Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

Pippen94

Your claim was the subway may not have been built.

The subway station was built in 1932 and the arena in the 60s.

Madison square garden existed before 60's when it was rebuilt. I don't know location prior. New York Subway underground. Central plan would involve building over exposed lines. Its f'n stupid. Probably a paper released to take attention from some scandal that week..

Wb1234

That's a good point mate. I always come back to GWS and the AFL on the tenant argument. GWS had a stadium built for them, then they didn't like it and they had a second one built. Yeah, yeah cricket and all that but two stadiums for one tenant?
And they could’ve used accor which is right next door but no they got tens of millions from the state government bc accor would be a joke with their crowds of 5k per game

then they also got a grant to build a coe nearby

all this for a team which isn’t fully committed to Sydney and has zero fans

meanwhile clubs that have been around for a century and are committed to Sydney don’t get a penny

Wb1234

Madison square garden existed before 60's when it was rebuilt. I don't know location prior. New York Subway underground. Central plan would involve building over exposed lines. Its f'n stupid. Probably a paper released to take attention from some scandal that week..
Nah

they are now building a high rise over those rail lines (like 80 storey commercial)

state government can make so much money selling off this airspace above stations

SharkShocked

My apologies for the broke comment, just didn’t make commercial sense to play it at shark park. I’m a commercial partner with another club and don’t get any guaranteed finals tickets . I would be pissed if I couldn’t get a ticket because the club decided to play at a 12k stadium over a 40k down the road

And this is the big issue right. Even if somehow the sharks could pack in 20k after the construction is done (more likely 18 ever at most), corporate wise it would still not pass muster.

Honestly unless they got the grant money that PVL was pushing for (another one you can argue whether we should even receive it) I can’t ever see another home semi final being played there for this reason alone. Severely hampers the $ the nrl get for finals.

Can argue for hours the “deserve home ground advantage” point. But realistically it can’t hold a final imo.

The Great Dane

With regards to Canberra Stadium, at very least, the immediate priority is a refurb similar to what has been announced for AAMI Park in Melbourne this week, though it would require Federal funding (they are the landlords via the Sport Australia agency anyway). Long term would be building a new stadium then converting Canberra Stadium into an AFL/Cricket ground as per the master plan for Canberra's stadiums
Another refurbishment would just be an expensive coat of lipstick on a pig.

All it would do is add to the cost of the new stadium and prolong the inevitable. It wouldn't have any significant impact on spectator comfort at Bruce either, which is the real issue with the stadium.

I doubt that the AFL or Cricket would have any interest in Bruce being converted into a proper oval either. They'd definitely push for either Phillip Oval or Manuka to be upgraded before accepting changes at Bruce.

Colk

And they could’ve used accor which is right next door but no they got tens of millions from the state government bc accor would be a joke with their crowds of 5k per game

then they also got a grant to build a coe nearby

all this for a team which isn’t fully committed to Sydney and has zero fans

meanwhile clubs that have been around for a century and are committed to Sydney don’t get a penny

Yeah and they get a federal government promising to spend an absolute motza on a stadium in Tasmania. They know how to get things done

The Great Dane

The hope for Canberra is they need to get a team in the A League.. And i reckon that could happen in the next round of A League expansion. Once Bruce gets three tenants, surely it has to get upgraded/renovated/ knockdown.

Worse case scenario, the pollies come up with the idea of building a stadium to cater for all five sports (NRL, Rugby, Football, AFL, cricket.)
Canberra getting an A-league side won't have any significant impact on the stadium. Labour and the Greens will just come up with another excuse as to why the new stadium (and most other sports infrastructure) has to be delayed inevitably, and continue to pour most of the ACT's infrastructure budget into the light rail and bike paths.

It's not just the stadium either. People outside the ACT don't seem to understand just how badly the government has neglected or mismanaged most infrastructure and services in the last 15-20ish years. Put simply, because of some unique political circumstances the ACT is effectively a one party state, and that has allowed ideologues to run riot here.

BTW, I have no doubt that Barr, and by extension Labour, quietly has designs on a 'multipurpose' stadium. Though it may not meet the city's needs in the slightest, one stadium is cheaper to maintain than two...

Central plan would involve building over exposed lines. Its f'n stupid. Probably a paper released to take attention from some scandal that week..

It was a plan devised and suggested by an architectural firm.
Far from impossible to build, despite being above railway lines.
Ever heard of Federation Square in Melbourne?
Sydney Metro is currently building new platforms under platforms 14 and 15 at Central, and that required a proper structural bridge to be built over the existing lines for access to the site. A proper concrete bridge.
This sort of stuff is easily doable.

westerntiger

MSG is built above Penn station which is the major long distance and suburban station in Manhattan with 21 platforms. It’s not just a subway station.

Shame that the proposal to build a stadium at Central never went anywhere. The SCG Trust is an absolute cancer on Sydney sport. Rabbitohs, tigers, dragons could have used the central stadium and the Roosters etc. could have stayed at their Moore park paradise.View attachment 65289

1661318642321.png

What I didn't like about that proposed render was that if you look inside the roof, the seating bowl is circular.
I know it was just a proposal, a suggestion to the Govt at the time and a dream, and would probably have ended up as a rectangular seating bowl, but still, that annoyed me.

Pippen94

It was a plan devised and suggested by an architectural firm.
Far from impossible to build, despite being above railway lines.
Ever heard of Federation Square in Melbourne?
Sydney Metro is currently building new platforms under platforms 14 and 15 at Central, and that required a proper structural bridge to be built over the existing lines for access to the site. A proper concrete bridge.
This sort of stuff is easily doable.

Sounds cheap (I'm being sarcastic)

westerntiger

Exactly. That won't happen in 2020s - for good reason too
The old penn station was a fully enclosed structure. Central has a facade and an enclosed concourse but the platforms are all out in the open, meaning it could be built above without demolishing any of the original building. I’m not saying that it will ever happen though.

westerntiger

Its a massive shame they ditched the intimate mode design option. Literally the only thing that would have made it ten times better than the old SFS for 15k club games!
It should only have been a 30k stadium full stop. they also need to stop putting the whole crowd on the broadcast side like the roosters always used to.

True, but I dont mind that Sydney now has three stadium size options for modern stadia. But given its primary use is club games that will 90% of time draw sub 20k crowds for the three tenants, the intimate mode should have been a non-negotiable!