Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gallop not interested in RU merger

:roll:

Union has been trying to kill League for over a century. Not just in Australia but every single nation where both codes have been played. The less we have to do with scumf**kers like John O'Neill the better.

exactly.

lets get rid of them while we have the chance.

now they are weak they are asking for our help.

when the RUWC was a success, oneill was saying union would take over league.

Dragons_#1

To be honest.... i dont think union will ever die in Australia.....u go to all the schools, private or public and they play union (yes they may play league aswell but the competition is much stronger in union)... u go overseas and u here nothing about league...all union!! Look at unions world cup compared to league, massive difference!

Im not saying one is better than another ...trust me i LOVE the dragons and will for a long time....

In australia D#1, it is strong in schools (some schools) it is as weak as in the nationwide competitions. S 14's is a joke compared to NRL. Yawnion cannot survive in Australia on the international standing of the game alone. It is dying a slow death.

Teddyboy

A recent Roy Morgan poll indicated that Rugby League was in fact the code with the most affluent support in this country.

Soccer's international side is pretty much killing that kind of corporate support for RU anyway.

I too am, in principle a supporter of a merger.

In support of a merger that sees the Blues, Chiefs, Hurricanes, Crusaders, Reds and Force in the NRL and Union disbanded in Australia and New Zealand forever.

I would love to see the Super 14 sides in the NRL or see the NRL playing all the Union touring sides under the ELV's laws.
But it's got to be one or the other.

Dragons_#1

In australia D#1, it is strong in schools (some schools) it is as weak as in the nationwide competitions. S 14's is a joke compared to NRL. Yawnion cannot survive in Australia on the international standing of the game alone. It is dying a slow death.

Seriously, no way super 14's a joke.... look how competitive it is, Australia have 4 teams, NZ have 5 teams, South Africa have 5 teams..... it has just expanded and survived... the nsw comp is just as strong as nsw league...

It will be interesting to see what develops in the future...

but Johnsy....GO YOU DRAGONS!!!

God-King Dean

" I think we know there is a gorilla in the room called AFL and we know football (soccer) is the big mover and shaker. "

No footy (rugby league) fan calls soccer 'football'.

Seriously, no way super 14's a joke.... look how competitive it is, Australia have 4 teams, NZ have 5 teams, South Africa have 5 teams..... it has just expanded and survived... the nsw comp is just as strong as nsw league...

It will be interesting to see what develops in the future...

but Johnsy....GO YOU DRAGONS!!!

you are aware that the entire Super 14 season got as many viewers as a single orgin game.

if thats not a joke, then you dont have a sense of humour.

union is a small sport in australia and its getting smaller.

Nerd

I don't agree with Gallop on many things but it was a good call to have nothing to do with union. The only thing that will save them is to apply to enter a team in the NRL.

lol, why would they enter a team in the NRL? That's basically just giving in.

Stupidest idea I've ever heard.

Having said that, a NRL Team v Super 14 hybrid promotional match would possibly sell out ANZ Stadium, if the right teams were picked.

LordLeague

International Rugby league has an amazing history that we should be extremely proud of. The history of our great World Cup should be shouted from the rooftops. Once the Frogs start causing a few upsets (not too far away) International RL will start to explode. This World Cup is already looking like a massive success.

Despite the Gay-FL funded scare campaign in full swing at the moment (please don't buy into it guys) I have a strong sense that Rugby League is on the brink of something special. All fans need to unite and stay positive.

As for Onion. Just mention Rugby League within the grounds of most GPS schools and you get laughed right out the front gate. RL is simply not welcome in these institutions due to bigotted class-conscious farks that run them. Young boys are virtually brainwashed against Rugby League and are taught the "virtues" of Onion in all its glorious purity. (eeerrgrh I'm vomiting) They leave the school just like their fathers who left 30 years earlier after undergoing the same "sterilisation".

The ARL/NRL should be exposing the schools that don't allow RL, when they allow tennis AFL, soccer, and Onion. There is clear discrimination here and the schools should be called on the issue. The prime junior strategy should be to infiltrate these institutions and extablish Rugby League. Given the choice, and without the incessant brainwashing, young men can do something Rugby Union has been trying to prevent for over 100 years, exercise their freedom of choice. Bye Bye Rugby Union.

Want RL to grow and flourish? Let's get along to the World cup this year and show all those would be corporate sponsors that we can pack out stadiums and are worthy of the lucrative corporate dollar.

That is all for now.

LordLeague

Cheezel

Get the NRL or ARL to associate/take over OzTag and push that hard into schools. We don't need to associate with Union.

Agree, Aus Tag and touch footy are just simpler versions of League anyway. Just like the AFL and AusKick.

100 years of hate should stop League and Union getting into bed together in Australia. Because as soon as the AFL threat is gone Union will continue from where they left off and back stab league at every corner.

Misanthrope

I'll accept a merger if the rules to RL don't change, and we don't have to accept any of their clubs. I just want the Union money and international scene :p

Well if RL was in the trouble the doom-sayers (of which Gallop has been one) reckon it is, then this would have been a good opportunity for the game to get stronger by turning an enemy into a ally would it not?
There used to be a lot kill off RL rhetoric from O'Neil and now he's offering an olive branch. Sounds like he's desperate. Seems to me that RL is a lot stronger than we have been led to believe.

Cheezel

International Rugby league has an amazing history that we should be extremely proud of. The history of our great World Cup should be shouted from the rooftops. Once the Frogs start causing a few upsets (not too far away) International RL will start to explode. This World Cup is already looking like a massive success.

Despite the Gay-FL funded scare campaign in full swing at the moment (please don't buy into it guys) I have a strong sense that Rugby League is on the brink of something special. All fans need to unite and stay positive.

As for Onion. Just mention Rugby League within the grounds of most GPS schools and you get laughed right out the front gate. RL is simply not welcome in these institutions due to bigotted class-conscious farks that run them. Young boys are virtually brainwashed against Rugby League and are taught the "virtues" of Onion in all its glorious purity. (eeerrgrh I'm vomiting) They leave the school just like their fathers who left 30 years earlier after undergoing the same "sterilisation".

The ARL/NRL should be exposing the schools that don't allow RL, when they allow tennis AFL, soccer, and Onion. There is clear discrimination here and the schools should be called on the issue. The prime junior strategy should be to infiltrate these institutions and extablish Rugby League. Given the choice, and without the incessant brainwashing, young men can do something Rugby Union has been trying to prevent for over 100 years, exercise their freedom of choice. Bye Bye Rugby Union.

Want RL to grow and flourish? Let's get along to the World cup this year and show all those would be corporate sponsors that we can pack out stadiums and are worthy of the lucrative corporate dollar.

That is all for now.

LordLeague

I agree, the Rugby league World Cup is already shaping up as a cracker!

We will see how far France has come at the end of the month when they play England in Toulouse.

Every Rugby League Fan should get to one of the games. It's time to support the international game and throw an uppercut at AFL. Yawnion is already down for the count and not worth worrying about.

Cheezel

Well if RL was in the trouble the doom-sayers (of which Gallop has been one) reckon it is, then this would have been a good opportunity for the game to get stronger by turning an enemy into a ally would it not?
There used to be a lot kill off RL rhetoric from O'Neil and now he's offering an olive branch. Sounds like he's desperate. Seems to me that RL is a lot stronger than we have been led to believe.

Agree, the NRL have there own agenda. The game as a whole is in great health in NSW and QLD with Melbourne improving year on year. Yes the game does have its issues (Which the Media always blow out). Rugby League has the most critical fans of any sporting code in the world. That's why it will be around for many of hundreds of years to come. League always has the fans keeping the administrators on there toes.

Teddyboy

League is a joke at the mo when more people turn up for one game of AFL then they do for an entire round of NRL.
Rugby Union is not the enemy anymore as it does and has have a crossover of players,fans and coaches.
The NRL is holding back what could be a great game and if the likes of the english,welsh and who ever else in european Rugby Union reject the ELV's laws then both codes are f**ked.

League is a joke at the mo when more people turn up for one game of AFL then they do for an entire round of NRL.

But there's nothing new about AFL crowds being greater than RL's. It's been that way since day dot and both codes have thrived in their own way.

Rugby union however..:lol:

Cheezel

Rugby Union is not the enemy anymore as it does and has have a crossover of players,fans and coaches.
The NRL is holding back what could be a great game and if the likes of the english,welsh and who ever else in european Rugby Union reject the ELV's laws then both codes are f**ked.

No Teddybear

Yawnion is f**ked. League is going fine. Record ratings, up to this round the second largest amount of fans through the gate in the NRL. Things are going good mate but always room for improvement.

O"Neill is just slowing down the sinking of the Super 14's. With that $90 Million profit from the 2003 WC all but gone, the ARU realise that they are going to have to pull a rabbit out of there hat to keep the Super 14's afloat.

That is all for now.

LordLeague

thats a shame thats all you posted.

if helps balance some of the more idiotic opinions on here which havent got a clue about the history of international league

eelandia

Somehow, RL needs to reinvent International footy.

The changes being made to SL in Europe will see a significant improvement in this. They will be reducing the number of available overseas players in coming seasons. This will stop the drain in Australia, and promote local growth. NZ needs a 2nd team.

Once international footy is back, RU is stuffed and AFL is reduced to being a local competition without much value. Well, beside a hybrid game against some crazy Irish dudes once a year.

You mean Irish amateurs.