Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Four Broncos cleared of sex assault allegations

zzzzz Snooze fest.

Can someone PM me when this thread stops being a personal and off-topic too and fro between a couple of people? Thanks.

Big Pete

Can we seriously take all the Razor posts into another thread? His posts are doing nothing but causing disruption.

I never said that.

I did say what I said in an earlier post but it was deleted.

But don't claim I said stuff when I didn't.

Liar

Razor said:
So it's ok for Hunt to "meet" 10 girls in one night, but not ok for a female to "meet" 3 guys in one night?

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showpost.php?p=4541835&postcount=874

Razor said:
Did you stalk Hunt and make a note of how many girls he f**ked that night did you?

He admitted it. If he was going to lie, he would have said that he met no girls.

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showpost.php?p=4541921&postcount=896

Razor said:
Mr Saab said:
So you assume he f**ked 10 gals thats night...ron jeremy eat your heart out.
It's not that uncommon. The fact he was boasting about it just makes him look like a sad pathetic person.

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showpost.php?p=4541987&postcount=900

Razor said:
The question the journalist asked was quite obvious in meaning. It's called context.

In everyday terms meet never means f**ked no. Never said it did. But that's what the journalist meant. Clearly without doubt. As I said, it's called context. A lot of other people in this thread thought the same thing as they posted earlier in this thread "Way to go Hunty", etc.

Doesn't take a brain surgeon to know what the journalist asked Hunt.

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showpost.php?p=4542109&postcount=914

Swiftstylez

LOL
This is all over the place,what is the topic you're pertaining to?:?

In any case,you're obviously 14 with no comprehension of the opposite sex:lol:

Guys have two types of girls,the girls they'd hit and the type they take home to mum.
In accordance with that,you will probably find women will think either gender that is involved in this kind of situation is a bit of a trollop,it's usually the men that will high five one of the boys...

Please, what are you even talking about. You are just paraphrasing what I already said. The high fiveing scenario you gave is in accordance to group sex with four football stars. I'm sure it would have been the talk of the day the next day at training had it not been sexual assault. And generally speaking, the type of woman a guy will hit is the girl that they will "take home to mum" unless they have no standards. Younger players like Karmichael aren't even thinking of the latter anyway, so wtf are you even talking about? You are obviously 30 with little experience with the opposite sex.

I'm not even going to start with your response Bartman LOL. I'm talking about in a clubbing/partying scenario anyway, not your "relationship" scenario. Three/four guys having sex with a girl is not related to a relationship/"take home to mum" situation in the slightest. This isn't even my opinion it is fact that if the girl gets laid the MAJORITY of the time it is a victory for the man, not the female. Females have choice, guys make the approach. Been clubbing lately? Notice how there is so many guys and so little girls? They have ample to choose from or to choose none at all. Its a well known fact many guys will hit anything when they are drunk.

If a girl wants to f**k four random stranger football stars in a toilet in a club that is obviously a s**t act. It is a conquest for the guys. Deal with it.

Can we seriously take all the Razor posts into another thread? His posts are doing nothing but causing disruption.
And all the trolling about things Razor might have said in the past on different unrelated issues. Thanks...

I'm not even going to start with your response Bartman LOL. I'm talking about in a clubbing/partying scenario anyway, not your "relationship" scenario. Three/four guys having sex with a girl is not related to a relationship/"take home to mum" situation in the slightest.
You're the one who mentioned taking home to mum stuff in the first place? No wonder it's not just me that thinks your answer is all over the place.

The gender role stuff about who has to ask and who gets to choose is bullsh*t, whether it's clubbing scenario or not. Generalising about gender roles never makes for convincing reasoning when discussing a particular situation.

People are people, just because you do or don't have a penis doesn't mean you have to assume a certain role. That type of thinking is where false excuses for behaviour that harms rugby league starts... oh, but they're blokes, so blokes are just like that etc - because it happens (or always has) doesn't make it rigth. Everyone should be responsible for their actions and choices, and for things like checking consent. Deal with that.

Swiftstylez

You're the one who mentioned taking home to mum stuff in the first place? No wonder it's not just me that thinks your answer is all over the place.

The gender role stuff about who has to ask and who gets to choose is bullsh*t, whether it's clubbing scenario or not. Generalising about gender roles never makes for convincing reasoning when discussing a particular situation.

People are people, just because you do or don't have a penis doesn't mean you have to assume a certain role. That type of thinking is where false excuses for behaviour that harms rugby league starts... oh, but they're blokes, so blokes are just like that etc - because it happens (or always has) doesn't make it rigth. Everyone should be responsible for their actions and choices, and for things like checking consent. Deal with that.

I'm not actually saying that group sex is right, actually, I am quite against it in a toilet in a public place. I think the Broncos players should be stood down just for that regardless of whether charges for sexual assault are made. Since when is it legal for guys to go into a females toilet and have sex? I'm just saying that the girl is the one that is made to look like a "$lut" (by females and perhaps even their friends), like the original poster questioned because of the reasons I outlined. The guys (had it not been public exposed), would have been the heroes (to their friends and most other guys) HAD IT NOT been for the sexual assault charges made against them. I don't necessarily agree with how it works, but that's how society views it.

Oh and I never brought in the phrase "take home to mum". He did as a counter-argument. To be honest, unless you are black, is it a little nauseating.

In response to that post I had not gone off tangent at all... I think the responses threw me off.

Group sex with consent in private is fine and right and legal and good luck to everybody.

Agree that it doesn't belong in a public toilet - it happens sure, but if rugby league players are involved in it it brings the game and their club/employer into disrepute. That's the issue (as well as the consent).

The difference between this and Greg Bird's situation is that charges have been laid, and Bird was caught out by his club lying to them initially about his involvement. The players in this situation haven't mislead their employer, nor do they have any charges pending so far, so I can see why they aren't stood down at this moment.

Yes, in general women who are sexually adventurous have been portrayed as s**ts, while men who are sexually adventurous are protrayed as heroes. But that doesn't mean that we have to perpetuate that. That doesn't mean that we have to fall in line with those (outdated) gender roles and double standards.

It's been good in this thread to see some people taking the whole notion of guys scoring whatever and however they can being held on a pedestal to task. And it's been good to see some people not jumping in and blaming or labelling the woman over the details of the allegations. Of course that has been mixed in with some of the usual bogan neanderthal points of view, but hey, different strokes for different folks I guess.

salivor

The difference between this and Greg Bird's situation is that charges have been laid, and Bird was caught out by his club lying to them initially about his involvement. The players in this situation haven't mislead their employer, nor do they have any charges pending so far, so I can see why they aren't stood down at this moment.

The most sensible response I've read so far. Both the players and club have been forthcoming and co-operative with the police and not a charge has been laid so far. Yet the piranhas are still circling and trying to sink the boot in.

Swiftstylez

Group sex with consent in private is fine and right and legal and good luck to everybody.

Agree that it doesn't belong in a public toilet - it happens sure, but if rugby league players are involved in it it brings the game and their club/employer into disrepute. That's the issue (as well as the consent).

Yes, in general women who are sexually adventurous have been portrayed as s**ts, while men who are sexually adventurous are protrayed as heroes. But that doesn't mean that we have to perpetuate that. That doesn't mean that we have to fall in line with those (outdated) gender roles and double standards.

It's been good in this thread to see some people taking the whole notion of guys scoring whatever and however they can being held on a pedestal to task. And it's been good to see some people not jumping in and blaming or labelling the woman over the details of the allegations. Of course that has been mixed in with some of the usual bogan neanderthal points of view, but hey, different strokes for different folks I guess.

Good post. I wonder if they are going to hold off the charges until after the NRL season, though? Do you think that if they had enough evidence to charge the players a few days before the Grand Final (if the Broncos made it) the police would make pursue it ASAP? Or will they take their circumstances into consideration? You know technically they shouldn't, but you never know. Also would the Broncos be prepared to stand them down just a few days before the Grand Final? I have a feeling that they might say that they would be dealt with harshly after the game. It's going to be interesting.

I just want to correct a couple of misunderstood perceptions here and I apologise Bartman if it offends in anyway.

Bird was stood down not because he was charged. It is because he lied to teh CEO which resulted in the CEO issuing a statement saying Bird was not involved and the ensuing speculation of a cover up. The club has acted appropriately and until Bird explains his actions and events of that day to the club he will not play. Being charged witha serious offence is not the catalyst to being stood down by a club. Take Laffacci for instance. The fact that Carney and Bird were clearly breaching the players code of conduct or behaving in an inappropriate manner is what the clubs have acted on. Legal proceeding belong in the courts jusitiction not the clubs. The clubs must always assume innocence until a court decides otherwise. In the Bronco's case they have not taken swift action under there own code of conduct. If these players have indeed agreed the incident took place, but deny rape or any other aspect of the complaint against them shoudl be irrelevant to action the club takes in realtion to player behaviour. their conduct stinks and so does the actions of the Bronco's in my opinion. If this stupidy as we have seen this year is to be stamped out teh clubs need to stand firm and take action, not sweep the issue under the carpet because action may derail a finals series.

ibeme

Apart from this occurring in a public toilet, and if reports are true, then I don't really have an issue with the players in this case. The reports would have us believe that it was consensual to the point that someone produced a camera phone. I the girl wasn't forced to do anything against her will, then I don't see how it is sexual assault, providing they stopped filming when she protested. Might have been a classless move to pull out the camera in the first place, but so is engaging in group sex in a public dunny.

Guys don't have a monopoly on being sexual predators. Girls are just as capable of making forward moves on guys, particularly when it comes to high profile sports stars. If guys did what some of these girls do when trying to hit on a football player, they'd be done for sexual assault in a heartbeat.

Razor

Stop taking those posts out of context and cutting half the discussion. El deleted the correction of what I said. So ask him, he saw it. But I never once said what you claim I did. Other people put the f**k word in, not me. Nothing like that at all.

It's other people that constantly bring in total crap trying to claim I said things when I didn't. I'm not disrupting the thread. It's the others, who instead of debating a topic totally change it the topic and make it a personal attack.

It's other people that constantly spew crap about me and things I said.

I just want to correct a couple of misunderstood perceptions here and I apologise Bartman if it offends in anyway.

Bird was stood down not because he was charged. It is because he lied to teh CEO which resulted in the CEO issuing a statement saying Bird was not involved and the ensuing speculation of a cover up. The club has acted appropriately and until Bird explains his actions and events of that day to the club he will not play.
No apology necessary MWAL. You are entirely correct in that regard.

Pommeroy is also another example of a player under charges not being stood down - the fact it is the same club involved should show people that the lying to his employer (and the police) situation is at the heart of Bird's continued suspension from duties. He is choosing not to make a statement (under apparent legal advice) before the court hearing to the club or police, so the club has no grounds or even opportunity to reinstate him.

I applaud Sharks management for how they have dealt with the situation. There still remains a difference in the Broncos situation in that the players have been cooperative with their club and police, as has Pommeroy over his charge. Not privy to the code of conduct in place up north, I can't be sure that the cubilce bandits have breeched it in the way Bird clearly has his.

Patorick

Bourbon Beccy weighs in on the matter:

http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/sport/nrl/story/0,26799,24371490-5016307,00.html
Cronulla Sharks stand tall

By Rebecca Wilson | September 20, 2008 12:00am
IT would be a delightful change to be able to actually write about football this week.
Here we are smack bang in the middle of the AFL and NRL finals - a time when columnists are usually reaching for other ways of saying "fever pitch".
Instead, the front-page headlines north of Albury/Wodonga have been relentlessly and almost tediously about allegations of badly behaved footballers.
The National Rugby League has suffered its worst year for appalling acts committed by its fulltime professionals.
Last year, the AFL could lay claim to the title. This year, it has been an annus horribilis for David Gallop and his cohorts (who have incidentally invested a hell of a lot of time and money in trying to make young athletic males respect females).
One of the league's flagship teams, led by a coach who has put himself on a pedestal as one of the best managers of footballers, is in the midst of a crisis that could blow the entire club apart.
The Broncos play a major semi-final against the Melbourne Storm in Brisbane tonight. Whether they can pull themselves together in time to win this match remains to be seen.
What is clear is that at least 10 of these blokes may have committed acts of idiocy in recent weeks that suggest the most elite footballers still don't understand what it's like to show restraint or behave in a socially acceptable way in very public places.
To paraphrase PJ O'Rourke, "Stupidity is a renewable resource".
Naturally enough, all of these players (three of whom allegedly had sex with a young woman in a nightclub toilet early on Sunday morning) will take their place in the Broncos team.
Their captain, Darren Lockyer, is also under a cloud - he is accused of committing drunken and foul acts outside a nightclub with three teammates. Lockyer has strenuously denied the allegations.
The Broncos claim they will not tolerate bad player behaviour. They proved this week that of course they can. After all, it is a finals week.
So protected have the Brisbane players become that even their local newspaper (The Courier-Mail) has refused to name those three accused of indecent assault last weekend.
The nightclub manager has had threats against him from fans for daring to come out against the Broncos. Nightclubs around town have tolerated appalling acts from Brisbane since 1988 - they have run the town for so long that standards of normally acceptable behaviour no longer exist.
I have written here in recent weeks about the furore that surrounded the Cronullas' Greg Bird after he allegedly glassed his American girlfriend after an all-night drinking binge.
He was dropped indefinitely from the side and his ban remains in place in spite of calls from fanatical Sharks followers to have him reinstated for next week's preliminary final, despite charges being laid against him. In fact, his girlfriend - bearing facial scars - remarkably went to court late this week in an attempt to have lifted the AVO taken out on him by the police.
But the club have stood firm. It could cost the Sharks their first premiership, but they have done what so few clubs have ever dared to do.
Football clubs love to hide behind the law when they defend the indefensible. They say a player is innocent until proven guilty (Ben Cousins-style).
Yet what they forget is that the player has already brought the game - and his club - into disrepute no matter what the legal outcome.
The Broncos have attracted shocking headlines to a sport that really needed to be on the back pages for the right reasons this week.
Eyewitnesses say the players they saw were not just enjoying a quiet couple of beers after a game. They drank on Friday night. And then they started again at lunch on the Saturday. By Sunday morning, the ugliness had started. If it's true, what were three blokes thinking to take one girl into a public toilet and have sex with her?
Bird was out drinking nearly all night the Saturday after a Friday night victory, just days before finals matches were due to start. The alleged glassing happened nearly 36 hours after his first drink.
This, by anyone's definition, is not the right thing to do.
No amount of lecturing from university academics is going to stop these blokes. They thumb their noses at those do-gooders who speak to them in grave tones about binge drinking.
The only way to fix it is to do what the Sharks have done and that is to cut the player. Deprive him of a livelihood and make him miss the thing that is so dear to him - his football.
The lack of respect these players have for authority is a reflection of the soft way they have been treated in the past. Only stands like those taken by Cronulla can turn the tables. Premiership or not, the Sharks are my team of the year for that.