Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gallen to be sacked as captain

gunnamatta bay

I dont think Gal will fight the charge
This is my point Spider. He is being denied any avenue to 'fight' the charge. They have imposed the fine. It is alleged by a scandal sheet Zappia is going to recommend he be stripped of the captaincy and Barry is quoted as saying he agrees 100% with the NRL stance.

Where is the justice?

dovif

http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/sport/nrl/story/0,26799,25543937-5006066,00.html

I'm a bit confused. Yesterday we were told Gallen denies saying something Paea no longer officially claims to have been said.

Has something changed? Barry and Zaps seem to think so. Why else would you go along with the NRL stance of denying natural justice?

If Gallen believes he is innocent, if they sack him and if the nrl persist with this fine without granting him an inquiry then it is a miscarriage of justice IMO.

Don't you find it interesting that on the field, Gallen "the mouth" was call a racist to his face and he said nothing. Then suddenly he get hit with a $10k fine and suddenly, he said "f**kin". I guess the NRL hit him where it hurts.

I think Cronulla would have done some investigation prior to sacking Gallen, ie talked to the other players, I guess they confirmed what everyone else knew

gunnamatta bay

Its the right decision to strip him of the captaincy. I dont think he is good captain. Has made too many stuff ups and with all our current dramas, for him to say that and bring more negative publicity to the club is just the height of stupidity. Plenty of players get fired up and do dumb things on the field, at all levels, I know I did, but not for one moment did I entertain the thought of calling someone a black &*%$.
Has this been proved conclusively? If I was to be charged with using 'offensive language' I would have the opportunity of pleading not guilty.

If gallen wants to fight the charge the club should stand behind him 100% until that is determined. If gallen wants to cop to the charge then it's probably for the best he falls on his sword.

Agree 100% but I reckon he said it so go for option 2. If you were called a racist and you were not I think you would be shouting denials for everyone to hear. Gal has been pretty silent so methinks his hot head got the better of him.

Who gives a f**k. The black merkin tried to break his hand by standing on it. The white merkin then called him a black merkin. Big f**ken deal!!

gunnamatta bay

Don't you find it interesting that on the field, Gallen "the mouth" was call a racist to his face and he said nothing. Then suddenly he get hit with a $10k fine and suddenly, he said "f**kin". I guess the NRL hit him where it hurts.
I find it 'interesting' Gallen wants to plead not guilty and is being denied this avenue to clear his name. I have already pointed out there is a very good chance Paea may be mistaken about what he heard. Are you some sort of expert on body language or something? Meanwhile Gallen says he said something else. Give him his day in court.

I think Cronulla would have done some investigation prior to sacking Gallen, ie talked to the other players, I guess they confirmed what everyone else knew
Did Gallens legal counsel cross exam Paea's evidence? Did Cronulla's board even announce let alone hold a formal tribunal? If so was it done in secret? I think not.

This is just another nail in the coffin for this current board of directors.

but reefy...

White people can't say the word black anymore....and apparently it is cool tp be a homo.
You cannot start a makeover type tv show without the token raging homo .

Can I say token?

Is Gallop going to fine that bogan Clare for her use of the very culturally insensitive and insulting term Western Oriental Gentlemen?

Come on Dave you moral crusader you!

You are just a softcork, whiny voiced, 4 eyed git!

samshark

Has this been proved conclusively? If I was to be charged with using 'offensive language' I would have the opportunity of pleading not guilty.

Not conclusively no, but given his comments/actions since I think he said it. Cmon Gunna, you think he said it too. And you cant criticise the club if he is stripped of the captaincy. Look at the state of our affairs, we are a total mess with no major sponsor. Gallen has a bad image and is one of the most hated persons in the game. Our club cant afford to keep him as captain.

Again .... Again....

I hate the modern game.

What do you think they called artie when he ran out for The Maroons in the first SOO and what do you think Artie called them.

No wonder we have league players turning into whinging Pommy Soccer players by the day.

They'll be stopping the game for "wee wee" breaks soon.

Oh well ... again and again ... Nice guys finish where??

Question from the floor. How many prefer the modern day state of origin to the early clashes.

I hope someone in the State of Origin game coming soon, doesn't call the opposition a brown dogs bum or other rudie words.

f**k the modern game and all the whingers with them, black, white, blue, or green. I am sick of it. I am not a racist, I am a dinosaur, who has meet black c___s, white c___s, mongrel c___s, as I roamed in my own part of the world.

The worsts c___s I have come across are the righteous moral high ground c___s who look down their noses at all others and tries to tell them how to eat, live, sh!t and die. When the truth is told (or found out) the righteous moral high groud c____s are the worst by a c___ntry mile.

I've captain coached a team half full of blokes from a mission. You should of heard what I called them. BUT .... you should of heard what they called me. It wasn't being racist it was part of life. But we were brothers in arms when it came to our Footy team. We went to war together every weekend, then had more then a few and continued with the "racist" banter and any other banter we wanted to engage in.

In the heat of the battle of a first grade rugby league games things get said that should be kept within the limits of that field. Its no big deal. Being called that or a white useless c___t is the same as copping your face getting pushed into the grass after a tackle.

I must have to walk outside and have a reality check I guess.

Oh and by the way is Choc Mundane fighting tonight. Why is he, and he himself calls himself Choc. Is the Press allowed to call him Choc. So lets just say Choc came from Nigeria or somewhere around that part of the world, is it racist to call him Dark Choc.

In my opinion Rugby League players are amongst the most non racist people in the world. Things get said on the field ... so what.

Oh and yeah give the captaincy to Paris ... it is symbolic of our past and our future.

"Anyone see Dessie outburst re the ref?"

Declared Idiot #88

Nice one Quigs.
I prefer the original version of SOO.

Tom Raudonikos was sticking up for Gallen on the tv this morning.
He said he called big artie every racist name you could imagine but they were great mates after the game.
The were room mates on tour.

Tommy must have forgotten about his own last name. :)

samshark

Who gives a f**k. The black merkin tried to break his hand by standing on it. The white merkin then called him a black merkin. Big f**ken deal!!

You're exactly right, but then we live in this pathetic soft society where organisations like the NRL are so scared about upsetting a few people. This whole racial vilification has gone way over the top as well. You'd be amazed at some of the words spoken that get accused of being racist comments in the area of Sydney where I work. You literally cant say the word black without being accused of something.

Godz Illa

Oh and by the way is Choc Mundane fighting tonight. Why is he, and he himself calls himself Choc.
In case you really did want to know...

In some ways, he's still like the boy who so loved chocolate - smearing it across his face until it resembled a beard - that friends and family called him "Choc''.
Even now, Choc stops eating dairy products four or five days before his fights, having determined that they hinder his breathing. Chocolate, though, he keeps eating until two days beforehand.

http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/story/0,22049,22870928-5001023,00.html

Sam I think you hit the nail right on the head.

Some of you people need to get out of the Sydney CBD and see the rest of Australia.

People actually live "normal" lives outside of Sydney.

They can call people "names" in jest, in the heat of the moment, or just downright being rude, but then life goes on.

It doesn't come to a grinding halt while we hold a constitutional hearing on the ins and outs of the result of such name calling and the effect it will have on our childrens childrens future.

Declared Idiot #88

dovif

This is just another nail in the coffin for this current board of directors.[/QUOTE]

I am suggesting that unless the club is runned by idiots, they would have talked to some of the other players and would have been told that Gallen said .... They then sack him of his captaincy

If they were idiots, they would have went, OMG who would have known that calling a black guy black would cause an uproar, we better sack Gallen

spider

If you didnt say it - you would fight tooth and nail to clear your name

Thats all that needs to be said really

I have spoken to some reliable sources on the incident and from those conversations i dont think Gal will fight the fine

dovif

Sam I think you hit the nail right on the head.

Some of you people need to get out of the Sydney CBD and see the rest of Australia.

People actually live "normal" lives outside of Sydney.

They can call people "names" in jest, in the heat of the moment, or just downright being rude, but then life goes on.

It doesn't come to a grinding halt while we hold a constitutional hearing on the ins and outs of the result of such name calling and the effect it will have on our childrens childrens future.

Declared Idiot #88

Gallen is captain of the Sharks, he is a leader! That is the big difference, Fletcher said exactly the same thing, lost his captaincy, got fine $10k and missed a week. Gallen got off lightly so far

He is supposed to be a role model for the younger players and young blokes playing the same. He is not doing a good job for a "captain"