Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fevola and Brett Stewart

dollyhands

My mate got smashed at a work function and acted inappropriately and didn't get suspended, maybe Manly could get compensation from them for not doing anything:crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy::crazy:

So you guys didn't see today tonight last night when rebecca wilson and some guy from the Melbourne papers launched into Fevola and the Carlton footy club about thier handling of the event ?

Anyway why the obsession with AFL ?

Sunrise had it as their top news item and then made it their top commentary for the day - ignoring the AFL Grand Final build up and talked about how big a f**king tool Fevola is and how Carlton should dump his arse permanently.

Bourbon Bec and her brother (who is a Carlton fan) were both as pious as usual on the subject and said he'd had enough chances and deserved to be sacked as he was a disgrace to the game and was constantly dragging the game through the dirt.

They said that a fine by Carlton wasnt going to wash this time

We'll see if they're right

i belive the reason this happened would be because he was working for 9 and nothing to do with AFL

one of 7's AFL commentators got fined for worse recently and i bet they didn't say boo http://www.news.com.au/perthnow/story/0,21598,25891581-5005401,00.html

retch

Poll results from The Herald Sun...the Vics love him...:sarcasm:

1zqq9ar.png

Evenflow

Wow 1 person. We had it over ALL media.

The obsession is NRL is run by a media organisation yet get shafted every single time no matter what the incident is

I can assure you it's a sh*tload more than one person in Melbourne, he's been copping it from all directions (and rightly so) People bitch and moan that things get swept under the carpet down here but it was front/back page news on the Herald sun in the last couple of days not to mention all pages in between.

fair dinkum the AFL comparisons around here are nothing short of pathetic, talk about insecure. We've got the biggest crowd in Sydney tonight outside a GF with 2 local powerhouse clubs, a city that's abuzz with anticipation and excitement for the game ahead, a GF next week that will feature one of those local teams and all you sad arses can do is talk about a rival code? f**k me get your priorities right.

Like i said it's nothing more than insecure and pathetic but go ahead and keep obsessing over the AFL, i and anyone else with half a brain will sit back and enjoy what will be a cracker game tonight and the rest of the finals series.

Evolution

Poll results from The Herald Sun...the Vics love him...:sarcasm:

1zqq9ar.png

WOW what a great sample size that poll has. It clearly represents the states views.

For all you know it could be full of Carlton morons who will stick up for their players til the cows come home. or maybe you went on and mass voted for the no option to make your sad point.

mickdo

Those AFL players, they're just misunderstood. It's the NRL that are the thugs...

http://www.news.com.au/story/0,27574,26123441-29277,00.html

AFL star 'punched, kicked a taxi driver'

ESSENDON AFL player Michael Hurley has left police custody after being questioned over an alleged assault on a taxi driver in inner Melbourne early today.

Police say a 19-year-old Rosanna man was involved in a dispute over a fare during which a taxi driver was allegedly punched and kicked in Hoddle Street, Richmond at about 5.30am (AEST).

AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou told Fairfax Radio Network today that Essendon had contacted him and told him Hurley, 19, was being interviewed by police over an incident.

Essendon released a statement confirming one of its players was involved in an incident early today but did not identify Hurley.

"The club is investigating the facts of the matter and will make further comment later today," the statement said.

A police spokesman said Hurley had been released from custody pending summons.

Hurley is considered one of Essendon's emerging stars after playing well in his nine games this year.

The incident comes on top of the drunken behaviour of Carlton full forward Brendan Fevola at Monday night's Brownlow Medal, at a time when the league tries to focus on its grand final on Saturday.

butchmcdick

Those AFL players, they're just misunderstood. It's the NRL that are the thugs...

http://www.news.com.au/story/0,27574,26123441-29277,00.html

Nobody has even mentioned the NRL in the article nor are the players alledged actions defended by anyone.

FFS there are posters who have defended every bit of bad behavior by NRL players and yet if an AFL figure does the same they get accused of bias. There is just as many apologist wankers in the AFL media as there are in the NRL media.

Personally I can't see how you can repeatedly accuse the media of covering up AFL or NRL players behavior and then post a link to the media reporting said behavior. It makes no sense.

Also there is a perception that if the Sydney media don't report an incident then it is some sort of AFL conspiricy. Perhaps nobody north of the Murray gives a sh*t what AFL players do on or off the field.

If you need any more proof of media bias against RL, www.smh.com.au homepage has this image currently:

league-timeline-lead-300x368.jpg

...on the eve of what's set to be one of the biggest and best finals games in history.

Joke.

bulldog

So you guys didn't see today tonight last night when rebecca wilson and some guy from the Melbourne papers launched into Fevola and the Carlton footy club about thier handling of the event ?

Yeah I saw it, I managed to hold back from smashing my TV when chewbacca came on screen as I walked in the door, the vicious cow has been at the forefront of condemnation for our game yet what did she say about this disgraceful bastard?

"The punishment I think is a little bit light, he shouldn't be allowed back until he agrees to go to counselling"

The guy has a track record that would make most RL players look like saints and this is all he cops? I hope that worthless bitch writes herself off next time she gets behind the wheel with a skinfull.

Johns Magic

Can this thread be moved to TFC so those sad cases can argue about it amongst themselves again and leave the rest of us to talk footy?

SMH went to the pre-emptive step in their little slideshow of saying "on-field the game enjoyed this that and the other" and then went on from there.

Serc

Speaking of Fevola...just heard on ABC news that Carlton and the AFL are meeting at the moment, word is that he may be deregistered...

Flapper

Look you do this every single time. Why are you so against people bringing up the obvious discrepencies (and they are obvious to anyone not openly trying to ignore them) in negative coverage between two codes? Is it just you getting up El D, or are you seriously not noticing like everybody else is?

badav

Where's Gallop to counter attack with this year's attendance figures? Audience figures?

I dont think Gallop as the CEO of large organisation would have SMH (or any newspaper) very high on his priority list.

Who gives a sh*t what SMH writes. They can put whatever they want in the paper but its not changing anything when it comes to selling tickets.