Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

forevermakingthreadafterthread

IF THE CLUBS AND PLAYERS CAN BE FINED SO SHOULD THE NRL AND THE REF BOSS AND THE REFS BE FINED TOO

I agree re Turner.

Brown does need more mins.

Grevs is better off the bench.

Our back row depth isn't the best though.

Goodwin is better at centre.

Dogmatix

There is nothing wrong with Keary laughing after a Cowboys try. It shows he has a sense of humour in the face of adversity which is a good quality to have

Maguire wants to go to the Knights? That's news to me. When did that happen?
The rest I think came from Telecrap. BS stories. Like, they think McInnes is Souths
future captain after he scored a few tries.

Madge didn't want to go to Newcastle.

John Lee caused trouble and got one of his contacts to ring Newcastle and say Madge was interested in coming there. Madge wasn't interested though. The Telegrap made a big story about it. There was no truth to it.

CAFPOW

Actually Keary was smiling. I think he knows the side is in trouble and it was going to
be a long night for him. I just realised now, it was a nervous smile.

There was a moment in the 2nd half where a gap the size of Qld opened up in front of
him, with his speed I thought he would run and score. Instead he threw a long pass to
Auva'a and there were 3 Cowboys waiting for him.

I think why many on this forum Keary was one of the best last night, it's because he
made 1 long run after the Cowboys stopped tackling when they thought we knocked on.
That moment is not a reason why Keary is one of the best.

alien

Let's be realistic.

We won't be beating Brisbane. They are playing better than the Cowboys.

what happened to you and shadow backing the team every week??? i see how you both are! not true souths fans! i'm in shock! [-:)lol:

DC_fan

Maguire wants to go to the Knights? That's news to me. When did that happen?
The rest I think came from Telecrap. BS stories. Like, they think McInnes is Souths
future captain after he scored a few tries.

Since South Sydney's diabolical loss to Brisbane last Thursday night, talk has intensified about the possibility of the premiership-winning coach rescuing the troubled Knights.

Understand this: it's not idle speculation, despite expected denials.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...akes-sense-20150831-gjbfi6.html#ixzz461mM8Tyl
Follow us: @smh on Twitter | sydneymorningherald on Facebook

DiegoNT

Can no longer deny that there are no problems within the club.
People on here are picking on the 'dud players' but is it really there fault? Guys like gray, auva'a, clark, Turner, cam/cook (depending on where you stand on the hooker debate), brown, tyrell etc are on low money and are basically role players, and to a certain extent are doing there roles. Those guys combined probably only take up $1.2m on the salary cap, getting rid of those players may give us cap room to but 2 first graders (and 4 rookies on minimum wage to fill the roster back upto 25 players).
We are getting killed in the middle. We have roughly $2m of our cap taken up by burgess brothers ( sam 800k , george 800k tom 400k)
And we are definitely not getting our moneys worth. Sam has been ok, but we are paying james graham level money for scott bolton level performances. Twins have been diabolical since the gf, only occasionally putting in a performance we know they are capable of. Sams return hasn't had the desired effect on the field it's probably had a worse effect off the field. Sams interview on Steelo about players having to leave for him to return was cringe worthy, he had no remorse that others were so effected by his return. Walker and mcqueen were popular players within the group and tim grant was as professional as they come, they having to leave for sam had to lower morale. The way keary attacked sam for not sticking up for his fellow players during Crowes tirade speaks volumes. Making Sam captain at the moment may be a disastrous decision.
Which brings me onto G.I. this is the guy who has been the driving force to our sucess in the last few years. He had been consistently great between 2012-2014 (as opposed to burgess who was inconsistent and really only had that 10 game run at the back end of 2014) and even last year he was by far our best player despite him being down by his lofty standards. He is another high paid player and we obviously aren't getting the best out of him as he feels he has to do hit ups because forwards aren't performing (where is our forward leader) and you can clearly see their is something wrong. He is clearly frustrated and heavily marked every time he gets the ball. All this talk about Sam and G.I not getting alomg may be paper talk but where there's smoke there's fire and it's clear our team is split and that there are divisions in our team.
So while people may blame the usual punching bags, cam/cook, auvaa, goodwin, keary, tyrell etc i really think we need to have a look at the effect the burgess brothers are having on this team

souths_pride

I think that we are more than capable of making the 8 - we've got the playing roster of a top 5-6 team. The biggest problem we have is getting the right combinations of players out on the park so that players can perform to the best of their ability. I don't think we have been doing this as yet and so our form and confidence has dropped off. I personally believe that if we fail to make the 8 this year then we need to start ask serious questions of the coach and maybe move him on if a replacement can be found.

souths_pride

Can no longer deny that there are no problems within the club.
People on here are picking on the 'dud players' but is it really there fault? Guys like gray, auva'a, clark, Turner, cam/cook (depending on where you stand on the hooker debate), brown, tyrell etc are on low money and are basically role players, and to a certain extent are doing there roles. Those guys combined probably only take up $1.2m on the salary cap, getting rid of those players may give us cap room to but 2 first graders (and 4 rookies on minimum wage to fill the roster back upto 25 players).
We are getting killed in the middle. We have roughly $2m of our cap taken up by burgess brothers ( sam 800k , george 800k tom 400k)
And we are definitely not getting our moneys worth. Sam has been ok, but we are paying james graham level money for scott bolton level performances. Twins have been diabolical since the gf, only occasionally putting in a performance we know they are capable of. Sams return hasn't had the desired effect on the field it's probably had a worse effect off the field. Sams interview on Steelo about players having to leave for him to return was cringe worthy, he had no remorse that others were so effected by his return. Walker and mcqueen were popular players within the group and tim grant was as professional as they come, they having to leave for sam had to lower morale. The way keary attacked sam for not sticking up for his fellow players during Crowes tirade speaks volumes. Making Sam captain at the moment may be a disastrous decision.
Which brings me onto G.I. this is the guy who has been the driving force to our sucess in the last few years. He had been consistently great between 2012-2014 (as opposed to burgess who was inconsistent and really only had that 10 game run at the back end of 2014) and even last year he was by far our best player despite him being down by his lofty standards. He is another high paid player and we obviously aren't getting the best out of him as he feels he has to do hit ups because forwards aren't performing (where is our forward leader) and you can clearly see their is something wrong. He is clearly frustrated and heavily marked every time he gets the ball. All this talk about Sam and G.I not getting alomg may be paper talk but where there's smoke there's fire and it's clear our team is split and that there are divisions in our team.
So while people may blame the usual punching bags, cam/cook, auvaa, goodwin, keary, tyrell etc i really think we need to have a look at the effect the burgess brothers are having on this team
Just because a team is losing doesn't mean there are internal problems. You've got to remember that this is a close competition and everyone is pretty much capable of beating everyone now. I'm not using that as a justification for our poor performances, but to suggest that our poor performances are more down to poor form than any internal problems. Lets put things in perspective - we've only lost 2 consecutive games, not 20. Remember when we won our opening two games by large margins? I didn't hear any talk of internal problems then. Its funny how these rumors always seem to crop up every time a team is out of form.

In terms of the form of players, in particular the Burgess twins, I agree with you - their performances haven't been up to standard. However, to suggest that it is down to internal issues is way off the mark. As for Sam's form, I actually think he has been our best player despite not being fully fit. People seem to forget how good he was in the opening two rounds despite not having played the game in over a year!

Also, to suggest that his return has lowered morale is crazy. For instance, you suggest that Sam had no remorse about players leaving to accommodate him, which is simply not true. Sam actually called Chris McQueen personally and told him how sorry he was to see him leave. Moreover, I think letting McQueen leave was actually the correct decision as he had been out of form and had been steadily getting worse for 2 years! Proof of this is evident in the fact that he has already been benched by the Titans - one of the more ordinary teams in the competitions and we are not even half way through the season. Similarly, Dylan Walker been let go may have been convenient but it was not purely because of Sam. The club had been having problems with Dylan for a while and felt that the prescription medication saga was the last straw. He also hardly performed well in 2015 despite being one of our most highly talent youngsters. In any case, letting players go to accommodate others is nothing new; it goes on all the time. The Melbourne Storm have been doing it for years so they could accommodate the big three and Newcastle did it so they could keep Andrew Johns. So it is important to realise that we were not doing anything different or unique in letting players go to accommodate the best forward in the game.

Also, the Luke Keary incident was hardly Sam's fault; Russell Crowe should never have attacked him personally in front of the whole playing group (even though his criticisms were clear justified. Moreover, if anyone is to blame for not speaking up, it is Greg Inglis; he is the team captain and therefore it is his responsibility to defend his team mates. On the subject of Greg Inglis, I agree he hasn't been 'performing' well but as I have said before, that is more down to the fact that his half and five-eight aren't integrating him into the play; that is their job! One of the advantages of playing Sutton a five-eight is that he was excellent at straightening up our attack, drawing defenders in and then passing to Greg Inglis. It is no coincidence that Inglis played arguably his best footy when Sutton was at five-eight. I'm not saying moving Sutton to five-eight is the answer, merely that we need our halves to simply take the ball to the line, draw defenders in and pass the ball to Inglis.

foreverinourshadow

r20 i think alien felt guilty when he picked the other team,then we persuaded him to back flip and join us picking only the bunny's, alien is having a guilt kick back i reckon r20 he is off the rails a tad at present i told him to have a cuppa of calming green tea hopefully he does mate.he knows we were not happy that he picked an infidel team he knows it unsouth sydney the guilt got to him r20 thank god he saw the light.

foreverinourshadow

once we get sutto and musgrove and aj back fit and drop cam and tyrrell to the bears and use cook as no9 permanently with carter as our back up hooker as ive said months ago but carter has to be in our 17 always we will be ok from then on.goodwin has to be in the centres with auvaa,hunt and oldfield can fight it out for the other wing spot unless hunt stays at centre with auvaa and goodwin will be the other winger with aj as our other winger.

foreverinourshadow

cam was so slow against the cows the opp number made him look pedestrian hope you can see that madge remember api and bully they were fast cam is slow and cook is fast i hope im getting thru to some of your thick heads on here am i??