Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gallen - Origin

It crossed my mind that Gall might be saving himself for Origin

Gallenprettyinpink.jpg

f**k off moron

that bogan juice really is rotting your brain

fizman

I'm just bumping this.

I sense a problem in the camp

If Gallen announced he was leaving to head over to Parramatta and play under Stuart - it wouldn't surprise me.

Nothing in Rugby League surprises me anymore.

The topic of Flanno vs Sticky is an interesting one, and I don't think can really be answered for a while yet.

I think the "NSW Captaincy" is more important to Gal than "playing for Ricky", but if he were to leave Cronulla and head to Parra - it would blow that theory out of the water big time.

I don't care WHO is wearing the black, white and blue jersey when we win the competition, I just want it to happen before my time is up.

The reference of Parramatta chasing Flanno was particularly odd.

The question is why is Gallen still out, he didnt go off the game in origin 3 injured, which means he carried it into the game, and doing that has put in jeopardy the sharks season.

The club doctors have to be involved in clearing players for rep duties, because now Gall has not played for the sharks since origin 3, again thank you ricky, your hate for the club lives on

Vin Fizz

Am I reading between the lines here correctly? Gal has been playing for club state and country pretty well non stop since ...well shit I cant remember when he had a long break. I reckon he is paying the price for the effort he shows week in week out. I also reckon he is not rushing back because he has faith (and so do I just quietly) that the lads well get us across the line and into the 8. Why all this Stick consipracy?

fizman

My apologies, I wasn't suggesting that he would go to Parra, moreso that RL is so unpredictable these days.

Didn't Luke Lewis just buy or build a house in Penrith?

I never ever in my life thought that ironically, Brad Clyde and Ricky Stuart would leave Canberra to go to the Bulldogs.

spider

The question is why is Gallen still out, he didnt go off the game in origin 3 injured, which means he carried it into the game, and doing that has put in jeopardy the sharks season.

The club doctors have to be involved in clearing players for rep duties, because now Gall has not played for the sharks since origin 3, again thank you ricky, your hate for the club lives on
Gallen played the series with multiple injuries - ribs, shoulder, knee and the other bit

He was/is busted

Gallen won't go to parra. He just spent 1.5 mill on his new home
he would for more cash

Vin Fizz

My apologies, I wasn't suggesting that he would go to Parra, moreso that RL is so unpredictable these days.

Didn't Luke Lewis just buy or build a house in Penrith?

I never ever in my life thought that ironically, Brad Clyde and Ricky Stuart would leave Canberra to go to the Bulldogs.

It's a fair point Fiz. RL is unpredictable. But i must say I have this feeling that Lewis in some ways was partly driven out (No idea why). Why would you take the captaincy of someone like that over the Origin period? I mean these decisions arent done exparte are they? Surely Goose, Ivan and Lewy the Shark (oooohh I love that) would have sat down and chewed the fat about it. They would have known his reaction. Has that ever happenned anywhere else? Also the Clyde and Stuart issue was salary cap based. The Mucas had been done for breaches as I understand it. They had this Save a Raider charity (hahaha). I was told reliably that Daley, Stuart and Clyde all could have remained at the Raiders if all 3 agreed to share the pain and take a pay cut. One of the 3 negotiated a deal to his benefit which white anted the others. 2 are still very close friends. The other less so as a result. At any rate I cant see the same set of circumstances emerging with Gal.

sladden road

I thinking that there may indeed be a problem.....but not with Gal...
It seems that someone else has problems on their mind...someone out of form
I hope not.

B or not too B?

Weaponhead

Clearly Gallen was busted and did whatever he could to play. Winning Origin has been a driving motivator for him in recent years given the lack of success at club level. He has managed the load before but is fast approaching the stage where the injuries are mounting. We can't whinge about the doctor because the NSW doc is our doc - Dave Givney. Gallen's absence has taken a progressive toll. In the early stages, others stepped up to compensate. They too are now busted and struggling. Having Smith out at the same time has been bad as he is also highly influential as a leader. Given our game is so forward dominated we are now in a hole.

Carney has really struggled lately. He hasn't really stepped up and dominated in big games. He has so much potential that is still largely unfulfilled (apart from 2010) His game on the weekend was park standard. He has been great for us overall but has so much more to offer. I reckon the pressure of Origin and the subsequent letdown of losing has left him drained. He needs to snap out of it and get some fun back into his play quickly.

spider

Weaponhead said:
Given our game is so forward dominated we are now in a hole.
True, which can be largely attributed to our halves performance dropping off.

Halves can't dominate a game when you have no go forward.

Our losses have also coincided with our play-the-ball speed slowing significantly. A factor of our game that was below standard last year but this year significantly improved and a major factor in our first half of the season success.

No go forward + slow play-the-ball = our current performances.

Weaponhead

Agreed. Our forwards are busted and not hitting the line as they were. Bakuya is nowhere near as effective. Ross and Gibbs are trying hard but are getting worn down. Sides also gang tackle us effectively because they know we don't pass much, slowing down the play-the-ball.

Robson has dropped off with long kicking and not really driving the team around the park. Carney is playing too lateral and drifting out of games for too long. He needs to be buzzing around the ruck and taking on tired forwards.

Madsharkie

I don't have any inside info on Gal. I did see him on the Footy Show last week and he looked rooted. Seemed so drained and just buggered. That is probably from a combination of things including origin, and his huge workload for us (on and off the field). Surely that has to take a toll eventually. As much as we think he's superman, it eventually has to catch up.
I hope he gets his mojo back soon.

Ok, so I bumped it and obviously I started it a while ago but let's get the inferences out of the way.

I have heard something.

It's not about anyone leaving. It's not about anyone with any sinister problem or anything like that. It's not about "usual suspects". It's about headspace.