Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

Mate, there is heaps of money to go around for social welfare and for infrastructure. If RL is going to benefit by Governments building stadiums for us in any city in Australia, let's take it. Our competitors have no qualms taking the money and getting new or upgraded grounds.
The upgrades will only occur at grounds that service more than rugby league and in a swinging seat.

That would be true if Manly were one of two Sydney clubs and played 10 of their games at the new SFS and two at their local ground

The Fri 6pm game would be the best time slot for games at Dolphin Oval.

They have stated that the majority of their games will be at Suncorp. After this year (due to the Women's soccer), it will be 10 at Suncorp. Commercial realities will demand it. You can't compete with the Broncos and the other NRL teams playing half your games at Redcliffe and Sunny Coast stadiums in their current state / capacity, when you have Suncorp available for members and corporates.

With regards to their being a modern 25 - 30k stadium at Redcliffe in the future. I actually think that is the plan and it's the correct plan. Again, Brisbane only has two teams, maybe three in the future and they are being spread around so that they have their own market. Redcliffe averaging 20 - 25k at a new Dolphin Oval and their drawing 50k to derby matches against Broncos and Firehawk-Jets (based in the south-west with their own 25-30k stadium in Ipswich or Springfield) at Suncorp is perfect and would make them one of the most attended teams in the league as well as giving them their own identity as the team for North Brisbane / Moreton Bay (which is also when the geographical name will return officially).

I spoke to the Dolphins' department about their stadium. They said there's no plans to expand or upgrade it.

titoelcolombiano

The upgrades will only occur at grounds that service more than rugby league and in a swinging seat.
I don't know mate, maybe we need to hire some AFL Govt lobbyists or something because they get grounds and upgrades where ever and whenever they want them. NSW spent money on a ground for GWS only for them to abandon the ground and area and then get money spent on another one. All without any public outcry.

Perth and Adelaide new grounds, no outcry.

SCG has been upgraded nicely over time, no outcry.

MCG constantly worked on, no outcry

Marvel stadium basically gifted to the AFL, no outcry

AFL HQ and ground gifted to the AFL in RL heartland of Springfield in SEQ, no outcry

Manuka in Canberra gets money spent on it for half an AFL side that showed up a decade ago doesn't even carry the Canberra name while the CANBERRA Raiders and ACT Brumbies can't get a better ground and have been committed to the city full-time for decades.

Time to spend some of our millions on greasing the wheels if that's how the game is played.

While for most of its history there the game's popularity has been marginal due to the dominance of Australian rules football in Victoria, rugby league's popularity has rapidly increased in recent years in the state's capital of Melbourne,[2] due mainly to the introduction of a professional Melbourne-based team in the national competition.

The Australian Rugby League reports that over $23 million has been invested by the Melbourne Storm and its partners in promoting and developing rugby league in Victoria since 2005 and the club has visited more than 550 schools across the state. Participation has grown significantly since 2006, with 13 amateur clubs playing in the state in 2008, according to the Victorian Rugby League[5] before further expansion prior to the 2009 season saw the competition expand into a divisional league during the 2010s.

I don't know mate, maybe we need to hire some AFL Govt lobbyists or something because they get grounds and upgrades where ever and whenever they want them. NSW spent money on a ground for GWS only for them to abandon the ground and area and then get money spent on another one. All without any public outcry.

AFL HQ and ground gifted to the AFL in RL heartland of Springfield in SEQ, no outcry

Manuka in Canberra gets money spent on it for half an AFL side that showed up a decade ago doesn't even carry the Canberra name while the CANBERRA Raiders and ACT Brumbies can't get a better ground and have been committed to the city full-time for decades.

Time to spend some of our millions on greasing the wheels if that's how the game is played.
Don't forget Cronulla Park at Slacks Creek. That was gifted to the Springwood Pumas by the Queensland gov. They always get money thrown at them.

It's been played interstate for almost 30b years now, but you and the other guy have suddenly created this strawman about it losing popularity.
Haha how frequently has it been played interstate in last 25 years? 5 games isnt it?

keeping it occasional rather than regular keeps interest in non RL cities.

Don

don’t know about the other cities but perth people are very proud of our amazing new stadium and dont see it as an afl stadium but a multi use venue. I’ve been to events there 7 times now, none of them afl games. Not sure why you’d expect there to be an outcry? Seems that’s a mostly Sydney media thing.

Wb1234

Never understood why the Sunshine Coast got an upgrade for the Olympics instead of Dolphin Oval to say 20k. Redcliffe is part of greater Brisbane, Sunshine Coast is not and it would have left a far greater legacy. The Dolphins would have a modern 20k stadium to play a couple of lower drawing games a year at. During the Olympics, the stadium could have been used for Rugby Union 7's
I don’t think they applied

they should play a few games at Sunshine Coast too

Dolphins are playing just one game at Sunshine Coast Stadium and another in Perth.

So we're supposed to take Origin to neutral cities for the extra revenue, yet the idiots running the game allowed Cronulla to host a final at a shithole that can only accommodate 13k paying customers?

Gate receipts from finals games go to the NRL.

I wonder what @Canard thinks of this glaring hole in his argument. I'm sure he'll perform some sort of mental gymnastics to justify the double standard.

Pneuma

Dolphins are playing just one game at Sunshine Coast Stadium and another in Perth.

So we're supposed to take Origin to neutral cities for the extra revenue, yet the idiots running the game allowed Cronulla to host a final at a shithole that can only accommodate 13k paying customers?

I wonder what @Canard thinks of this glaring hole in his argument. I'm sure he'll perform some sort of mental gymnastics to justify the double standard.
Swearing, name calling, venom. Another donkey classic.

Canard

Yet here you are, arguing for high drawing games to be taken to smaller venues.

One-third of games would be played in regional NSW and Queensland. It would reward the fans from true rugby league heartland and mean a lot to players from the region.

If it's money you're worried about then ticket prices could be increased to recoup lost revenue from being played at smaller stadia. It would still work out cheaper for locals than having to travel interstate. You might even get funding from the Queensland and NSW governments as it would promote tourism to regions that vitally need it.

Using your stupid logic we should play all Origin games at the MCG because it can fit twice as many people as Lang Park. I'm sure your special needs friend @Phil McGrawhan would love having to travel to Victoria three times a year to see Queensland play.
lol im sure I read a post from Singapore/Logan just yesterday having a rant about the outlandish cost of SOO tickets.
yet here he is saying play the game in a Smaller stadium & raise the price.

he’s all over the place like a mad woman’s shit .

Pneuma

lol im sure I read a post from Singapore/Logan just yesterday having a rant about the outlandish cost of SOO tickets.
yet here he is saying play the game in a Smaller stadium & raise the price.

he’s all over the place like a mad woman’s shit .
Loves the Sharks mate. He’s going to become a member this year and invest in our pokies den!