Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Galloway & Gibbs

N.C.

Where are the nay-sayers now?

Galloway's still only playing at half-pace, but he looks a lot more dangerous this year. Putting a few shots on and running hard, even bending the line once or twice. Great offload last week too. More room to improve but finally on the right track I reckon... Bring it on!

Gibbs is still an idiot who likes to give away stupid penalties close to the line but I have been surprised by a couple of his tackle-breaks this year - even bumping defenders off and making metres up the sideline! Sure that was only against Souths but that sort of thing should do wonders for his confidence... Now if only he could work out how to find a support player once he's cleared the line.

Wrighty79

I've always had a massive wrap on Galloway. He's a bloody good player, and will only be getting better as the years progress.

Tiger Hawk

Yep our front-row strikes fear into the heart of opposition teams.....

I said at the start of the year that as Galloway was in a contract year he would no doubt up his game. He needs more game time however Sheens sticks to his substitution patterns and I don't see that changing. As it is, he is playing better but there is a long way to go before he's considered a top line prop. Gibbs, well his ruck defence is fantastic and the last two games back from injury he's shown a willingness to take the ball up the guts. Needs an off-load and probably more of a concerted effort in attack but has shown improvement the last two games.

Both need to perform for an entire season before I think of them as anything other than average first grade props. It is still a big weakness in our team and an area I hope the club addresses before the start of 2009.

N.C.

Mate, I'm not about to call them up for Origin, and I'm surprised to see Gibbs in the City side... But it's a nice change to look at our front row and see some genuine props playing there, even if they are yet to set the world on fire...

Adman

it's round 7, plenty of time for the Tiges to fall flat on their face, reach the finals and I'll be happy.

hybrid_tiger

Galloway has been excellent and it pains me to see him sitting on the bench so long. What is the go there?

Gibbs IMO has not been great and on Sunday in the first 15 minutes he dropped the ball and gave away two stupid penalties. Has a long way to go and didn't deserve to make the City side.

Galloway has been excellent and it pains me to see him sitting on the bench so long. What is the go there?

Gibbs IMO has not been great and on Sunday in the first 15 minutes he dropped the ball and gave away two stupid penalties. Has a long way to go and didn't deserve to make the City side.

One penalty involved three WTs including Gibbs lifting a Sharks player, the second was Nutley hanging onto Gibbs head in a tkle and suckering in Hayne.
He does need to do more in attack though

Both need to perform for an entire season before I think of them as anything other than average first grade props. It is still a big weakness in our team and an area I hope the club addresses before the start of 2009.
I don't think there's really that many quality front rowers in the comp at present, nor are there many coming through.

The game is starting to get flooded with back rowers everywhere, but no real props.

rupertpupkin

I don't think there's really that many quality front rowers in the comp at present, nor are there many coming through.

The game is starting to get flooded with back rowers everywhere, but no real props.

Cashmere's pretty good. Be nice to have him to flesh out the front row.

Gibbs is a baby in prop terms ... so is Galloway I guess ... but I have more hope for Gibbs really kicking on. He plays big minutes, is a good defender and very mobile and will only get better. Smeg obviously views him different ..

hybrid_tiger

I think he's on the improve in that regard.

Galloway is clearly our number one metre eater and probably our best offloader as well. His charges yesterday were very strong and his second stint was excellent.

This year I've noted he is playing the ball alot quicker which results in more chance for Farah etc. to scoot from dummy half.

The one thing I would like to see him improve is his pace hitting the line. He can run quicker IMO and needs to get the ball at speed. With Morris at hooker this won't happen, with Farah it will.

tiger_nick

this year has been the first time since 05 that our pack has actually aimed up and taken on opposition packs. finally heighno has some friends helping him.

simon says

IMO Galloway is THE man.....and I agree he doesnt get enough game time.

He is by far the biggest metres per run man,and he pulls off some cracking hits.

This year he looks more mobile,and seems to pull a few penalties as players really try to dominate him in the ruck.....which is pretty hard.

Gibbs.....I just dont rate him.He works his bum off.....but the stupid penalties and not enough metres.

Vicious

In my opinion they are the 2 best young props in the game and both are good enough to be playing SOO within 2 years. It was an injustice that Chad Robinson was chosen to replace the injured Jason King in the City side. Keith Galloway on form should have got the call up, no ifs and buts about it. Whatever we do, don`t move either Galloway or Gibbs from our starting line up, they will be dominant in the back half of this season and we need to re-sign Galloway in the same urgency we need to re-sign Heighington and Te`o !

Once Dead

I wholeheartedly agree. My problem with Galloway is that he does not get enough game time.....he's leaner and looks like he has got much more in the tank than he ends up using......he's very, very good when he takes the line on and his offloads are getting better and better. The only issue of extending his contract would be the money issue....surely another club will offer more.

Gibbs is a perennial pain who has not lived up to the hype yet.....

Wrighty79

I wholeheartedly agree. My problem with Galloway is that he does not get enough game time.....he's leaner and looks like he has got much more in the tank than he ends up using......he's very, very good when he takes the line on and his offloads are getting better and better. The only issue of extending his contract would be the money issue....surely another club will offer more.

Gibbs is a perennial pain who has not lived up to the hype yet.....

We paid overs to get him out of the hell hole I call "Cronulla", hopefully he'll show a bit of loyalty to us and we ca get him for the same money. And, if we don't surely there'll be no chance that we'll be re-signing O'Hara who'd be on more than Gall, so transfer some of his pay to Gall and away we go - Big Red Stitched up for another 3 years!!

He makes 10m for sh*t per hit up and that's ambling ... if only he ran hard he'd be a ginger willie mason. There were blokes on the hill on sunday calling him edmed every time he got it. At least Galloway catches it ...

Tiger Hawk

I used to think that as well but maybe he's just not capable of running faster. I'm 6'5" myself and, whilst nowhere near a pro footy player, you're just not that mobile at that size. Willie's had years of running at centres to hone his speed, Galloway goes up the guts.