Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Galvin v the Tigers

I get where Galvin’s coming from, you don’t get the opportunity to learn from a super coach like Jason Ryles very often
To be fair, Jason Ryles has had a ten year coaching apprenticeship with the Storm, Roosters, English RU, and u19s NSW. He’s not had a great start, sure, but he ain’t win three spoons in a row like Benji, who got his coaching spot after a one year post footy commentary gig.

There are degrees though, letting self interest be the sole criteria can lead to a sport becoming irrelevant.

As corrupt as FIFA is, having a transfer system that the entire world adhere to, means that at least those at the bottom of the chain get some reward for their investment in junior development.

A player draft is also something that would be of great benefit to the NRL. People will say "the players dont want it" but in reality its the clubs who are against, especially the bigger clubs who want to be able to recruit whoever they want.

For example in some other sports, Galvin would have to enter into the player draft, and the Tigers would be compensated by either money, draft picks or other players.

There isn't any professional sport I know of that has a "draft" for players who hit free agency outside of the AFL, and even they have now allowed some form of limited free agency. Heck in football, free agency happened after Jean-Marc Bosman took the Belgian FA, his club Liege, and UEFA to court when they prevented him from moving to a French club after his contract with Liege had expired. He won as it was ruled a restraint of trade by the European courts.

Same with NSWRL transfer fees, when Dennis Tutty took the NSWRL to court over the transfer fee Balmain slapped on him when his contract had expired. In 1971 the High Court ruled it a restraint of trade and killed it off.

Then get to 1991 when Terry Hill and 126 players took the NSWRL to court over the draft. The High Court ruled the draft a restraint of trade, which killed it off.

There isn't any professional sport I know of that has a "draft" for players who hit free agency outside of the AFL, and even they have now allowed some form of limited free agency. Heck in football, free agency happened after Jean-Marc Bosman took the Belgian FA, his club Liege, and UEFA to court when they prevented him from moving to a French club after his contract with Liege had expired. He won as it was ruled a restraint of trade by the European courts.

Same with NSWRL transfer fees, when Dennis Tutty took the NSWRL to court over the transfer fee Balmain slapped on him when his contract had expired. In 1971 the High Court ruled it a restraint of trade and killed it off.

Then get to 1991 when Terry Hill and 126 players took the NSWRL to court over the draft. The High Court ruled the draft a restraint of trade, which killed it off.

Meh. The whole furore over a draft is classic trade Union BS. A massive number of standard employment contracts have much greater restraint of trade lawfully written into them.

All the NRL would have to do is demonstrate it was reasonable in the furtherance of the overall goals of the competition. There's absolutely no reason it wouldn't get up, especially if it used a model that already exists .

But clubs don't want an even competition and neither do player managers. And the RLPA, like every other union, is fighting to stay relevant in a world that mostly no longer needs unions

Meth

Reporting now is that Marshall went to the Senior Players, rather than the other way around

To be fair, Jason Ryles has had a ten year coaching apprenticeship with the Storm, Roosters, English RU, and u19s NSW. He’s not had a great start, sure, but he ain’t win three spoons in a row like Benji, who got his coaching spot after a one year post footy commentary gig.
Neither has Benji, learning some facts would be helpful.

Canard

Ironically to go to Wests of all clubs! And refuse to play for the Chooks.

Im talking about the Tigers being able trade him whilst he is under contract. If they could, for example, secure some future draft picks from the Eels, it would be easier to swallow.

Ironically to go to Wests of all clubs! And refuse to play for the Chooks.

Im talking about the Tigers being able trade him whilst he is under contract. If they could, for example, secure some future draft picks from the Eels, it would be easier to swallow.

He wanted to play at Wests to be coached by Warren Ryan. Ironically, Hill lasted until the end of 1993 and was so disenchanted under Ryan, he left and went to Manly for 1994.

A draft isn't going to happen. I like the people saying "but if the NRL argued "x" grounds it'd stand". Yeah, right. If you believe that, I have a nice house to sell you with great views of Sydney Harbour. It has a soaring white tiled roof :rolleyes: :p

He wanted to play at Wests to be coached by Warren Ryan. Ironically, Hill lasted until the end of 1993 and was so disenchanted under Ryan, he left and went to Manly for 1994.

A draft isn't going to happen. I like the people saying "but if the NRL argued "x" grounds it'd stand". Yeah, right. If you believe that, I have a nice house to sell you with great views of Sydney Harbour. It has a soaring white tiled roof :rolleyes: :p

If you wanna have a dig mate, at least do it with a quote? I never said that btw. But my vibe is you don't know enough about the subject to understand the difference

Just not under a coach who’s done it all as a half … or next to a 4x premiership winning 5/8 apparently lol

if the rumours are true about him wanting more of a voice on the field, I’m not sure Moses is much different to Luai on the field in terms of being a dominant voice

I’m starting to lean towards he just didn’t get along with the new recruits that came in and it escalated fast
I’m not sure about that; from afar looking in, it has always seemed like he had one foot out the door.

Trifili13

How much do you want for it?

simmo05

Meh. The whole furore over a draft is classic trade Union BS. A massive number of standard employment contracts have much greater restraint of trade lawfully written into them.

All the NRL would have to do is demonstrate it was reasonable in the furtherance of the overall goals of the competition. There's absolutely no reason it wouldn't get up, especially if it used a model that already exists .

But clubs don't want an even competition and neither do player managers. And the RLPA, like every other union, is fighting to stay relevant in a world that mostly no longer needs unions
My pay and conditions are world class thanks to my union. I reckon they are more relevant than ever

Probably not the thread for a detailed discussion but I work with and against unions every day. All bar one or two make it much easier to work against them than with them.

Bargaining is just about their final relevance tbh. I also guarantee the CFMEU and HSU are not alone. They might be the sacrificial lambs, but there would have been an awful lot of shredding happening

simmo05

Probably not the thread for a detailed discussion but I work with and against unions every day. All bar one or two make it much easier to work against them than with them.

Bargaining is just about their final relevance tbh. I also guarantee the CFMEU and HSU are not alone. They might be the sacrificial lambs, but there would have been an awful lot of shredding happening
I can appreciate that. I was just replying to your comment.

Absolutely. And you're not wrong, there's no doubt at all that unions have been crucial historically in things like driving proper pay and conditions and the NES.