Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

For Eels fans only.

FAVOURITE ALL TIME EELS GAME: 1981 Grand final.

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: 1981 Grand final

ALL TIME TRY: Eric Grothes 1983 semi final try against the dogs.

WORST GAME: St George game - Parranmatta stadium 2004

ALL TIME PLAYER: Peter Sterling

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: Peter Johnston early 90's on Fenech

FAVOURITE EELS COACH: Jack Gibson

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: Eric Grothe Jnr's try V Penrith 1999

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: all my eels jerseys

MEMORABILLIA: signed 81,82,83 sqaud framed replica jersey.

BEST SIGNING:Mick Cronin [1976]

WORST DEPARTURE: Jamie Lyon [2004]

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET:peter Wynn

FAVOURITE CURRENT PLAYER: Mark Riddell

I'm a baby in terms of rugby league and Parramatta (I only started in 2000) so I'll try to limit my answers to what I know.

eelavation said:
FAVOURITE ALL TIME EELS GAME: Eels V Cronulla 2003 hehe

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: Reaching the 2001 GF as Minor Premiers by MILES

ALL TIME TRY: I can't remember who it was against. It was 2001, at Parra Stadium. Someome made a break, passed it, then that guy passed it I think to Burt, who passed it to Jt who kicked for the corner and Vaealiki I think came from out of nowhere to score. WOW!

ALL TIME PLAYER: Probably Hindmarsh now (but I've seen a little bit of Price, and he was an inspiration. The Bear wasn't bad either)

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: Wagon's hit on Williamson, Vella's hit on Puletua, Hindmarsh's hit on ???

FAVOURITE EELS COACH: Gibson

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: 74-4 thrashing :D

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: all my jerseys, caps, scarves, inflatble hands, watches, sunnies, beanies and shorts

MEMORABILLIA: signed inflatable hand with most of the 2001 crew on it

BEST SIGNING: IMHO Riddell

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET: Vella. What a funny guy

FAVOURITE CURRENT PLAYER: I've got a soft spot for Micky V. I want to see him do well

eels_fan

Mine are all modern answers cos i aint old enough to recollect our glory days of the 80's unfortunately!!

FAVOURITE ALL TIME EELS GAME: Eels V Dogs @ Parra (cant remember the year prob 2000 and there was a massive storm that night, pj kicked a field goal in the first half even tho we were losing) think the game ended in a draw

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: 2001 GF Qualifier - finally after falling one game short 3 years running we won!! we'll forget about the next week tho

ALL TIME TRY: Lots of em in 2001, Hindy's 90m dash and Grothe's V Manly this year

WORST GAME: V Bulldogs in GF Qualifier when we blew a 18-2 lead in 9mins

ALL TIME PLAYER: Nathan Hindmarsh

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: not sure...prob one of Hindy's

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: v Roosters this year when looked like our season may be back on track (WRONG) and when JT broke all time point scoring record v North QLD (68-0 i believe)

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: every jersey we've had. fully Signed big league program from when i got to go into the sheds after a game

MEMORABILLIA: 2000.2001 and 2003 signed footballs

BEST SIGNING: hoping it will be Morrison or Riddell

WORST DEPARTURE: Lyon by far

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET: Jim Dymock

FAVOURITE CURRENT PLAYER: Hindy and Petersen

FAVOURITE ALL TIME EELS GAME: Parra v Norths semi-final for the sheer brutality of the forward pack.

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: 1986 Grand Final

ALL TIME PLAYER: Paul Taylor

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: PJ Marsh on Steve Carter in 2000 Semi-Final at Aussie Stadium.

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: Brett Kenny and the Eels upsetting Breat Britain on tour.

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: Legend's Jersey signed by Bert.

MEMORABILLIA: Signed and Framed Ray Price picture, Bert, Sterlo and Price Framed picture, Jerseys, Balls, Signed Presentation Dinner Program, Training singlet signed by Sterlo, Legend Jersey signed by Bert..... the list is endless. I love my Eels.

BEST SIGNING: Jack Gibson

WORST DEPARTURE: Pricey and The Crow

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET: Ken Thornett, Mick Cronin and Bob O'Reilly - gentlemen one and all.

FAVOURITE CURRENT PLAYER: Hindy and Deano

Pazza

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: 2000 semi final verse the Roosters

ALL TIME TRY: Pat Richards verse Melbourne 2001, so many passes, pure magic

WORST GAME: 2001 GF

ALL TIME PLAYER: Jim Dymock

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: Adam Peek on Andrew Johns

FAVOURITE EELS COACH: Brian Smith (ive never seen them coached under anyone else)

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: Parramattatude 2001

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: 2001 eels jersey

MEMORABILLIA: n/a

BEST SIGNING: Brad Drew

WORST DEPARTURE: Marsh

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET: Nathan Cayless

FAVOURITE CURRENT PLAYER: Cayless and Hindmarsh

The Engineers Room

FAVOURITE ALL TIME EELS GAME: Eels Vs Brisbane 2001 in round 14 I think

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: My first game I went to at the stadium

ALL TIME TRY: Too many to pick

WORST GAME: Brisbane 1992 or 93, we led 14-0 at halftime and got done 60-14

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: Peter Johnston early 90's on Fenech (I agree)

FAVOURITE EELS COACH: Ron Hilditch

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: Fui Fui's first home game in premmys.

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: all my eels jerseys and my beany.

MEMORABILLIA: I don't have anything that is noteable.

BEST SIGNING: Peter Sterling

WORST DEPARTURE: PJ Marsh

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET: Can't remember actually meeting any apart from Dallas Johnston.

FAVOURITE CURRENT PLAYER: Luke Burt

FAVOURITE ALL TIME EELS GAME: Whooping Great Britain's ass!

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: 1986 Grand final, sitting there stunned when we beat Brisbane to make the 2001 GF and that whole week that followed.

ALL TIME PLAYER: Stu Galbraith, seconded by Jason Smith

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: David Kidwell on Robbie Beckett

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: I've already said GB, so I'll say when Kusto kicked the field goal to beat Penrith and I nearly kissed the copper.

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: eWo shirt

MEMORABILLIA: Jason Taylor's sock from when he broke the record v Cowboys 2001

BEST SIGNING: I believe it will be Glenn Morrison

WORST DEPARTURE: Ian Hindmarsh

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET: Most of em are good blokes, but I'll say Stan Jurd.

FAVOURITE CURRENT PLAYER: Luke Burt but I got a feeling Morrison might change my mind :) I'm getting a liking for McKinnon too, the champ, and Muzza will always be one of my favourites of all time.

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
i too, am a bubba in terms of past history of the eels, please forgive my modern replies ;-)

FAVOURITE ALL TIME EELS GAME: 2001 qualifier vs Brisvegas

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: being in NZ to watch them play, or spending madmondays with the boys

ALL TIME TRY: Eric Grothe at parra stadium vs penrith 1999 when he fended chasers off for 70metres and collapsed over the tryline

WORST GAME: Last years First Division exit from the finals - so many boys to say goodbye to

ALL TIME PLAYER: Daniel Irvine 8)

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: get back to me on this one

FAVOURITE EELS COACH: Haydn Knowles (Strength and conditioning COACH)

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: The old North Hill crowd going off and chanting throughout the whole game, closely followed by lightening hitting the light post during that doggies game

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: eels on wheels hat - james hardie jersey with scotty mahons number on the back

MEMORABILLIA: fully signed '03 training jersey

BEST SIGNING: the doggies four

WORST DEPARTURE: the core of last years first division team. (bubsy, wheels, boydy, steve, wille t......etc etc)

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET: All of my boys! :D

FAVOURITE CURRENT PLAYER: Deano and Burty

Utey

What a good thread. :clap:

FAVOURITE ALL TIME EELS GAME: 2003 Parra vs Cowboys at home

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: Being in the crowd all through the 2001 season.

ALL TIME TRY: Eric Grothe's try vs Brisbane this year at Brisbane a footrace with his ex team mate Stuart Kelly.

WORST GAME: Round 1 2004 against Dogs.

ALL TIME PLAYER: Brett Kenny

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: Mckinnons shoulder charge on Pritchard to save a certain try.

FAVOURITE EELS COACH: Smithy, many ppl dont like him but his a very smart man.

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: The crowd urupting during the Penrith vs Parra at home, 2004. Trying to chant louder than Penrith.

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: 2004 Jersey with Kennys signature on the back

MEMORABILLIA: 80's Jersey, 2001-2003 Jersey, 2004 Jersey, 80's week Jersey, 2004 Squad signed Hat, 1 fully signed Parra flag, 1 2001 logo flag, 2004 season ticket holders scarf, Parra Jacket, Parra Shirts X 5, DVD's, Signed Framed poster of "The Natural" Brett Kenny.

BEST SIGNING: PJ Marsh for the 2nd time and the resigning of Hindy!

WORST DEPARTURE: Lyon :evil:

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET: They are all pretty good but Kenny is the best.

FAVOURITE CURRENT PLAYER: Hindy or Grothe Jr

Rylesy

eelavation said:

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: 1981 Grand final

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: Peter Johnston early 90's on Fenech

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: Eric Grothe Jnr's try V Penrith 1999

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: all my eels jerseys

MEMORABILLIA: signed 81,82,83 sqaud framed replica jersey.

BEST SIGNING:Mick Cronin [1976]

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET:peter Wynn

FAVOURITE CURRENT PLAYER: Mark Riddell

WORST GAME: St George game - Parranmatta stadium 2004 ...........

C'mon mate, why would you say that! Best game for a long time! God I wish it was that easy to beat you guys! That night all of my dreams came true! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Phillips

FAVOURITE ALL TIME EELS GAME: Parramatta vs Manly in 1997, John Simon kicked 3 field goals and also against the Warriors in 2001 in thier first finals match and verses the Roosters in 2001, last round and we beat them by a point, i was thier with my dad who is an Eels fan and also my Uncle and Cousin who are Roosters fans. hahaha

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: Beating Brisbane in 2001, to qualify for the grand final

ALL TIME TRY: John Simon's try verses Manly in 97 & Jamie Lyon's try against the Warriors in 2001 & Grothe Jnrs countless long range tries

WORST GAME: Parramatta vs Bulldogs, round 1 2004

ALL TIME PLAYER: John Simon

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: Clinton Schifcofske, cant remember who he tackled but he picked them up and carryed them over the sideline :lol:

FAVOURITE EELS COACH: Brian Smith

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: Watching Parramatta beat North Sydney on my first trip to Parramatta stadium with my dad and my best mate

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: Parramatta jersey signed by Peter Sterling

MEMORABILLIA: a Parramatta football signed by Jason Taylor & the Jack Gibsons Best Ever Parramatta Team signed poster, its probably called something else but it has pictures of Sterling, Kenny, Grothe, Ella, Price, Cronin, Edge etc etc and they are signed by the players themself (plus, really its my dads ;-) )

BEST SIGNING: Glenn Morrison

WORST DEPARTURE: Jamie Lyon, little f**king merkin and David Solomona :cry:

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET: Peter Sterling

FAVOURITE CURRENT PLAYER: McKinnon, Grothe & Morrison

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: Clinton Schifcofske, cant remember who he tackled but he picked them up and carryed them over the sideline

I remember clinton doing that to Michael Hancock from the Broncos to save a certain try - which is a damn fine effort cos Hancock was a big bugger and played lots of rep footy.

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: Bret Kennys 2nd try of 1981 GFl

ALL TIME TRY: As above

WORST GAME: 1998 semi vs dogs after leading 18-2 with 10 to go :(

ALL TIME PLAYER: Ray Price

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: Any one of Paul Taylors tackles (He played fullback a lot, smaller than Hodgo or McKinnon :shock: )

FAVOURITE EELS COACH: Jack Gibson or Brian Smith, I cant split the two ;-)

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: 1st half and the 18-0 halftime scoreline vs the Steelers early 90's, when we were bottom 4 side, and they were a top 4 side. Best half of footy Ive witnessed, was so perfect. We just won that game something like 30-28 :p

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: 1980 jersey with "TheParraboy" written on the back, it is unwearable these days cause of it being used and abused. (Used to wear it to bed :oops: )

MEMORABILLIA: as above :lol:

BEST SIGNING: Paul Stringer I think

WORST DEPARTURE: Jamie Lyon

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET: Brian Smith

FAVOURITE CURRENT PLAYER: Hindy

PJ Marshal

FAVOURITE ALL TIME EELS GAME: Parra Owning the Poms in 92

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: Meeting Hurriflatch

ALL TIME TRY: Hindys effort against Canberra at Parra in 00 where he smashed mullins out of the way

WORST GAME: 2001 Grand Final

ALL TIME PLAYER: Brett Kenny

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: One i can remeber well is McKinnon smashing Pritchard

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: Havnt been there to see a game yet

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: My original 1992 eels jersey, the first of many

MEMORABILLIA: as above and signed 2003 7's champions jersey

BEST SIGNING: The original big 4

WORST DEPARTURE: Jamie Lyon and David Solomona

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET: David Solomona

FAVOURITE CURRENT PLAYER: Hindy and PJ

parra_princess

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: Beating Brisbane in the 2001 Grand final qualifier and the week leading up to the big one.

ALL TIME TRY: I think it was the opening game of the 2001 season for us against Penrith in the double header the ball went through about 80 sets of hands before we scored. It was geat.

WORST GAME: Any game where we got flogged at home in the last 3 years.

ALL TIME PLAYER: Hindy

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: Choc on Robbie O in the Final against Newcastle in 1999 at Parra stadium

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: The game where JT broke the all time point scoring record was good. As was those 2 games in 2003 when Witty kicked those conversions from the sidelines to steal the game.

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: The socks Lee Hopkins gave to me after the game in 03 Vs the Cowboys at home when we won on the buzzer.

MEMORABILLIA: Signed 86 Grand final photo.

BEST SIGNING: Hopefully after we win the GF in 05 i can attribute that to a new signing and answer the question then.

WORST DEPARTURE: Andrew Ryan, although he left for no reason and i'm sure he has absolutely no regrets now leaving out club.

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET: Hindy

FAVOURITE CURRENT PLAYER: Hindy

FAVOURITE ALL TIME EELS GAME: Parra beating the Roosters 32-8 in the 2000 SF at the SFS, when Richards scored 2 tries

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: 2001 season, except the Grand Final.

ALL TIME TRY: any try in 2001, but the one that stands out is Hodgson's try first try in 2001 against Penrith.

WORST GAME: Vs Dragons, 04.

ALL TIME PLAYER: Brett Kenny and also Nathan Hindmarsh

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: Too many to choose, but the best one is Wagon's hit on Craig Field in 2000

FAVOURITE EELS COACH: not Brian Smith

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: Semi Final vs Newcastle, 1999. and also beating St.George in 2001 in front of 25,000

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: the jersey I wore while watching the 86 GF on TV.

MEMORABILLIA: signed team photo 2001.

BEST SIGNING: Jason Taylor, but will be Glen Morrison next year

WORST DEPARTURE: any of Cleal's mob who Smith let go. :x

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET: Mark Laurie, any player on Fans Day 2002

FAVOURITE CURRENT PLAYER: Nathan Hindmarsh, PJ Marsh

wittyz chick

ok im a young one so i never got to live through the wonderful 80's like some of you did

FAVOURITE ALL TIME EELS GAME: umm Cronulla last yr 74 -4 or Roosters this yr 26 - 12

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: making it through to the Grand Final in 2001 just not the Grand Final itself

ALL TIME TRY: Solos against the Tigers in 2001 (almost length of the field?)...i never got to see it but apparantly he almost stopped halfway through his run to catch his breath or something. or Grothes against Manly

WORST GAME: Grand Final or Dragons 04.

ALL TIME PLAYER: Hindy n Bubsy (jst like Jess)

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: Wadey against Pritchard :D

FAVOURITE EELS COACH: smithy was the only one i saw but dad reckons Gibson was kool

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: Roosters, Manly both 04 or Cronulla 03

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: my jersey signed by all the squad (i think 03 or 04)

MEMORABILLIA:

BEST SIGNING: PJ Marsh...never should hav left!!!!!

WORST DEPARTURE: Lyon...or Witty :cry:

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET: Witty :D n Bubsy :D n Bobcat

FAVOURITE CURRENT PLAYER: it WAS witty but now Hindy n PJ n Ash

MitchEel

Ive only been watching since 2000 but this is from what ive seen and my dad (better known as newmanj) has shown me

FAVOURITE ALL TIME EELS GAME: Parra 52-12 manly :lol: :lol: :lol:

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: 2001 season

ALL TIME TRY: My Dad showed me the 1983 grand final, Grothes try was a screamer.

ALL TIME PLAYER: Kenny

WORST GAME: Dragons 2004 :(

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: ?????

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: Tie Between that game we came from behind in 2003 against the warriors or JT kicking that goal to break the record

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: Dads 1984 jersey

MEMORABILLIA: Personally signed JT poster of him kicking the goal to break the record.

BEST SIGNING: Haven't seen many good ones so i'll say Riddell

WORST DEPARTURE: Ian Hindmarsh or Jamie Lyon

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET: Nathan Hindmarsh

FAVOURITE CURRENT PLAYER: Nathan Hindmarsh

Nikki

Ive only been around since '88 so unfortunatly I missed all the glory days, but here goes..

FAVOURITE ALL TIME EELS GAME: The Brisbane semi where we made it into the Grand Final

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: As above. Never been prouder of my boys

ALL TIME TRY: Eric Grothes Jnr against Penrith (I am hopless with dates and stuff)

WORST GAME: Would have to be the '01 GF

ALL TIME PLAYER: Eric Grothe Snr. Does well on a guitar too!!!

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: Pfft!!! I dunno. Just as long as someone got hammered

FAVOURITE EELS COACH: Who ever gets us to another GF!!!!

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: Gettin to sit in the "Best seats in the house" at the Warriors '04 game

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: Would have to be my Parraletic jumper. Dont really know why it still so sentimental tho

MEMORABILLIA: oh god, too much to mention. At the moment its my Signed training Jersey that Hindy gave me. But the second it is done it will be my framed Eels jersey with individual signed shots of every player

BEST SIGNING: Nathan Hindmarsh [1996-97]

WORST DEPARTURE: Toss up with Ian Hindmarsh and Bobcat

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET: Danny Crnkovich

hybrideel

FAVOURITE ALL TIME EELS GAME: Any of the premierships

GREATEST MOMENT AS A SUPPORTER: Any of the premierships

ALL TIME TRY: Grothe senior against canterbury

WORST GAME: most of 04's games

ALL TIME PLAYER: Kenny

BEST EELS TACKLE ON AN OPPONENT: Johnstone on Sirro

FAVOURITE EELS COACH: Gibson/monie

FAVOURITE PARRA STADIUM MOMENT: Stadium opening against Saints

MOST TREASURED EELS CLOTHING: First ever jersey i got when i was 2

MEMORABILLIA: 01, 03, 04 signed jersey. eels legends signed shirt, a few signed footballs and hats. a 50 year anniversary picture

BEST SIGNING: Bringing Grothe Jr back where he belongs

WORST DEPARTURE: Hodgson, Vaealiki

FAVOURITE EEL YOU'VE MET: Kenny