Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

titoelcolombiano

You need multiple tenants though if you are going to have a stadium as good as Allianz or even Commbank. They should be the goal for a stadium when you have the airport and the growth in population out that way
I wonder if the NRL's push to 18 teams in the NRLW by 2027 (amongst other reasons) is to give these stadiums multiple tenants. It's kind of cheating, but whatever works to get RL better stadiums. Obviously the main reason for the 2027 goal is the new TV rights deal and trying to get money for the extra team in the mens and to sell a full season of NRLW but the ''extra tenant'' that has been created at each home ground can be used as leverage for sure.

titoelcolombiano

Judging a stadium’s feasibility on its tenants is like judging how loved someone is by how many Facebook friends they have.
That's a good point mate. I always come back to GWS and the AFL on the tenant argument. GWS had a stadium built for them, then they didn't like it and they had a second one built. Yeah, yeah cricket and all that but two stadiums for one tenant?

Colk

I wonder if the NRL's push to 18 teams in the NRLW by 2027 (amongst other reasons) is to give these stadiums multiple tenants. It's kind of cheating, but whatever works to get RL better stadiums. Obviously the main reason for the 2027 goal is the new TV rights deal and trying to get money for the extra team in the mens and to sell a full season of NRLW but the ''extra tenant'' that has been created at each home ground can be used as leverage for sure.

You might be right. If you wanted to do that properly, you would have to play the competitions in contrasting seasons or have very little overlap.

titoelcolombiano

You might be right. If you wanted to do that properly, you would have to play the competitions in contrasting seasons or have very little overlap.
Yeah, which might be difficult considering the women will probably play a 17 - 20 round season. One way to handle it is not just have the women's games on as a curtain raiser to the men's game. That doesn't allow the NRLW to carve out their own crowds and niche.

A little off topic here but I see an opportunity for the NRL to use the shiny new stadia for the mens team and play the NRLW team at the traditional suburban ground (as their crowds be smaller). This allows the women to get a niche, using the nostalgia angle and catering to the fans that want Sunday afternoon at Leichardt, Belmore, Henson Park etc.

Can be a way for the game to create a product that plays in the modern big venues and caters to fans that want that experience. And through their women's comp, a product that caters to the traditionalists with sides playing at their traditional suburban ground where practical.

Reactions: Vee

SharkShocked

I can’t believe the Sharks are pushing to play at shark park over the new stadium if they finish top 2 , they will be playing the cowboys or storm if they do so it will be a home ground advantage either way. If they are content with 12k crowds for the biggest home game of the year then when they are broke again they shouldn’t receive any lifeline from the NRL
Should be played at the new stadium.
But not sure what the broke thing is relevant given gate takings for finals go to the nrl anyway yeah

Also remember reading that this year after season ticket holders there was only like 1,500 tickets available each week for general / sale.

Impossible to play a finals game there until the entire construction is complete. Even then it would be a huge uphill argument.

Frank Burge

Should be played at the new stadium.
But not sure what the broke thing is relevant given gate takings for finals go to the nrl anyway yeah

Also remember reading that this year after season ticket holders there was only like 1,500 tickets available each week for general / sale.

Impossible to play a finals game there until the entire construction is complete. Even then it would be a huge uphill argument.
My apologies for the broke comment, just didn’t make commercial sense to play it at shark park. I’m a commercial partner with another club and don’t get any guaranteed finals tickets . I would be pissed if I couldn’t get a ticket because the club decided to play at a 12k stadium over a 40k down the road

Ever heard of Madison Square Garden?

I posted an article published by the SMH back in June 2022 saying why those proposing a new stadium over the rail lines at Central was never going to happen (link to post which has text of the article - https://forums.leagueunlimited.com/threads/future-nrl-stadiums-part-ii.445841/post-15259027).

So its flogging a dead horse to ever think it was going to happen.

As to the SCG and the SFS lands, people do forget that those ground are actually held in a trust which has very restricted usage permitted on it. No NSW Government can just unilaterally decide to sell it or to change its usage because of the conditions laid out in the trust deed, and also because those conditions are also specified explicitly in legislation. As such what Government is going to build yet another stadium around 5-10 km away from where it already has two? That's the other reason a stadium over the top of Central was not going to happen. It was pie in the sky as it did not address those realities.

I posted an article published by the SMH back in June 2022 saying why those proposing a new stadium over the rail lines at Central was never going to happen (link to post which has text of the article - https://forums.leagueunlimited.com/threads/future-nrl-stadiums-part-ii.445841/post-15259027).

So its flogging a dead horse to ever think it was going to happen.

As to the SCG and the SFS lands, people do forget that those ground are actually held in a trust which has very restricted usage permitted on it. No NSW Government can just unilaterally decide to sell it or to change its usage because of the conditions laid out in the trust deed, and also because those conditions are also specified explicitly in legislation. As such what Government is going to build yet another stadium around 5-10 km away from where it already has two? That's the other reason a stadium over the top of Central was not going to happen. It was pie in the sky as it did not address those realities.
We all knew it was never gonna happen, just thought it was a great idea. Great use of an ugly piece of realestate and would’ve been a boon for local business, not to mention Friday close of business walk-ups. Ahh to dream

Colk

I think you have no idea

You might be looking at a mirror.

If you’re so in the know tell me the inside scoop then? Is Labour actually going spend billions of dollars on stadiums when they have explicitly stated that they aren’t?

Steel Saints

The state has a lot of things on its plate and if it’s Labour that wins the next election they will be aiming at better pay/conditions for nurses (fair enough too considering what the health sector has been through with COVID) as well as teachers. That’s how Labour win elections as that is their core base. They also have the transport strikes that are going on atm which needs to be resolved.

Let’s be honest, football stadiums will be the last thing on their mind

True that. Notwithstanding their reticence beyond the financials.

If the federal government wants to fund a massive fumbleball stadium in Tasmania (in a place which has less than half the population of the ACT) there is definitely an argument for them to fund/partially fund an upgrade in Canberra.

Not holding my breath though

The hope for Canberra is they need to get a team in the A League.. And i reckon that could happen in the next round of A League expansion. Once Bruce gets three tenants, surely it has to get upgraded/renovated/ knockdown.

Worse case scenario, the pollies come up with the idea of building a stadium to cater for all five sports (NRL, Rugby, Football, AFL, cricket.)

Pippen94

You might be looking at a mirror.

If you’re so in the know tell me the inside scoop then? Is Labour actually going spend billions of dollars on stadiums when they have explicitly stated that they aren’t?

They shouldn't. Let clubs find funding