Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Friday Night Football - Never the Sharks

We are over half way through the comp, but yet the Sharks are the only team not to appear on FNF, we have been basically in top 6 all year but never get a gig, you have teams like Cowboys, Souths , Parramatta & Canterbury who havent been in the 8 all year getting game after game, but the Sharks no, this effects out major sponsor LG, they sponsor us, and deserve to be on Friday night.

Why dont we get the games on FNF, Channel 9 pick them and that is the problem if Gus has anything to do with it, we wont get a run, the NRL, and Channel 9, need to explain why we dont have any FNF matches

Inferno

Away.

round after that is against the Stains though, that will likely get a FTA timeslot.

Big Mick

Why dont we get the games on FNF, Channel 9 pick them and that is the problem if Gus has anything to do with it, we wont get a run, the NRL, and Channel 9, need to explain why we dont have any FNF matches

I'll give you a hint.

Last week for example you had 80% completion, scored 24...while the other team had 50% completion and scored 22.

Sharks are a great team as a unit, but boring as batsh!t...and not suited to primetime TV because you arn't flashy...

While I like that style...and like to watch it...its not a style that generates ratings.

Finchy

If that parramatta game is in sydney i think that will be the game shown live here. it seems to be the way the have done it all yr.

spider

If that parramatta game is in sydney i think that will be the game shown live here. it seems to be the way the have done it all yr.
thats usually because broncos have the patent on friday night games - we get the sydney game live / QLD get the broncs live

saints v sharks is the local derby - there will be blood shed

Bookie

Free To Air Broadcasts (Rd 20 inclusive)

Team Total (Friday/Sunday)

Brisbane 13 (11/2)
Eels 12 (7/5)
Roosters 10 (8/2)
Manly 9 (6/3)
Gold Coast 8 (6/2)
Souths 8 (4/4)
Tigers 8 (1/7)
Dragons 6 (4/2)
Bulldogs 6 (4/2)
Panthers 5 (4/1)
Cowboys 5 (4/1)
Sharks 5 (1/4)
Melbourne 4 (2/2)
Knights 4 (2/2)
Warriors 1 (1/0)
Canberra 1 (1/0)

Points to consider;
- The Roosters deservedly have a high number
- The Boncs and GC have friday nights because theyre in QLD and their viewers need something
- wtffmff panthers have 4 of the next 5 friday nights. the problem is they pick on 'form' too early.
- Eels are always up the top. They always lose until about Rd 20. I guess Sterlo's c**k is that long in the Ch9 rooms.
- I dont understand why the Tigpies are always on Sungay arvos. So much for promoting the family to get out to Leichardt oval.
- Souths and Stains are just there because Ch9 is up their dates too [see Eels rant]
- Someone needs to inform Ch9 that the Bulldogs became sh*t in 2005.

There's a problem picking 5 rounds ahead and that is most teams don't keep up form for that long [except the Storm who have most likely because of geographic reasons been kept low on the screenings]. I don't know how difficult the logistics are, but surely they could shorten it down to 3 or maybe even 2 weeks?

There's a reason why normal round games are the highest raters on Fox. It's because they are exciting and people want to watch them. The ones that didnt get on to FTA because Ch9 is trying to pull the large numbered Souths, Stains and Eels fans. They're doing the worst job for the 'bums on seats' issue considering those teams are regulars at ANZ.

I really got nowhere with that.

spider

Brisbane 13 (11/2)
Eels 12 (7/5)
Roosters 10 (8/2)
Manly 9 (6/3)
Gold Coast 8 (6/2)
Souths 8 (4/4)
Tigers 8 (1/7)
Dragons 6 (4/2)
Bulldogs 6 (4/2)
Panthers 5 (4/1)
Cowboys 5 (4/1)
Sharks 5 (1/4)
Melbourne 4 (2/2)
Knights 4 (2/2)
Warriors 1 (1/0)
Canberra 1 (1/0)
ahhh - that makes sense

they much prefer the warmer climate during footy season

nothing like a night away each week

Geezus that looks bad for ch9.

People power can work though & I will give the masses a little tip.
Telephone lines into ch9 are/were weighted/averaged. Ch9 predict that that they will receive roughly 20 calls per hour as an example. so they pay for enough bandwidth to supply with approx triple that for safety reasons. If they exceed that, the charges are enormous & one of the reasons controversy on TV can cost stations a fair bit.
If a concerted effort was made to ring ch9 on a certain day, during a certain time for a length of time, it would be a major disruption to the business and costly.

Qld-Sharkie

The Broncos game on a Friday....
That pi$$es me orf....its traditionally a Sunday arvo game in Brisbane. Has been for 5-6 years. It was the only game I could get to....well f**k em, they arent getting my $40+ bucks this time. Cant finish work, drive down, get to the game, get accomodation after the game....jeez, thats about $350 for a game of football.
I'll sit my a$$ down in front of the TV, crack a stubbie and watch it for free.

cb4

funnily enough was talkin to my mate about this the other day
always wondered why we play saturday night games n not friday

The Dodger

what i want to know is, when was the last friday night game we won.

i cant remember one that we have.

if this is the case, then were better off.
we have had a couple of sunday games but only one free to air that i can think of.