Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Farewell Parramatta Stadium - thanks for the memories..........

Captain BF

I'm lead to believe that there may be a small momento given out to the first 1000 or so people in to the ground on Monday.

Rogue.9

Favorite Moments;
Parra v Norths 98 semi final.
Fui Fui getting a standing ovation in 06 after being sent off for taking Brent Kites head off and Parra managing to hold off Manly with only 12 players
Jack Afamasaga getting sent off in reserve grade in 05 after giving upper cuts to half of the Dragons team
Taking my son to his first game.

I remember that was the game where Moran tried to give JT a new nose.

And Blocker was excited like a kid in candy store at how brutal our pack was.

MEMORIES OF PARRAMATTA STADIUM
By James Smith Aug 24 2016 3:14PM

Thirty seasons after its grand opening, Parramatta Stadium will be demolished to make way for a bigger, better, improved version. But there’s nothing wrong with celebrating a cherished rugby league icon while it still stands.

My earliest memories of Parramatta Stadium (pictured above back in 2001) are of my first visit there in 1986 as a nine-year-old. I didn’t know it at the time, but the stadium had only opened earlier that year; as a kid you assume an impressive structure like that has existed forever.

Before I drank the Penrith cool-aid, I was a Parramatta supporter; was in love with the Eels, thought Ray Price and Peter Sterling were gods. A shaded-out bloke on the TV news bulletin was in witness protection and told the interviewer his name was now Peter Sterling. “Why would he do that,” I asked mum. “He isn’t Peter Sterling.” “There’s more than one person in the world called that,” she responded. Not to me there wasn’t.

Dad, a TAFE teacher at the time, invited me once to a presentation night at Mt Druitt TAFE. I didn’t know why. I was a good decade away from having to worry about grown-up stuff like that. When we got there, none other than Mr Price himself was presenting certificates to students. I still remember sitting there star-gazing. What a rockstar.

So my debut at Parramatta Stadium was an Eels fan. Dad, Uncle Ernie (who really loved the Eels) and I made the trip in from Mt Pleasant and Kingswood. The opposition that day? Penrith. We sat in the July winter sun on a Sunday afternoon in the top left corner of the far grandstand - if you’re watching the Eels on TV. I remember the giant, white numbers on the backs of the Eels’ blue and gold jerseys. Greg Alexander and Royce Simmons were in barnstorming form for Penrith, with the visitors dangerous and threatening in attack all day.

A bloke up the back ten rows behind us every five minutes screamed: “COME ON … PA-RRA.” I also remember being surprised there was no commentary when you went to the footy. Up till that point, every game of Winfield Cup I’d seen had been called by Graeme Hughes and Rex Mossop. I had always assumed the commentary was boomed through giant speakers at the ground.

There were over 20,000 people there that day. Parramatta won 16-10. It took ages to leave the ground. Just like today, traffic surrounding the stadium was thick following the fulltime siren. It was cold and dark by the time we got to the car to drive home.

Rugby league is passionately celebrated at Parramatta Stadium. The fans there only know one team, but they’ll celebrate any skilful exponent of the 13-man craft when they deserve it. Depending on who it is …

Over the years we’d travel in for many more Parramatta/Penrith derbies. They’re different to the bitter Souths/Easts matches or Saints/Sharks battles. They’re kind’ve like Queensland on Queensland games. There’s a shared sense of westie identity. Not too much, though. In the opposite stand at Parra Stadium a few years later, I remember a young Mark Geyer making a break before offloading to a team-mate, who was smashed into oblivion by an Eels forward. It was the first “dig a hole and bury him” sledge I’d heard in my life. Again, it came from towards the back of the grandstand. Most of the best sledges do …

As an outsider, I watched some cracking games there over the years, and I also witnessed some bludgers. An Eels/Panthers pre-season match in the February heat remains one of the worst league clashes I’ll ever watch (year left out for my own protection). I’m sure I saw a Panasonic Cup game there between Penrith and Canberra as well. We were so close to the sideline we could hear a young Ricky Stuart ask his coach Tim Sheens who he was going to replace.

This magical version of Parramatta Stadium will be missed by everyone, because sports fans do get attached to their colosseums. I was in New York in 2010, the year after the Yankees made the switch from the aging “house that Babe built” to their sparkling new version across the road. You could see the remains of the old stadium from the train station next door. One fan yelled out, “It’s a travesty. Babe Ruth is in there.” Everyone around him knew what he meant …

But just as Parra’s fans moved on from the old Cumberland Oval (they burnt its main grandstand down, so moving on wasn’t too difficult by the sounds of it) and onto that gleaming new stadium back in 1986, so too fans of all codes will adopt the new structure which will be here before they know it. And some sportswriter in 30 years’ time will produce a piece about how he attended the first game there as a youngster.

Farewell Parramatta Stadium. It’s been great. Hey, I just had a thought - what’s going to happen to that Ray Price statue?

http://www.insidesport.com.au/league/analysis/memories-of-parramatta-stadium-434879

The second half of the Norths game was one of the most enjoyable halves of footy I have ever seen. Would love to watch it again at some point.

MEMORIES OF PARRAMATTA STADIUM
By James Smith Aug 24 2016 3:14PM

Thirty seasons after its grand opening, Parramatta Stadium will be demolished to make way for a bigger, better, improved version. But there’s nothing wrong with celebrating a cherished rugby league icon while it still stands.

My earliest memories of Parramatta Stadium (pictured above back in 2001) are of my first visit there in 1986 as a nine-year-old. I didn’t know it at the time, but the stadium had only opened earlier that year; as a kid you assume an impressive structure like that has existed forever.

Before I drank the Penrith cool-aid, I was a Parramatta supporter; was in love with the Eels, thought Ray Price and Peter Sterling were gods. A shaded-out bloke on the TV news bulletin was in witness protection and told the interviewer his name was now Peter Sterling. “Why would he do that,” I asked mum. “He isn’t Peter Sterling.” “There’s more than one person in the world called that,” she responded. Not to me there wasn’t.

Dad, a TAFE teacher at the time, invited me once to a presentation night at Mt Druitt TAFE. I didn’t know why. I was a good decade away from having to worry about grown-up stuff like that. When we got there, none other than Mr Price himself was presenting certificates to students. I still remember sitting there star-gazing. What a rockstar.

So my debut at Parramatta Stadium was an Eels fan. Dad, Uncle Ernie (who really loved the Eels) and I made the trip in from Mt Pleasant and Kingswood. The opposition that day? Penrith. We sat in the July winter sun on a Sunday afternoon in the top left corner of the far grandstand - if you’re watching the Eels on TV. I remember the giant, white numbers on the backs of the Eels’ blue and gold jerseys. Greg Alexander and Royce Simmons were in barnstorming form for Penrith, with the visitors dangerous and threatening in attack all day.

A bloke up the back ten rows behind us every five minutes screamed: “COME ON … PA-RRA.” I also remember being surprised there was no commentary when you went to the footy. Up till that point, every game of Winfield Cup I’d seen had been called by Graeme Hughes and Rex Mossop. I had always assumed the commentary was boomed through giant speakers at the ground.

There were over 20,000 people there that day. Parramatta won 16-10. It took ages to leave the ground. Just like today, traffic surrounding the stadium was thick following the fulltime siren. It was cold and dark by the time we got to the car to drive home.

Rugby league is passionately celebrated at Parramatta Stadium. The fans there only know one team, but they’ll celebrate any skilful exponent of the 13-man craft when they deserve it. Depending on who it is …

Over the years we’d travel in for many more Parramatta/Penrith derbies. They’re different to the bitter Souths/Easts matches or Saints/Sharks battles. They’re kind’ve like Queensland on Queensland games. There’s a shared sense of westie identity. Not too much, though. In the opposite stand at Parra Stadium a few years later, I remember a young Mark Geyer making a break before offloading to a team-mate, who was smashed into oblivion by an Eels forward. It was the first “dig a hole and bury him” sledge I’d heard in my life. Again, it came from towards the back of the grandstand. Most of the best sledges do …

As an outsider, I watched some cracking games there over the years, and I also witnessed some bludgers. An Eels/Panthers pre-season match in the February heat remains one of the worst league clashes I’ll ever watch (year left out for my own protection). I’m sure I saw a Panasonic Cup game there between Penrith and Canberra as well. We were so close to the sideline we could hear a young Ricky Stuart ask his coach Tim Sheens who he was going to replace.

This magical version of Parramatta Stadium will be missed by everyone, because sports fans do get attached to their colosseums. I was in New York in 2010, the year after the Yankees made the switch from the aging “house that Babe built” to their sparkling new version across the road. You could see the remains of the old stadium from the train station next door. One fan yelled out, “It’s a travesty. Babe Ruth is in there.” Everyone around him knew what he meant …

But just as Parra’s fans moved on from the old Cumberland Oval (they burnt its main grandstand down, so moving on wasn’t too difficult by the sounds of it) and onto that gleaming new stadium back in 1986, so too fans of all codes will adopt the new structure which will be here before they know it. And some sportswriter in 30 years’ time will produce a piece about how he attended the first game there as a youngster.

Farewell Parramatta Stadium. It’s been great. Hey, I just had a thought - what’s going to happen to that Ray Price statue?

http://www.insidesport.com.au/league/analysis/memories-of-parramatta-stadium-434879

Dirty f**ken turncoat Panther.

Nice piece from the lads @ Cumberland Throw

Parra Through and Through – The Arthur Family at Parramatta 10
24 Aug, 2016 in NRL / Opinion tagged Brad Arthur / Cumberland Oval / Eels / Parramatta Stadium by sixtiesboy

It’s well known that Parramatta coach, Brad Arthur is passionate about the Eels. His resilience and stoic support of the club during this tumultuous year is becoming the stuff of legend. However, in saying farewell to Parramatta Stadium, there’s a piece of the Arthur family history that many may not be aware of. I’m proud to be able to share it with you.

Cumberland Oval – April 12, 1947

Parramatta played its first match at Cumberland in their first year in the premiership. As they take on the Newtown Bluebags, a crowd of 6000 is in attendance. In that crowd, in that first match, were 3 generations of the Arthur family. Brad’s father, Ted, was only a young baby. He was taken to the match by his parents, Lindsay and Joyce. Along with the young family was Brad’s great grandfather, Noel. A family’s association with the Eels begins from day 1.

The old Cumberland Oval

Parramatta Stadium – March 16, 1986

After spending four years at Belmore Oval, the Eels played their first Premiership match at the new Parramatta Stadium. Over 26000 people turn up to watch the Eels trounce the Dragons. Joining the crowd again were 3 generations of the Arthur family. A young Brad was there with his father Ted and his grandmother Joyce. In fact, Joyce was heavily involved with the supporters club committee.

Parramatta Stadium opens in 1986

Pirtek (Parramatta) Stadium – August 29, 2016

The Eels will be saying goodbye to Pirtek Stadium in an emotional evening against the Dragons. Ted Arthur will again be there. He’ll be watching his son, Brad coach their beloved Eels. He’ll also proudly watch his grandsons, Jake and Matthew, as they take on the ball boy duties.

A family of Eels – Brad with his sons, Jake and Matthew.

Three generations of the Arthur family again on hand for a significant event in the club’s history. An association that spans the 70 years of Parramatta’s existence. You can’t get more blue and gold than that!

Eels forever,

Sixties

http://thecumberlandthrow.com/2016/08/24/parra-through-and-through-the-arthur-family-at-parramatta/

Gee I remember as a kid I used to sit on the hill, infact both hills when I started going to games at Parra, I think from about 1990-1995 I was in the Grand stand twice. But since then it was mostly the grand stand, the Cronin Stand.

I went to Kenny's last game in 1993, sat in the stands and there was about 13,000 people and we won 22-12. I remember the brawl just before half time.

That year I saw us almost beat St George, I was right in front of where Ricky Walford broke our hearts. I reckon there was about 22,000 great atmosphere. I remember seeing the big blue and gold flags and the banner's, one I recall saying "King Kenny".

Everytime I sat right against the fence I banged the fence a few times everytime Parra scored. Great memories.

When I used to always get an drumstick ice cream from the one of the guys in the portable vendor shouting out, Ice cream, chips and drink. And $1 on the main game, which is now $2 and they barely go around to people which is a bit disappointing. Took me a long time to finally win one in 2007 and then I won it again in 2012.

I think my best memories at Parra Stadium was when I was a teen and Parra had great years. 1997-2003. Our crowds got bigger and almost every year we were title contenders, didn't lose too many games. A few games to mention, 99 against the Panthers I remember we were behind in the second half and then a young Nathan Hindmarsh busted about 4 players to run 50m and put us in a great try scoring position. 1997 we drew against St George but we score more tries than them and missed all 3 goals. After the game there was a presentation and lot of us were shouting "Lawler, Lawler, Lawler", because Chris Lawler was a good goal kicker and play maker running around in reserve grade.

2001, I did mention before that mostly every home game that year was a memorable one, but I think when we beat the Roosters for something like 38-22, that's when I realised we could win this. The game against the Dragons was amazing, over 23,000 fans and we belted them. Taylor's record kick against the Cowboys was a great day as was beating the Warriors.

I think one of my best moments at Parra was in 1999 the semi final against Newcastle. The atmosphere was amazing, big crowd of around 22,000 I think, plenty of Newcastle fans made the trip down and sat near us in the grand stand. I think they score within the first 5 minutes and started at 100 miles an hour. O'Davis made a big break and was tackled by Schifcoske, not only tackled but dragged about 20m into touch. I knew from there we were gonna be hard to beat. It was an outstanding win, to top it off Grothe's try in the end where he outpaced Albert and Gidley to dive on the ball to score that was brilliant. A lot of the Parra fans sang to the Knights fans, "GO HOME, GO HOME!!!" it felt good especially when they gave it us and kept chanting "Newcastle, Newcastle" for about 20 minutes.

There were some great moments after that Brian Smith period, of course beating Newcastle and Brisbane in 2009 to start that big run towards the Grand Final.

And this year there's about 3 good ones. Beating Canberra with the fans singing "RICKY!!!, coming from behind against the Roosters and beating Manly. The win was ugly however my best moment was before the match and will sit with me for a long time was when they announced over the PA that Brad Arthur had re-signed. A lot of Parra fans had stood and applauded. Honestly I don't think a Parramatta coach has received a standing ovation like this one. He deserves it.

I can go on all day about some great moments at Parra. I'm gonna miss the ground. I maybe biased but it is one of the best Rugby League grounds in the world. No wonder other teams played there in the 90s and semi finals and test matches were played there.

I hope this new ground will be just as good as this one.

Farewell Parramatta Stadium.

Jack Afamasaga getting sent off in reserve grade in 05 after giving upper cuts to half of the Dragons team

Yep seen some good blues. I think it was against the Bulldogs in the lower grades we had Ben Taia, Zeb Taia and another young player all got binned during the same incident. They had two binned and we somehow just snuck away with the win.

Taking my son to his first game.

It was against the Raiders in 2003, we got smashed and every time the Raiders scored the Raiders fans would cheer and he would smile with the noise.

forward pass

I have photos which I posted on here before of the stadium being built! I used to go check out the progress because I couldn't wait to go back to Parra.

Parra

I can go on all day about some great moments at Parra. I'm gonna miss the ground. I maybe biased but it is one of the best Rugby League grounds in the world. No wonder other teams played there in the 90s and semi finals and test matches were played there.

I hope this new ground will be just as good as this one.

Farewell Parramatta Stadium.

Loved you post & I agree with the bit I've quoted. My favourite ground for footy. Nothing else comes close. Hoping the new ground lives up to this heritage.

The Eels great, the Queen and the Parramatta Stadium conversation
57ebdb53d683ed34c05801e9b2d05bec

Michael Carayannis Exclusive, The Sunday Telegraph
August 27, 2016 5:19pm
57ebdb53d683ed34c05801e9b2d05bec

PETER Wynn remembers the time he struck up a conversation with Queen Elizabeth regarding Parramatta Stadium. The unusual turn of events occurred after Wynn was invited to meet the Queen at the then Sheraton Wentworth Hotel as a member of the Kangaroos squad.

“We were standing in line,” Wynn recounts. “I said to her ‘you’re opening up our stadium on Friday’. She asked ‘Do you play for the Parramatta Eels’? And then asked ‘was it a new stadium or had it been played on before’? When I told it was new she said she was ‘excited because a lot of times I open things they are already in use’.”

Wynn would be on hand to watch the Queen and Prince Phillip open the stadium two days later on March 5, 1986. He would also take to the field when Parramatta Stadium — known now as Pirtek Stadium — was first used when the Eels thumped St George 36-6 on March 16 in front of 26,870 people.

c5e3f02b90fbfc5ea18d8c239225b790

Parramatta Stadium opening in 1986 Picture: SUPPLIED
One of Wynn’s opponents that day was younger brother Graeme, with Steve Sharp scoring the first try at the venue.

“I’d played reserve grade that day and come on off the bench,” Peter said. “The crowd was huge. I got on and I put Ray Price away for a try down the blindside. I pushed my brother off and popped the ball up. That brought the crowd to life.”

After 30 years, Parramatta Stadium will play host to its final game on Monday night before the stadium undergoes a $300 million redevelopment. Ironically it will again feature the Eels and the Dragons.

cebb67039323d72a4fb28fd7ce5828f6

Peter Sterling receives a hug from Ray Price after Parramatta defeated Canterbury in the 1986 Winfield Cup final.
Wynn still remembers how plans of the original Parramatta Stadium development were used to entice him to join the Eels.

“When I first signed for Parramatta in 1978 they were talking about building a stadium,” Wynn said. “(Then Eels coach) Terry Fearnley showed me the plans of the new stadium. It was all covered with the ground in the middle. It took until 1981 for them to burn the old stand down to get it going.”

The celebrations of the Eels 1981 premiership win against Newtown turned wild when fans burnt down the grandstand at Cumberland Oval — the site of Parramatta Stadium.

8bdfcf081597c4cd28e5e7fbc2377c2f

Ray Price and Mick Cronin are chaired from the ground following Parramatta's grand final victory over Canterbury-Bankstown in 1986. Pic: Colin Whelan Action Photographics
The Eels used Belmore Oval as a base while the stadium was redevelopment. The new ground brought instant success with the Eels winning the 1986 grand final — their last premiership. Wynn and the likes of Eels legends including Peter Sterling, Ray Price, Brett Kenny, Mick Cronin Nathan Cayless and Nathan Hindmarsh were among the standouts in the 343 games the Eels have played at the stadium, for 189 wins.

Hindmarsh (43) played the most games at the venue with the Eels biggest win coming in 2003 with a 74-4 victory against Cronulla.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...n/news-story/57ebdb53d683ed34c05801e9b2d05bec