Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Folau

betcats

To be ostracized because of a religous beliefs on a bibles teachings is also wrong.

Disagree, he should be ostracized for being homophobic. To many people use this religon shit as an excuse. Just cause some merkin wrote it down hundreds or thousands of years ago doesn't mean it is infallible. You can find versus in the bible that will tell you if a man rapes a woman he has to pay her father compensation and marry her and never leave her and its all good. Its ancient garbage.

kit66

You’re right...the bloke said the wrong thing...and hate speech shouldn’t be tolerated.

the bloke never apologised for what he said either and stands by it.

Our solution to this is to allow him to play footy and not allow him to use social media.

is it just me or is there something really wrong with this solution?

What do you want ? If he apologizes he goes against his church and it's teachings which, understandably he doesn't want to do - he can only change his position if his church does, so go talk to them. What he will do instead is abide by his contract and the request that he keep his views to himself. The whole Freedom of speech vs Censorship issue has so many angles we just have to do our best and make compromises. I post on Facebook, the owner of which has outlawed the humble nipple - even in Art - on his site, which to me is ludicrous but I'll keep posting anyway ( generally I mean, not nipples ). If Folau plays for us it will be very hard for me to support that but I'm a Dragons tragic, what do I do ? I'm also of the opinion that he has a right to carry on and pursue gainful employment any way he sees fit. If he behaves, let him take his place in the community and we'll see how it goes. As much as I disagree with him, he is not a criminal.

kit66

Re-education Christ that sounds like China. He said what he believes as that is what his church is teaching him or he makes his own interpretation. It might be written in a book that he read. This same book might be read by millions and those people my have had the same thing jammed down their throats. If you go to church you are to believe what your minister or priest or imam recites to you from their book. Sometimes if your old enough you might have your own interpretation. I went to Sunday school as a young boy sometimes I didn't I climbed the mulberry tree and sat on the room no amount of pleading got me down. Next week I went along listened then got old and didn't go again. The point is most of us learned life's rules through the church such as :thou shall not steal etc. Folau has just spoken out because that is how he felt and has a platform to do it like a mobile phone Twitter Instagram. He offended some people so we all tell him he should keep his thoughts to himself. Doesn't bother me one bit however Anthony Mundine gets under my skin pushing his agenda and the lads not singing the National Anthem is another thing that has upset some people but we get on with our lives just the same. Only my opinion I'm not telling anyone that's how they should live

My idea and China's idea of re-education probably differ somewhat.

Your use of Mundine as some sort of reference to the Folau issue is a bit iffy mate, you might want to rethink that.

R&WTILLIDIE

What do you want ? If he apologizes he goes against his church and it's teachings which, understandably he doesn't want to do that - he can only change his position if his church does, so go talk to them. What he will do instead is abide by his contract and the request that he keep his views to himself. The whole Freedom of speech vs Censorship issue has so many angles we just have to do our best and make compromises. I post on Facebook, the owner of which has outlawed the humble nipple - even in Art - on his site, which to me is ludicrous but I'll keep posting anyway ( generally I mean, not nipples ). If Folau plays for us it will be very hard for me to support that but I'm a Dragons tragic, what do I do ? I'm also of the opinion that he has a right to carry on and pursue gainful employment any way he sees fit. If he behaves, let him take his place in the community and we'll see how it goes. As much as I disagree with him, he is not a criminal.

what do I want?

That’s easy...I don’t want my team to sign a bigot.

he has the right to pursue and gain employment?

the same way people of all different sexual orientations deserve to be treated equally and with respect.

People on here trying to empathise with Folau. Nah...sorry...I don’t want him anywhere near my club.

he’s already going against his church and its teachings by having a tattoo...what does that tell you about him and his teachings?

Mjab

As a card carrying atheist I cant say I agree with a lot he says on many levels. I didnt agree with any of the shit he has said previously

If he keeps his mouth shut and social media closed I actually dont care. Sounds like if he doesnt we can quickly rid ourselves of him

Interesting how some are happy to have alleged rapists , people imprisoned for assaults, domestic violence offenders potentially at the club but are upset about some dudes public comments. Many others past and present at club have done far worse.

He is a better and more consistent player than many we have at the club and we will win many more games with him than without.

If he comes I dont mind

but if he does I would play him at fullback so he is more involved it the game , a much better fullback than dufty

kit66

what do I want?

That’s easy...I don’t want my team to sign a bigot.

he has the right to pursue and gain employment?

the same way people of all different sexual orientations deserve to be treated equally and with respect.

People on here trying to empathise with Folau. Nah...sorry...I don’t want him anywhere near my club.

he’s already going against his church and its teachings by having a tattoo...what does that tell you about him and his teachings?

So you hate him unquestionably and think he should burn in hell ?
Only kidding, I get your point but you're overdoing it a bit. He can't just disappear. I said on these forums when he made his original comments " Folau and anyone who thinks like him can go eat a dick " and I still feel the same way. The thing is our society is full of bigots, racists, homophobes, in the media, in the government, on the street and they get to go to work and live their lives but when they pipe up we shout them down and slap them on the wrist and things change over time, slowly. We have laws in place and we let everyone know what is acceptable and what's not and we get on with it. I just hope Eddie McGuire doesn't come looking for a job with us.

To be ostracized because of a religous beliefs on a bibles teachings is also wrong.
Same sex marriage in the bible is very much open to interpretation.

Carl Truman, a writer for First Things, said Folau used social media to express unorthodox, perhaps even heretical, views on the Trinity. First Things is an influential religious journal that was founded to confront the ideology of secularism, so most definitely a source that should be supporting Folau's views. But it's not that simple.

Truman writes: "Christians love nothing so much as a celebrity martyr. And yet here there is a problem: Folau’s religious views are really anything but Christian in the historic, dogmatic sense of the word, because he denies that most basic of Christian creedal doctrines, the Trinity."
[Source]
I agree the lack of compassion and the way portrayed and tone from Israel Falau was wrong.
Yes, there is a better more compassionate sensitive way to respond.

That is an area I believe he is working on and he deserves a go to address how he responds
with compassion in his beliefs.

NRL should allow him to play with proven ways to deal with social media and media as a whole as he will be attacked and drawn in to controversy for ratings !!! as fake news like to do !!!
Ever since the same sex marriage bill was passed, organisations like the Australian Christian Lobby (ACL) have been saying that they are the victims. They firmly believe in the debatable notion that their religious rights are being taken away.

But the truth is, the ACL are trying to ostracise others. Moreover, they forget that we don't live in a theocracy.

What has the ACL got to do with Folau?

Well... the ACL threw their support behind Folau when Rugby Union sacked him. They raised millions of dollars through their networks and connections. [Source]

The ACL are not poor, they are not victims. On the contrary, they are quite powerful, actually hold influence and are actively involved in politics.

The ACL's activities in the Folau case raised a lot of questions. Here was a so-called non-profit charity, raising money and giving it over to defend a wealthy footballer who was saying the most uncharitable things. Folau had previously sought to raise money through the GoFundMe website but this was pulled after it discovered that he was breaching GoFundMe's T&Cs. So the ACL got on board. [Source].

So, when the NRL are considering the request from the Dragons, we can only wonder if they are looking into all aspects of the case. They should ask themselves if they're inviting in trouble from a far right organisation that sees an opportunity to promote their cause, and have a war chest to back it up. More importantly, have our board truly considered the potential implications?

R&WTILLIDIE

As a card carrying atheist I cant say I agree with a lot he says on many levels. I didnt agree with any of the shit he has said previously

If he keeps his mouth shut and social media closed I actually dont care. Sounds like if he doesnt we can quickly rid ourselves of him

Interesting how some are happy to have alleged rapists , people imprisoned for assaults, domestic violence offenders potentially at the club but are upset about some dudes public comments. Many others past and present at club have done far worse.

He is a better and more consistent player than many we have at the club and we will win many more games with him than without.

If he comes I dont mind

but if he does I would play him at fullback so he is more involved it the game , a much better fullback than dufty

mate...everyone deserves a second chance (some barely) so people like say Russell Packer bashed a bloke...went to jail...did his time, and then was able to return to footy.

folau has said some farked up shit and stands by it...and we’re welcoming him back?

if Folau comes out and says what he said was wrong and/ or starts doing charity work with the people he belittled, then by all means the league should welcome him back.

but this merkin isn’t sorry for what he said and stands by his disgusting comments...so he can go get farked

R&WTILLIDIE

So you hate him unquestionably and think he should burn in hell ?
Only kidding, I get your point but you're overdoing it a bit. He can't just disappear. I said on these forums when he made his original comments " Folau and anyone who thinks like him can go eat a dick " and I still feel the same way. The thing is our society is full of bigots, racists, homophobes, in the media, in the government, on the street and they get to go to work and live their lives but when they pipe up we shout them down and slap them on the wrist and things change over time, slowly. We have laws in place and we let everyone know what is acceptable and what's not and we get on with it. I just hope Eddie McGuire doesn't come looking for a job with us.

mate. I don’t think I’m over doing it. I think people are under doing it by welcoming him back with open arms when he stands by his remarks

boardlumps62

If he comes I dont mind

I like the bit apart from Dufty we can fit him in somewhere. Yes there are a lot of players who have done far worse just his comments got aired and the media font let go if they want to cruel someone. We have corruption in the Government and Police but that's ok they are our leaders who set the example.

Disagree, he should be ostracized for being homophobic. To many people use this religon shit as an excuse. Just cause some merkin wrote it down hundreds or thousands of years ago doesn't mean it is infallible. You can find versus in the bible that will tell you if a man rapes a woman he has to pay her father compensation and marry her and never leave her and its all good. Its ancient garbage.
The Bible has this ripper about how to deal with sodomy...

Lot prepared a feast for them, complete with fresh bread made without yeast, and they ate. But before they retired for the night, all the men of Sodom, young and old, came from all over the city and surrounded the house. They shouted to Lot, "Where are the men who came to spend the night with you? Bring them out to us so we can have sex with them!" So Lot stepped outside to talk to them, shutting the door behind him. "Please, my brothers," he begged, "don't do such a wicked thing. Look, I have two virgin daughters. Let me bring them out to you, and you can do with them as you wish. But please, leave these men alone, for they are my guests and are under my protection."
Genesis 19:1-11

Slippery Morris

I can't believe how many Dragons fans are against this (especially on Facebook) when Saints signed Russell Packer who did something much worse than Folau. Also JDB could potential be sent to jail for a serious crime. They are far more worse compared to Folau who made stupid comments on Social Media.

If anything our club and sponsors will get a heap more exposure as he will have so much attention throughout the season waiting for him to slip up. Only thing is it will pose as a risk to them if he slips up. Imagine all the ads coming up to his first NRL game? It will be more about Folau than the NRL just as it was SBW when he returned.

FlameThrower

Back on topic, interesting that StGeorgeBank has stated they’ll stay with Dragons if we pursue Israel. That may indicate all of this has been in the works for a while.
I don’t like our chances of the nrl signing off on this though, unless there is a one strike rule clause and he is banished forever if he trips up.
Also finally, I must say some of the posts on here at attempted humour are pretty poor. It’s ok it seems to make joke about him and gay parlours, meanwhile other people on here are frothing at the mouth, just with the suggestion of his name. Double standards guys.
Anyway.....never a dull moment being a Dragons fan....

Prometheus

I can't believe how many Dragons fans are against this (especially on Facebook) when Saints signed Russell Packer who did something much worse than Folau. Also JDB could potential be sent to jail for a serious crime. They are far more worse compared to Folau who made stupid comments on Social Media.

Plenty of us weren't happy about Packer being allowed back in the game either..

As for De Belin, he is entitled to the presumption of innocence until proven guilty. We should reserve judgement until the judicial process has run its course.

BLM01

I have friends who would pay admission just to see him get belted and hopefully sustain a bad injury.

These are mum and dad types as well, no gaydar, but they know a f**kwit when they see one.
Yet again Proving he has polarised people and will still bring people through the gate for whatever the reason or whatever you think about him which = $$$$ and the Dragons are hoping that also = winning games.

The balls in the NRL and Commissions court now where they make a decision on potential income and attention it brings to the game or they appease and avoid potential backlash from the vocal and follow what is perceived only by some the right thing to do.

Why did Catalans sign him if it was so wrong that he plays football again here or there?
Was not his initial messages going out to the world to read.
If it is not the St George Dragons it will be someone else, somewhere that are OK with it until he can’t play anymore.

R&WTILLIDIE

The Bible has this ripper about how to deal with sodomy...

Lot prepared a feast for them, complete with fresh bread made without yeast, and they ate. But before they retired for the night, all the men of Sodom, young and old, came from all over the city and surrounded the house. They shouted to Lot, "Where are the men who came to spend the night with you? Bring them out to us so we can have sex with them!" So Lot stepped outside to talk to them, shutting the door behind him. "Please, my brothers," he begged, "don't do such a wicked thing. Look, I have two virgin daughters. Let me bring them out to you, and you can do with them as you wish. But please, leave these men alone, for they are my guests and are under my protection."
Genesis 19:1-11

And this is the gibberish that Folau promotes? The bloke needs to take a good hard look at himself