Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

For those interested....

Storming Norman

F*ck off rorter. You apologised yet for your part in the sham? Or are you still crying that Inglis might have to give up ownership of the QEII.

When you pinched Inglis from Bowraville, did you think he was a junior? Or is that how you claim he was a junior?

What part did I have part in the rort? As I Said I only knew of it Thursday Morning in a office meeting.

He was sign in 2002 by the storm from Bowraville, knowing hes DOB that would make him 15 which classifies him as a junior.

So what about Cronk and Slater then?

Come back when you have something decent to say.

LESStar58

Cronk, Slater and SMith all played in the colts for Brisbane Norths who were Storm's feeder club for many years because there was no NSW or QLD Cup side representing Melbourne, Norman.

Storming Norman

Cronk, Slater and SMith all played in the colts for Brisbane Norths who were Storm's feeder club for many years because there was no NSW or QLD Cup side representing Melbourne, Norman.

I understand that Les, I have taken Smith out as he had a Broncos Scholarship before joining the Colts.

Also Melbourne Storm had a share in the running of the North Devils during that time so yes News Ltd owned a share in North Devils thru the Storm

My Point is Billy Slater and Cronk now, Loudstrat?

Didgi

OK. Parra will buy Thurston, Watmough, Jennings and SBW, ring up Gallop and say - "Gee we overspent by $1 million" - lose all their points for 2010, but win the next 3 straight.

I could not bear for my club to endure such hardship.

Stop being a Storm apologist and wake up Brutus.

Why would you want the last 3? Oh, and keeping your dirty filthy rottin pickin li'l hands off the first ;-)

big_matt

Was he the chief orchestrator?

The Storm club has apologised a number of times over the last week, why should he continue to do so for something he himself wasn't responsible for?

This blame game is getting to be a tiring witchhunt-like load of sh*t.

For once mate i agree with you 110%. some people on here need to go out and make some friends instead of spending 24/7 bagging storm players who may well be innocent.

Just like Hindmarsh, Mortimer, Smith, Hayne, Burt, Tahu, Poore, Moimoi, Reddy or Shackleton hey Misty?
Check our cap mate. And stop defending the $torm - especially employee $Storming Rorter. Cronk and Smith were from QLD - forget this crap about how they made them superstars. It's not as if they just picked 4 random kids from Bowraville, Queensland was it?

Maybe you think like Inglis. "Hello, My name is Billy Slater and I come from Innisfail, Victoria"

WTF?

They didn't make their name in QLD you fool.

They played junior footy in the QRL and were fed to Melbourne through feeder arrangements - since then, Melbourne have developed the players into what they are.

Yes, they're over the cap, but yours is one of the most nonsensical arguments I've ever seen.

You need a bex and a lie down, you're going absolutely rabid over this.

Storming Norman

Check our cap mate. And stop defending the $torm - especially employee $Storming Rorter. Cronk and Smith were from QLD - forget this crap about how they made them superstars. It's not as if they just picked 4 random kids from Bowraville, Queensland was it?

Maybe you think like Inglis. "Hello, My name is Billy Slater and I come from Innisfail, Victoria"

Drugs are bad my friend.

I am hurt just as bad as you but I have to earn my money somewhere and I am not going to throw my job in because of one person calling me a rorter. I knew nothing about it yet you have it in for me.

I have copped it as a worker and as a supporter.

Sorry mate - know you have to feed your family. But understand our anger - anything less than the full penalty that has been thrown at your mob - and the jettisoning of players - is totally unacceptable.

This crap about pooor Billy not getting to play with poor Shameron - tell that to Mateo and Inu, or Hannent, Stagg and Eastwood at Brisbane.

WTF?

They didn't make their name in QLD you fool.

They played junior footy in the QRL and were fed to Melbourne through feeder arrangements - since then, Melbourne have developed the players into what they are.

Yes, they're over the cap, but yours is one of the most nonsensical arguments I've ever seen.

You need a bex and a lie down, you're going absolutely rabid over this.

Yes, Melbourne did everything. Taught them how to run, kick, pass, tackle....

With talent like that any club could have done the same. Why should Melbourne have the sob story just because they won the race to the signature?

They don't have the "sob story", but in a sense Gus's theory about them being the ones who fostered the talent is correct. There's no telling if these players would've developed in the same way had they gone to different clubs.

Storming Norman

Sorry mate - know you have to feed your family. But understand our anger - anything less than the full penalty that has been thrown at your mob - and the jettisoning of players - is totally unacceptable.

This crap about pooor Billy not getting to play with poor Shameron - tell that to Mateo and Inu, or Hannent, Stagg and Eastwood at Brisbane.

I accept the penalites do not get me wrong. I do not accept how NRL made it decision which is totally different way to the Canterbury saga. The penalities was accepted by the NRL board 48 hours after the announcement however the bulldogs saga, it was accepted by the board.

Storm is a one team city club but with strong family and club culture. You go to a Storm Training session, they are welcoming.

Cronk, Smith and Slater have been playing with each other for nearly 10 years

gronkathon

The NRL learnt lessons from the Canterbury issue and have applied those lessons to the Storms case though Storming Norman. As harsh as the penalties may appear to some it is a sign that this administration learns from it's mistakes which is a positive that can be taken from this

Noa

The NRL learnt lessons from the Canterbury issue and have applied those lessons to the Storms case though Storming Norman. As harsh as the penalties may appear to some it is a sign that this administration learns from it's mistakes which is a positive that can be taken from this

He went out the back and made his decision with an ex-referee and two anonymous auditors who should have NO say in any decsions made on the game.

I agree with some of the penalties but are your telling me thats the way to run a multi-million competition

Greenbits

People seem to be morphing two issues here.

The rules in regards to the salary cap are clear. The Storm deliberately and covertly broke them.

Whether those rules are just is an entire other issue. Whether there should be provision to keep juniors under the cap is an entire other issue. Whether the salary cap should be set higher, have space for marquee signings or thrid party agreements are entirely seperate issues.

The fact is, the Storm deliberately broke the rules as they are currently set out. Their punishment is just.

chrisD

The Storm kept together a team of superstars by being cheats. That their punishment should allow them to retain their superstar team is completely unacceptable. Thankfully it seems Hartigan gets it.