Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Forum 7's Statistics Discussion

Bomber

No problems Pistol and MysteryGirl.

I hope we haven't placed the referees under any more scrutiny after the Origin game...we just thought it would be interesting to see who has marked whom and for how much...it's certainly not an implied criticism of anyone.

We've also got personal win-loss statistics for every person who has participated in the Forum sevens since 2004, for example:

Willow (Bluebags 2004-05) - P15, W11, L4 (73.33%)
Mystery Girl (Bluebags 2004-05) - P7, W4, L3 (57.14%)
Pistol (Souths 2005) - P5, W2, L3 (40.00%)

Heaps more to come, shortly!

Broncodroid

We are about done for today, I am heading to pub for Origin warmup and Bomber is entertaining his enighbours with Midnight Oil.

I am sure you can see where we are heading with team stats, we will complete by tomorrow arvo in team for Forum 7's Radio.

eloquentEEL

Top stuff guys. I've got a suggestion that would give some very interesting stats, but it would be pretty difficult and probably best to leave it until the end of the season anyway.

Bomber

I'm done.....two down and ten to go. See you tomorrow.

We're all for suggestions, eloquentEEL, just let us know what you had in mind.

eloquentEEL

was just thinking about normalising scores based on the referees' average and standard deviation stats

A fantastic read. A huge amount of effort and very detailed.

We're lucky that we still have the 2003 matches from round 4 onwards in the F7s match forum. And there are some details in the early threads here in F7s HQ.
But unfortunately, all records of 2002 are gone, unless someone can come forward with more info.

With the F7s radio getting some momentum, and stats now being done, it seems like we have some keen people on board. The F7s comp is looking like it'll be in good hands in the future.

eloquentEEL

it basically refers to adjusting all scores based on how that referee's average and standard deviation* stats over the season compare with other referees. This would give a better platform for comparing scores as some referees have higher averages than others whilst others have a broader range in their scores.

Standard deviation is a statistical measure of the spread of marks. Eg. scores of 84,84,85,86,86 have an extremely low standard deviation whiles scores of 75,80,84,88,93 have a much higher standard deviation.

What I'm basically getting at is adjusting each score so that it reflects what it would have received for that match from an 'average' referee.

G

gorilla

Pistol said:
Very detailed stats. A lot of work went into it. Well done.

Gorilla handed Clevo (Souths) a 92 in Round 5 against the Pirates.
Does that get me off the bottom ? :D

I think the ref's stats is don.

Looking forward to 2003 and 2004 player stats....;-)

Broncodroid

Thanks for the kind words everyone, Bomber and I (I am sure I speak for my old mate Bomber) really appreciate it and we are both happy to help the F7 community in some way.

We both hope all get something from it and we will continue to update it in the coming days, weeks and months :)

Broncodroid

Bomber

I've done my quota of teams, Broncodroid will be on later to finish off the job.

Bomber