finals were at parramatta stadium.

The first home game in 2010 vs Storm after they beat us in the GF in 2009 and got sprung cheating was huge.

Parramatta 24 (J. Reddy 2, K. Inu, K. Keating tries; L. Burt 4 goals) defeated Melbourne 10 (G. Inglis, B. Slater tries; C. Smith goal) at Parramatta Stadium.
Date: Fri, 4th June. Kickoff: 7:35 PM. Halftime: Parramatta 10-6. Scrums: 6-all. Penalties: 5-all. Referees: Tony Archer, Gerard Sutton. Crowd: 7,572.
Parramatta: Hayne, Burt, Reddy, Tahu, Inu; Keating, Mortimer; Cayless (C), Robson, Moimoi, Hindmarsh (C), Smith, Mateo. Int: Mannah, Horo, Poore, Humble.
Melbourne: Slater, Duffie, Nielsen, Inglis, MacDougall; Finch, Cronk; Norrie, Smith (C), White, Blair, Hoffman, Lowrie. Int: Hinchcliffe, Proctor, Tolman, Manu.

EDIT: How did we only get 7,572 to this match ? WTF is wrong with people ?

pouring rain all day
first time I ever won the doubles that night

SDM

Brett Plowman threatening to jump the fence if I didn't shut up. Maybe if he didn't appreciate being called a fat waste of space, he should have lost some weight and played some better footy. As it stood, jumping the fence to belt a 13 year old kid probably would have been the best thing he did during his time with us.

@parrathruandthru all I remember was it was loud, the players bashed the Storm and we laughed all night.

"Terry's a wanker" when Terry Hill played for Manly was huge as well. Can anyone recall why we hated him extra that day ? Did he say something in the week leading up ?

Brett Plowman threatening to jump the fence if I didn't shut up. Maybe if he didn't appreciate being called a fat waste of space, he should have lost some weight and played some better footy. As it stood, jumping the fence to belt a 13 year old kid probably would have been the best thing he did during his time with us.

I LOL'd

@parrathruandthru all I remember was it was loud, the players bashed the Storm and we laughed all night.

"Terry's a wanker" when Terry Hill played for Manly was huge as well. Can anyone recall why we hated him extra that day ? Did he say something in the week leading up ?

It was a semi final game. We were sitting in the players section and the whole crowd was giving it to him deluxe. He had a shocker of a game. Not sure what had been the start of it but I think he had been on the end of a few ref calls. He was pretty dirty as the game wore on....

IFR33K

He once spoke about one of the hindmarsh's. But I can't recall if it was before or after the 05 semi.

Joshuatheeel

Was that the finals match from 2005 ? He basically called us "soft" in the lead up to that match.

Actually I remember before the semi, Manly had to beat Canberra to make the 8 and bagged the Hindmarsh brothers and called Ian who was at Canberra at the time, a reserve grader. Ian copped it well and I think responded by saying it's nice copping it from a has been.

In the Parra/Manly semi. Hill got booed every time he got the ball, and at one stage was penalised for back chat and that's when the whole crowd cheered and did the "Terry's a Wanker" Chant.

He was pretty dirty too as he came off late in the game and had to walk past the Eels bench. He was still copping it.

BoneyBlake17

The final round in 2005 we played brisbane on a Friday night and the winner would win the minor premiership. It was packed and the atmosphere was electric

Our school footy team got to run out with parra players that night i ran onto the field with johnny morris the fact we won made it even better. The only disappointing thing was by the time we got back to our seat after 10 mins hindy had done his knee. But still an awesome night

I also remember standing in the tunnel seeing the broncos walk out right in front of me and seeing shane webcke and petero and how massive they bloody were

I'll never forget playing against the Broncos in either 1990 or 1991.... It was towards the tail end of the season and Parra were actually in the hunt for the semi's, think we needed to win our last 4 or 5 games to do so... and it started with the Broncos on a Sunday arvo who were a quality team at the time with the usual 15 Origin and Australian reps... But Sterlo was on a mission that day and I'm pretty sure we led 22-8 some time in to the second half. It was probably the best I'd seen Parra play since 1986 at Parra Stadium. But then it all turned to shit and we ended up losing 24-22... I went from being euphoric to absolutely gutted in the space of around 15 minutes... I'll never forget how I felt when I got home that day. Been a few games follow that same script ever since sadly.... last years game V the Cows took only 12 minutes instead of 15 when they ran in those 5 tries!!!

1990 it was. Sterlo scored a try beat about 5 of them and was pumped that day. I wasn't at that game nor could I remember watching it on TV that day but my dad told me there was a few refereeing decisions that cost Parramatta.

Wasn't there another Broncos game where we lead about 14-6 at or near halftime - only to lose 64-14 ?

1995. We led at the break would you believe and lost 60-14. It was Lockyer's first game as well.

Thankfully, 12 years later in 2007 we got them back. At one stage Broncos led 16-6 and nearly led 20-6 had the Broncos player not knocked on over the line. Amazingly we led 34-16 at half time and ended up winning 68-22.

phantom eel

Great thread FP - I'll miss the old place, and can't imagine a ground where I'll enjoy watching the footy from quite so much (but then, that could be because we fluked great seats in 1986 and stuck with them).

I agree with your first two great memories, and a few Gronk mentioned - here's my top five:

1. First Game 1986 v St George, a great spectacle after four years at Belmore. Fantastic atmosphere, won all three grades (I think), and a huge 36-6 win in firsta grade. A great start to a premiership winning season.

2. Comeback win 1987 v Canberra
- down 22-0 at half time, a schol mate of mine went home. We came back to win I think 30-22 which was a great buzz, and stirring my mate at school on Monday was the icing on the cake.

3. Buying food throughout season 1990 - for purely personal and off-field reasons... if you care to know why there's a short story (Forum Sevens) about it stored here: http://leagueunlimited.com/news/win-some-lose-some/

4. Tour Game 1992 v Great Britain
- national teams don't tour like they used to, and rugby league is poorer for it. Back then the seasons were at different times of the year, meaning GB could spend a few months during our season playing tests against PNG, NZ and us along with warm up games against clubs. We got a great crowd to their match on a Friday night, and our bunch of 1992 no-names gave it to the touring side earning a 22-16 win.

5. Revenge game 2010 v Storm - small crowd due to weather, but great atmosphere and a great win. Bought a wooden spoon along to the ground and waved it at the Storm at every opportunity as we tore the cheats a new one.