Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

Ozzi_78

Somebody piped up earlier and said rugby union's Shute Shield. No idea how that would work when Manly & Warringah are separate clubs in that competition.
Average crowd is 4 figures I’d imagine. Definitely need a 25k seater (with internet) for that than.

Tiger Shark

I’d rather see manly get a brand new stadium than “doing up“ three or four. We need every club in state of the art venues if they are to have a future in the top tier of the game.

So waste more money on a one team stadium. No thanks.

The more teams that upgraded stadiums means more fans get a better experience and not just Manly and the select few.

Frankly I think to not want the most fans possible to get an upgraded experience is poor. They don't all need to be brand new stadiums.

Besides between SFS, Bankwest , the new Penriff stadium and I'm assuming an updated Homebush in some capacity (roof etc) that's enough to cover off the big events. After that only new stadiums should go to multiple team venues.

Additionally there's not enough money to go around to give everyone state of the art stadiums. And don't even start with " oh just move Sharks to SFS and Tigers to Bankwest blah blah blah rubbish"

It's not going to happen with out serious repercussions to memberships , so to keep suggesting it's an option or should happen speaks wonders for how out of touch people are about Rugby league in Sydney. Interestingly it's all the out of towners who go to a couple a games here and there.

And I'm on record saying personally I would be fine the Sharks playing at SFS but we already struggle to get big crowds at Shark Park. Moving 45to 60 mins away is going to make more just watch it on TV, which we've all established is a great product.

All the other clubs get a share of the remaining pie to make considerable upgrades but not rebuilding and everyone wins.

disagree, you’d still end up with half of Sydney’s clubs playing in stadiums that are just ok. Better we end up with 80% of them playing in state of art stadiums fit for the next 50 years, Imo. Our game for too long has been happy to play second fiddle and we’ve dropped far behind the sporting world accordingly.

if clubs arent willing to share or move then they’ll have to make do with what moneys left after the new stadiums are allocated.

if we ended up out of this development period with bankwest, SFS, new panthers stadium, new manly stadium, gong new quality large stand taking it to 25kish ish and a new stadium for tigers and dogs that would be a massive step forward.

Munky

Panthers don’t rely on their pokies. Im Certain they have many other properties etc and are in a fine position.

I don't know if this is true.

$52m of $132m revenue is gaming.

Outside of $12m in pokies tax the other overheads related to the gaming revenue would be pretty low.

2012....Sharks Year

disagree, you’d still end up with half of Sydney’s clubs playing in stadiums that are just ok. Better we end up with 80% of them playing in state of art stadiums fit for the next 50 years, Imo. Our game for too long has been happy to play second fiddle and we’ve dropped far behind the sporting world accordingly.

if clubs arent willing to share or move then they’ll have to make do with what moneys left after the new stadiums are allocated.

if we ended up out of this development period with bankwest, SFS, new panthers stadium, new manly stadium, gong new quality large stand taking it to 25kish ish and a new stadium for tigers and dogs that would be a massive step forward.
Flogging a dead horse as usual but what is your justification in manly getting a new stadium?

Well it seems some clubs don’t want to, or feel they can’t, move away from their suburb so the reality is they are going to need new stadiums. We’ve given up on a centralised stadium model, many will say for good reason, so that leaves EVERY club needing a stadium fit for a top sport.

Hopefully we will see some shared like souths and roosters and tigers and dogs if they can get a new stadium. The rest are going to need their own. So might as well be manly after panthers.

Sharks look like they are a bit stuck as the ground is hemmed in on all sides with geography or buildings so will never get a new stadium in current location. Even upgrading significantly to a 25k all seater undercover looks difficult given one side has the LC the other is getting a cofe building on it, one end is built and other end has powerlines over it.

it’s time for nrl in sydney to enter the 21st century of sports facilities, my strategy at least gets the majority of clubs playing in new state of art stadiums.

I don't know if this is true.

$52m of $132m revenue is gaming.

Outside of $12m in pokies tax the other overheads related to the gaming revenue would be pretty low.
In 2019 total $145mill of income for panthers group
revenue
LC
$65mill from gaming and raffles etc
$31mill from LC food and beverage
$6.3mill functions and banquets

football club
$11.4mill from gate, merch and sponsorship
$13mill from NRL grant

horrie hastings

Canberra next for a roofed stadium imo. Been there three times the most recent pretty solid. The other two times in the sweltering heat and the freezing cold. When the weather is extreme that ground is pretty miserable to be at.

You just summed up Canberra's weather perfect, one year was there for a game in April and it was beautiful and sunny and only needed a t shirt, mostly any other time i have been it has been freezing and a couple of times it has sleeted before getting to the ground, so had gloves, beanie and the blanket from the car to put over our laps.

siv

parra stadium especially when trams are up and running.
But you highlight my point

Almost all stadiums are 2 public transport links from a regular suburban statiion. If not 3

While the first form will run rapidly after events, the second form usually does not

2012....Sharks Year

Well it seems some clubs don’t want to, or feel they can’t, move away from their suburb so the reality is they are going to need new stadiums. We’ve given up on a centralised stadium model, many will say for good reason, so that leaves EVERY club needing a stadium fit for a top sport.

Hopefully we will see some shared like souths and roosters and tigers and dogs if they can get a new stadium. The rest are going to need their own. So might as well be manly after panthers.

Sharks look like they are a bit stuck as the ground is hemmed in on all sides with geography or buildings so will never get a new stadium in current location. Even upgrading significantly to a 25k all seater undercover looks difficult given one side has the LC the other is getting a cofe building on it, one end is built and other end has powerlines over it.

it’s time for nrl in sydney to enter the 21st century of sports facilities, my strategy at least gets the majority of clubs playing in new state of art stadiums.
Your last paragraph sums it up. “My strategy “. At the end of the day you’re a Pom living on the other side of the country that thinks he has the answers for everything related to Sydney. It’s like me pretending to be an authority on the English Suoer League and all the answers to why they struggle to get 3 or 4 thousand to a game.

Always amusies me how upset people can get about other peoples opinions that have absolutely zero influence or impact on decisions!

Message boards are for discussion and Sharing opinions and ideas. I get you dont like mine as you have vested interests. As a “Pom on other side of country” you could argue I have no skin in the game and therefore more objective opinions.

I accept and respect you have a different opinion and would rather see all the inadequate stadiums get done up a bit, I think that would be short sighted and in 20 years we’ll still be discussing how half the Sydney clubs are playing in stadiums well behind world sports. But I respect you have your reasons why you think that would be a better outcome For many, rather than new stadiums which would be an excellent outcome for fewer.

T-Boon

Almost all stadiums are 2 public transport links from a regular suburban statiion. If not 3

While the first form will run rapidly after events, the second form usually does not

AT&T Stadium in Arlington is miles from any public transport. The only real option is uber.

T-Boon

I get what you are saying. Fans don't get enough entertainment at an NRL game to justify a bothersome journey. That is why I have always suggested things like play the game in quarters, stretch the length of the game out, do things in the quarter time break. Generally make it a better spectacle.

The double header we had at Optus was great. Bands playing before and at HT and between games, lots going on in and around stadium. $65 for an ok seat seemed good value for 4 plus hours out. Nearly 35k in attendance creating a good atmosphere. I wondered if double headers at the new sfs on a Saturday afternoon and evening games would work in same way?

TheRam

Even with horrendous views Homebush gets just as good crowds as these burbs. With a 75k Parra stadium it would get 30k.
Not to mention the GF and SoO would be better experiences and therefore those casual funs would return. Plus the overall benefits to the state of having a great stadium.

Mate think of it this way.

If we redeveloped the Olympic stadium now that would basically be it for any major upgrades to any other Sydney suburban stadiums. Governments would not be willing to throw more significant money at any other stadiums as they would want to get as many tenants using the main stadium to justify the money spent.

It would not be used by the likes of Manly, Saints, Sharks, Panthers or Tigers though other then for the occasional game here and there as all those teams want to play in their own districts no matter what you or anyone else says.

So by spending that money now on redeveloping 3 or 4 suburban grounds we are actually getting quality boutique stadiums that will attract fans in their local community and give both attendees and TV viewers a significant better game day experience for the obvious reason(look no further then Parra & NQ), not to mention the media shareholders that will love the look and atmosphere that most games will have improved on. Thus making the game even more valuable to them.

Then once all the boutique stadiums are up and running and the game hopefully as a viewing product looks more like a 21st century professional sport on the field, maybe 20-30 years from now we may look to bulldozing that monstrosity of a 82K stadium and replacing it with a purpose built 70-80k rectangular stadium. Sure you and others may not like the wait, but I and others couldn't care less. I much prefer that all or most of our teams play out of quality each and every week that looks great and has atmosphere, not of grounds with hills and bogie stands that only rusted on fans care for and think it is wonderful and nostalgic. The fact is the majority of the paying public love quality, atmosphere and modern luxury. You know Parra, NQ and soon to be SFS style stadiums.

The new roof proposal that they are going with for the Olympic stadium will only prolong bulldozing it, but 30+ years from now the pollies of the day won't be as committed to it or associated with it and if the tenancy is not that great, then the lobbying can start to get it done right.

Sure 30 years is a generation away, but it is what it is and I would rather this scenario then the one you are suggesting and 5 of our teams continue to play out of crappy 3rd world facilities that I for one have stopped going to years ago and even stopped watching games on TV if the crowds are poor(most of the time) and the game lacks atmosphere unless it is a game with Parra in it. It really is a terrible look. Especially when compared to AFL or any other major sport in the world. Remember, kids today have easy access to all the worlds sports and entertainment. If I was a kid of today, I don't know if I would be a league follower. There are just so many other great and shiny options out there. We so often look like a third rate sport when viewing it from a facilities, attendance and atmosphere perspective. Everyone love hype and atmosphere, especially kids.

Fix the majority of the grounds first then look at the big one, otherwise you will be losing fans not gaining them until you do.

ash the bash

That would certainly be a good option for dragons. Sorted gong with 8 games there and 4 big derby games at sfs.

$300mill to penrith
$90mill to Gong
$220mill manly new stadium
$125mill anz
nrl and givt to go halves on 30k stadium for dogs and tigers.

thats all Sydney clubs sorted Except sharks and apparently they are happy to stay where they are.

I like you're thinking provided my beloved Bunnies do move back to the new SFS. Lunch and drinks at the Juniors then a tram up to SFS and back to Juniors with a drunk Uber home. Can't wait to experience this, not to mention the plethora of pubs and eateries in the area. Just can't have that experience at present at Stadium OZ. May change in the future, presently it does not come close to a night out at the SFS. Not to mention bringing the Bunnies back to our heartland.

Dragons suggestion is a good one, 7-8 games at a refurbed gong with 4-5 (Blockbusters) at the SFS. Depending on who's home game it is for Anzac round the SFS games can change from 4-5 a season. The new corporate areas/revenue in the SFS will make it worthwhile for the Dragons alone.

Manly rebuild can be achieved for under or 200 million. The new Northern grandstand COE will mean only 3 sections will need to be done for Manly. Master plan is for 20K seater with increased corporate seating. Which is perfect for Manly and the odd Waratahs game. From my limited experience of going to Brookie there is plenty of parking around the industrial areas south of the ground, if one is willing to walk 10-15 mins.

I don't think a new Liverpool stadium is happening, judging by comments made by premier... "A stadium in east(SFS), one in center (para) and a western stadium"(Penrith). Not sure what this means for the Bulldogs and WT's. Currently don't think they are fans of Commbank Stadium but with new light rail down Church street and winning seasons for Bulldogs/WT's could that change ?

I think Cronulla will be fine at Shark park, new corporate areas are key rather than increased capacity for general public. I think they are going down this route in ground refurbs do take place. Similar to Manly keep it boutique with increased corporate seating and it will appeal to local market.

Sydney NRL clubs:
Souths: 10 SFS
Roosters: 10 SFS
Manly: 11 Brookvale
WT's: 3 Campbelltown, 3 Leichhardt, 6 Commbank
Parra: 11 Commbank
Bulldogs: 10 Commbank, 1 Belmore
Sharks: 11 Shark park (New western grandstand with increased corp seating)
Dragons: 7-8 Gong refurbed, 4-5 SFS
Panthers: 11 Panther stadium
Sorts out Sydney NRL clubs for the next half a century with slight question marks over WT's and Bulldogs all other clubs sorted.

Leaves us with
- New Canberra stadium at Civic
- Warriors new stadium/refurb of Mt smart ?
- upgrade of HBF park "if" WA team comes into NRL.

As you may have noticed, no regular season NRL games at Stadium OZ. Especially if its in its current Oval configuration. Okay for SOO, NRL grand final etc..

All clubs sorted ?

Yosemite Sam

That would certainly be a good option for dragons. Sorted gong with 8 games there and 4 big derby games at sfs.

$300mill to penrith
$90mill to Gong
$220mill manly new stadium
$125mill anz
nrl and givt to go halves on 30k stadium for dogs and tigers.

thats all Sydney clubs sorted Except sharks and apparently they are happy to stay where they are.
Brookvale will be a complete rebuild on the current site. COE stand is the first part of this.

Dragons will never leave Kogarah or Wollongong.

TheRam

GRTD, Australian Rules Football is a better game to watch live at the ground than it is on tv.

It is no secret the Swans fanbase are mainly from the north shore and eastern suburbs although they do get fans from the Shire and inner west.

Having been to AFL matches in Sydney, Melbourne and here in Adelaide since I moved here Aussie Rules games are better to watch at the ground than on tv.

Oh so about half of Sydney follows AFL then, Cool.

Looks like their expansionist aspirations are working just fine for a code that most of you pelicans keep laughing at and referring to as just putting teams in places of dots on a map and losing money hand over fist doing it. Add the Giants and Sydney is probably well and truly now considered a two major football code city and they have plenty of growth left in them yet from a spectator and junior development point of view. Pity you can't say the same for the NRL who have lingered and staggered on growth for about 3 decades now in their number one market, while others like AFL and Football are growing. What losers those other codes are ay?

Hahahahaha....morons.