Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Foxsport story on Brown

Caped Crusader

I'd say we have a lack of big, fast and skilful players.

Attitude isn't as much of a problem for us as aptitude - we just aren't very good.

We should be looking for athletes, not Rory Kostjasyns. We sign nothing but Rory Kostjasyns and it gets us nowhere - the athletes run around them and over the top of them.
We're looking to sign 1 Rory Kostjasyn. You're acting like we've gone and targeted every player like him in the comp. We havent

Sure, we need some stars but the majority of the side is going to be filled out with FGers who will do a job, every game and thats what i believe Rory brings and its what we lack. Every single successful team in the modern era needs players like him.

If you want athletes etc then please name the realistic targets we need to be going after, if you can

Glendale

Kostjaysn was actually very good last night, he had 2 try assists filling JT's shoes in the second half.

As I've mentioned I personally think it would be a bit harsh on Randell but a player like Kostjaysn certainly wouldn't go astray and it wouldn't be bad to have 3 dummy half options either.

Its weird that Brown doesn't seem to rate Randell even though he made him vice captain in the pre-season... But I suppose Tariq was our captain so we can't read too much into that.

macavity

We seem intent on collecting players who "won't lose you a game" but we don't have any that will win you one.

Except for Greg Bird, he will definitely lose you a game.

I want to see us recruiting from non-league backgrounds, but we aren't that innovative and we probably don't have the coaching or culture to make it work.

Frederick

We seem intent on collecting players who "won't lose you a game" but we don't have any that will win you one.

Except for Greg Bird, he will definitely lose you a game.

I want to see us recruiting from non-league backgrounds, but we aren't that innovative and we probably don't have the coaching or culture to make it work.
We tried that once. The result was Greg Smith

Frederick

Oh please.
You want the club to target better players? Stump up the TPA money then.

Brown clearly has a plan, and knows what kind of players will fit in the plan. If you're not happy about it, you've got three options:

1) go to the club and tell them all the many reasons Brown is wrong and that you're going to stand there and hold your breath until Brown is forced out like Brian Smith was
2) switch back to whichever team it was you supported before the Knights came along
3) deal with it and realize that years of f**ked cap management have left Brown in a position where he can only go shopping at the reject shop and has to go looking for that bargain buy that's as good as the shit you get from myer

Or you could take option four and continue to whinge about TPAs on here and how the system isn't fair. Cause, y'know, that never gets old

macavity

You want the club to target better players? Stump up the TPA money then.

Brown clearly has a plan, and knows what kind of players will fit in the plan. If you're not happy about it, you've got three options:

1) go to the club and tell them all the many reasons Brown is wrong and that you're going to stand there and hold your breath until Brown is forced out like Brian Smith was
2) switch back to whichever team it was you supported before the Knights came along
3) deal with it and realize that years of f**ked cap management have left Brown in a position where he can only go shopping at the reject shop and has to go looking for that bargain buy that's as good as the shit you get from myer

Or you could take option four and continue to whinge about TPAs on here and how the system isn't fair. Cause, y'know, that never gets old

www.marathonstadium.com

Think you got lost on your way there.

I have offered some out of the box thinking. Your "accept mediocrity" thinking is what is not helping.

Frederick

www.marathonstadium.com

Think you got lost on your way there.

I have offered some out of the box thinking. Your "accept mediocrity" thinking is what is not helping.
It's not "accepting mediocrity", it's being realistic.

Wanting the club to sign players from other codes/sports? Sure, that's got winning formula written all over it. Let's go buy Usain bolt! He's never played league before, but he's big and fast, and definitely not little and white! Plus, his name isn't Rory Kostjacyn...it's a sure thing!

Brock Lesnar is another I'd look at. We need some size in the forwards, and boy does he have some size! Might be all the roids though. But still, his name isn't Rory Kostjacyn, so there's another winner!

Anyone else got any suggestions for macavitys "out of the box - no TPA's or Rory Kostjacyns needed!" Knights squad for 2017? Where's Yosh - he'd be awesome at this game

Burwood

There was some ex-NFL player who tried their hand at rugby sevens. It didn't work out for him, so reckon we could pick him up on the cheap.

macavity

There are plenty of athletes, particularly in the US, with the right skills. A season or two in the Real NRL and they could be gems.

But lets keep doing what hasn't been working for the past 10 years - picking up dregs. It will work any day now.

Frederick

A season or two in the Real NRL and they could be gems.
So your plan for the future is to send scouts over to the US, find athletes who fail to make it in any code over there, bring them here, put them in the real NRL for two years, then move them into firsts and watch them win a premiership? I think you've been eating far too many scoobie snacks.

What skills are you talking? The ability to run fast? Sure, there's lots of them over there. Ball playing and reading defenses? Highly doubt it since rugby league is barely on their radar. So essentially they'd be starting from scratch when we sign them. Next move is to put them in the Real NRL, a competition for part timers which is pretty far down the pecking order of league comps in the country. So this yank mucks around in that comp for a couple of years, learns some basics of the game...then what? Straight into the NRL? Highly doubt they'd be ready to go against the best of the best. So then where does that leave us? We've wasted two plus years on a failed experiment, when we could've used that time and money to scour the other teams "dregs" for players that actually know how to play, will fit in our system and will be ready from day one.

Even mcguigans Magic wouldn't get your plan to work

Burwood

The fact that 15 other NRL clubs haven't had much interest in these failed athletes shows that there is little potential to go down this path.

There'd be a much better opportunity for them to play American football over in Europe or closer to home in Canada, where there'd be paid a lot more than a park footballer here and without the added hassle of learning an entirely new sport.

macavity

The fact that 15 other NRL clubs haven't had much interest in these failed athletes shows that there is little potential to go down this path.

There'd be a much better opportunity for them to play American football over in Europe or closer to home in Canada, where there'd be paid a lot more than a park footballer here and without the added hassle of learning an entirely new sport.

So because no one has done it means it isn't worth exploring? League, particularly in the forwards, isn't rocket science. We have produced one athlete in the last 10 years - Aku - and I would suggest there are people out there who have never played the game who would have a better feel for the game after half a season of park footy than he does.

And they can earn similar money playing reggies here than arena football in the US - where the average salary is $80k and the minimum is $31k.

My point is that we need to do something different - not necessarily recruit from the US, but something. We can't keep trying to do the same thing that others are doing, because they have proven they do it better, every damn time - they recruit better, they develop better, they have more money to do it with.

I know Brown is trying to do "something different" but I'm not sure it really is "different" - it is grasping onto what is actually available via necessity. Kudos to him for doing something - but it's not like we have any "mainstream" options other than signing everyone else's rejects. If there are "non-mainstream" options that are low cost, low risk and high reward - we should be looking at them. It's not like our current strategy is going to take us to the top - it might take us to 14th if we are lucky.

Alex28

Mate - seriously - we don't have cap space and it needs fixing. We don't have TPA's.

Brown is doing what he's doing because until we get new owners it is the only way. Deep down you know that.

Time to suck it up and take it like the rest of us do.

macavity

Mate - seriously - we don't have cap space and it needs fixing. We don't have TPA's.

Brown is doing what he's doing because until we get new owners it is the only way. Deep down you know that.

Time to suck it up and take it like the rest of us do.

Doesn't mean you stop trying to think outside the box.

The defeatist attitude in here is overwhelming.

Frederick

So because no one has done it means it isn't worth exploring? League, particularly in the forwards, isn't rocket science. We have produced one athlete in the last 10 years - Aku - and I would suggest there are people out there who have never played the game who would have a better feel for the game after half a season of park footy than he does.

And they can earn similar money playing reggies here than arena football in the US - where the average salary is $80k and the minimum is $31k.

My point is that we need to do something different - not necessarily recruit from the US, but something. We can't keep trying to do the same thing that others are doing, because they have proven they do it better, every damn time - they recruit better, they develop better, they have more money to do it with.

I know Brown is trying to do "something different" but I'm not sure it really is "different" - it is grasping onto what is actually available via necessity. Kudos to him for doing something - but it's not like we have any "mainstream" options other than signing everyone else's rejects. If there are "non-mainstream" options that are low cost, low risk and high reward - we should be looking at them. It's not like our current strategy is going to take us to the top - it might take us to 14th if we are lucky.
At least 14th would be an improvement. Your plan of bringing arena footballers over here and sprinkling them with fairy dust would see us anchored to the bottom of the table year after year. We'd be a laughing stock, and more than a chance of having our license revoked for not taking the competition seriously enough.

Out attitudes may be defeatist, but that's because we're realistic.