Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gallen to be sacked as captain

dovif

they might have?!

If they had a proper enquiry Gallen would have been present. Gallen is in origin camp.

How anyone could think this is not a rushed descion is laughable.

Just becuase he is nice doesnt mean he has good hearing. Its possible for anyone to make mistakes , even nice people. Thats why the charge of racial abuse should be tested at a hearing.

And noy denying something on the spot doesnt make you guilty. He simply could have thought it was best to leave it until after the game. A denial wouldnt have stopped anything from happening if Paea wanted to make an official complaint.

The problem with Gallen is, he did not deny it after the game. Said nothing for 2 days, did not deny it until he was hit with a $10k fine, when it hurt, he trys to escape from the fine

cityshark

This is being handled very badly.
BTR is right Gal deserves a better club. He bust his ass every week and he gets this kind of support from coach and management. I wouldnt blame him for walking. See how we go this week without him and you will be seeing the future.

The problem with Gallen is, he did not deny it after the game. Said nothing for 2 days, did not deny it until he was hit with a $10k fine, when it hurt, he trys to escape from the fine

Just because Gallen didnt deny it for 2 days does not make him guilty.

Gallen shook hands with Paea after the game and may have felt it was best to leave it there.

All this could easily be tested at a hearing. If Paea thought what he heard was racist and was prepared to fire up about it he should have made an official complaint so all this sh*t could be cleared up.

cityshark

Another badly handled , knee jerk reaction and another big payout coming up, thankfully not a Sharkies payout. I think the NRL should take a look at retaining Gallop when his contract is up!

dovif

Just because Gallen didnt deny it for 2 days does not make him guilty.

Gallen shook hands with Paea after the game and may have felt it was best to leave it there.

All this could easily be tested at a hearing. If Paea thought what he heard was racist and was prepared to fire up about it he should have made an official complaint so all this sh*t could be cleared up.

of course it is Paea's fault LOL, you are a goose

Inferno

He's a a fairly average captain IMO, but really who else do we have?

I'd give it to Dougie to be honest, might just be the think that lifts him.

Gall on the other hand won't change at all, and always gives his %110.

FFS though, it was a sh*t thing to do if they told the media before they told Gall.

well at least talkin sport are on his side...BSB aren't.. they're merkins

Tunksy is my new best mate.

doggone

Gal is better off without the Captainacy so he can just play footy, without having all eyes on him. But who would take his place??

The whole Cronulla thing such a shambles I think everyone is sick of it.

fatshark

gotta be Trent. This story is in the wrong place at the wrong time, and with Gallen involved it was always going to be blown up.

Special K

Gallen is a fantastic captain.

Did anyone else see in the first set of six we had to defend he rushed out of the line and wacked Poore than Weyman the next tackle?

No man loves the sharks more than Gallen. None of us even come close to the love this bloke has for the club. I mean ffs he was in tears of anger before a game when the roosters called our forwards soft!

DaSuperHero2

"Moderator"
1 moment in life makes or breaks a man , this move was pivotal he will lose the captaincy , move forward Sharks stop acting like this is death row.

Racism is racism , sorry guys no matter how many blue colored goggles you have on.

Generalzod

1 moment in life makes or breaks a man , this move was pivotal he will lose the captaincy , move forward Sharks stop acting like this is death row.

Racism is racism , sorry guys no matter how many blue colored goggles you have on.

I think the issue is not the racism it's the blatant attack on his hand...I wonder why Gallen was so upset.

Pig Champion

Paul Gallen should just accept the decision of his alleged racial slur from the alleged women puncher and the alleged squeaky clean cronulla board.

My two oldest sons, 6 and 8, fought over the Gallen footy card I brought home. Fortunately I've got a second now. To them he is rugby league. Tough, never gives an inch, never gives in. He's not a role model. Just a bloody good footy player.

Says the wrong thing. Forgivable.

Who hasn't?

The Popper

(QUOTE)`What if one of us calls a white player a 'white c...'."(UNQUOTE)
I've known that to happen. No retribution at all - just on with the game and get the bloke in the next tackle.
I feel for Gallen. He had his hand stomped on, whether accidental or on purpose. Sometimes I wonder if people like Gallop have ever played the game. When something like that happens you don't stop and think `Should I say this?' or `Should I do that?'. Reaction is spur of the moment stuff. As things turned out, Gal probably would have been better off jobbing him rather than getting caught up in this bullshyt.
Fair dinkum. Are they gonna tape everything that is said on a football field. Not a game goes by where a player doesn't say `f**k' on the football field. There's kids watching the games too. Not a peep from the powers that be on that (and rightly so). They only want to be seen as politically correct. Persecute Gallen, persecute Johns, persecute anybody. I fair dinkum wonder if some of those blokes have ever played the game. Same with some of the refs, with some of the krap they deal out too. I may be old fashioned but I reckon I`m bloodywell right! :crazy:

Last edited by a moderator: