Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Galvin

Ned Kelly

"The simple truth is Galvin has no faith in his coach’s ability. In discussions with the club over the past week, the boom five-eighth’s camp told Wests Tigers powerbrokers Galvin didn’t believe he would develop to become the player he wanted to be under Marshall’s coaching.
Galvin’s representatives didn’t even want the Tigers to table an offer, such was their desire to look elsewhere from November 1.

Sources with knowledge of the situation, talking on the condition of anonymity due to the confidential nature of discussions, told the Herald that Galvin believed there was a ceiling on how far he could develop at the club, especially given Marshall’s tendency to appoint former Tigers teammates as assistant coaches."

If this is the case then that should be the end of it.
No more coaching from Benji.

"There is a view internally that Galvin is wary of Marshall’s close relationship with new recruit Jarome Luai.

While Galvin and Luai are civil, they don’t share a close bond and Galvin is understood to have been frustrated by the impact of being asked to play second fiddle to the four-time premiership-winning playmaker.

Luai also has a high opinion of back-up five-eighth Latu Fainu, who is currently unavailable after undergoing surgery on his thumb last week."

If the above is true than we should have seen the last of Galvin and Luai playing together.

Galvin must be worth about $2m a year given he knows better than Benji or Luai.

Ron's_Mate

No faith in Benji Marshall’s coaching: The reason Galvin walked away from Tigers
By Michael Chammas
April 14, 2025 — 4.01pm

The narrative will paint Lachlan Galvin out to be greedy, but this was never about money.

With the Wests Tigers on a seemingly upward trajectory, coach Benji Marshall’s rebuild this week took a huge knock when the game’s brightest young player decided to test his value on the open market.

The simple truth is Galvin has no faith in his coach’s ability. In discussions with the club over the past week, the boom five-eighth’s camp told Wests Tigers powerbrokers Galvin didn’t believe he would develop to become the player he wanted to be under Marshall’s coaching.

Galvin’s representatives didn’t even want the Tigers to table an offer, such was their desire to look elsewhere from November 1.

Sources with knowledge of the situation, talking on the condition of anonymity due to the confidential nature of discussions, told the Herald that Galvin believed there was a ceiling on how far he could develop at the club, especially given Marshall’s tendency to appoint former Tigers teammates as assistant coaches.

That, combined with the genuine dislike between Marshall and Galvin’s agent Isaac Moses, meant the situation was always destined to end in tears.

It’s why for the past 18 months, despite carefully worded denials from all involved, Galvin has been looking for the exit door.

On Monday – following this masthead’s revelations that Galvin had knocked back the club’s best endeavours to try and keep him on what would have been a six-year upgrade and extension worth in close to $5.5 million – it all came to a head.

The issue had been bubbling away in the background in the lead-up to Sunday’s victory over Newcastle, prompting Marshall to confront his young five-eighth and call him into his office to discuss his future last week.

Marshall had been made aware that Galvin wasn’t willing to extend his contract with the club, and he wanted to know why the young prodigy didn’t want to be around.

Galvin told his coach he didn’t necessarily want to leave, but was keen to test the market and see which clubs came knocking from November 1.

After making one last failed attempt to present an offer to Moses, the Tigers released a sternly worded statement on Monday shortly after the new-look board gathered for its monthly meeting.

It was an attempt to re-establish control of a situation by removing the Tigers from a race they knew they were no longer in, avoiding the prospect of being used as pawns in a bidding war to increase Moses’ asking price in negotiations with rival clubs.

“We would like to announce that Lachlan Galvin will not be with the club beyond the 2026 season,” the statement said.

“Despite the club having the largest contract offer for a junior in the history of the club on the table, Lachlan and his management have decided his future lies elsewhere and were not willing to review the offer.

“It should be noted that the club has NO intention of releasing Lachlan from his contract, and he has not requested this. Obviously, there will be a lot of speculation around this release, but we will make no further comment. The club is focused on winning as many games as possible during Lachlan’s tenure and beyond. The club is disappointed, but we move on.”

Some have suggested the Tigers were trying to spin the narrative to suggest the teenage playmaker was being unreasonable and that the club had done everything in its power to keep him.

Either way, it raises the question as to what the Tigers do next when it comes to Galvin and how this impacts on the team.

Within hours of the announcement that Galvin was leaving, Tigers prop Fonua Pole had already liked a post on a Wests Tigers supporter’s Instagram page taking a shot at the five-eighth for turning his back on the club.

“Unf---ingbelievable. We give you a shot at first grade and hand you the keys to the franchise with every tool possible around you to succeed cya mate,” said the Instagram post that Pole liked.

“Surely there’s no need to keep him around? Throw Doueihi or Bird at 6 until Latu returns if we’re serious about building and moving forward as a club.”

Some Tigers players have grown concerned at a perceived sense of entitlement from Galvin.

There is a view internally that Galvin is wary of Marshall’s close relationship with new recruit Jarome Luai.

While Galvin and Luai are civil, they don’t share a close bond and Galvin is understood to have been frustrated by the impact of being asked to play second fiddle to the four-time premiership-winning playmaker.

Luai also has a high opinion of back-up five-eighth Latu Fainu, who is currently injured and unavailable for a few weeks after undergoing surgery on his thumb last week.

The Tigers have a decision to make; do they continue to persist with Galvin or look to the future by ushering Fainu back into the side when he’s fit? Jack Bird and Adam Doueihi are also among potential five-eighth options at Marshall’s disposal.

Richardson and Marshall may look to make an example out of Galvin and relegate him back to reserve grade. Galvin’s contract for the next two years is worth $250,000-$350,000 and it wouldn’t hurt the club on the salary cap if he wasn’t playing regular NRL.

Richardson has regularly spoken about wanting players who are in for the crocodile roll – an analogy he uses in relation to his desire to have players who are committed to the cause.

Former player John Bateman, who this year left the club acrimoniously, has since mocked Richardson’s crocodile roll analogy on social media on multiple occasions.

Richardson has been desperate to regain the upper hand in negotiation battles with agents since starting at the club. He refused to give teenage sensation Onitoni Large a “Galvin clause” in contract negotiations last year that would have given him the opportunity to become a free agent if Galvin extended.

Richardson’s refusal to be dictated to by managers saw Large walk out on the club and join Manly – a move that could come back to bite the Tigers following revelations of Galvin’s exit.

It places the club in a potentially precarious position, with Luai also having an option in his favour that will make him a free agent on November 1 in the unlikely event he decides not to trigger the clause.

Galvin’s seed of uncertainty with the Wests Tigers dates back to his junior days at the club, when he was often used as a back-rower despite his belief he best belonged in a No.6 jersey.

Those doubts about the club only intensified in the summer of 2023, when the Tigers signed Latu Fainu, Jayden Sullivan and Jarome Luai on long and lucrative deals in a move that was interpreted as a lack of faith in Galvin.

It led to several requests for a release, all of which were rejected, leading into the 2024 season. It brought the issue to the surface and the outcome saw Galvin handed the No.6 jersey for the Tigers’ first game of the 2024 season.

His elevation into first grade has captured the attention of the game’s most respected figures, none more so than Bulldogs general manager Phil Gould.

“I’m excited to watch Lachlan Galvin,” he said on Wide World of Sports’ Six Tackles with Gus earlier in the year.

“I’m obsessed with him. I love watching him play... I’m excited to see how he goes with Jarome Luai at the West Tigers. I think in the future, whoever has Lachlan Galvin in their side will be winning premierships.

“I’m not even worried about putting wraps on the kid because he is probably the most exciting young playmaker I’ve seen coming through in a long time.”

The sub-plot to this is the fact Gould recently ended his decade-long feud with Moses, agreeing to meet with the influential agent.

Galvin has strong ties to the Bulldogs through assistant coach Luke Vella, who was Galvin’s coach as a junior at Westfield Sports High School.

The Bulldogs have been monitoring the Galvin situation for some time and are expected to be in the conversation. So, too, Parramatta, where Galvin played junior representative football before being let go by the club.

An opening at five-eighth with Dylan Brown to depart for Newcastle at season’s end has Parramatta fans excited, especially given Moses’ client and cousin is Eels halfback Mitchell Moses.

It would make sense for the Roosters to make a play, but chairman Nick Politis is privately refusing to ever speak with Isaac Moses after he was blindsided by Joseph Suaalii’s defection to rugby union last year.

Manly have an opening and a link into Moses through Anthony Seibold, but Galvin may be a stretch in their salary cap – even without Daly Cherry-Evans.

That’s a problem for November 1. For now, the Tigers have been left to pick up the pieces as history repeats itself. Another high-profile Moses client walking out on the club over concerns about coaching, as was the case when James Tedesco, Aaron Woods and Mitchell Moses left in 2017. Sound familiar?

chunk

Herald saying the same thing, gotta say, I'm surprised a 19yo has that type of ego, if it's true.

This sort of thing is just the media trying to get some clicks, where is the source or evidence. This crap is detrimental for the club.

If it's true come and say it, whoever it is.

Ron's_Mate

Galvin rocks player market after knocking back $5.5m Tigers deal to leave
By Michael Chammas, Dan Walsh and Danny Weidler
April 14, 2025 — 10.43am

Wests Tigers teenager Lachlan Galvin has turned the NRL player market on its head after knocking back a $5.5 million, six-year extension offer that prompted the Tigers to announce his exit at the end of 2026.

Galvin’s formal entry onto the market and the Tigers’ potentially club-defining call to withdraw from negotiations is set to trigger a slew of rival interest in one of the game’s best young playmakers.

The 19-year-old will be able to field formal offers from November 1 after Tigers chief executive Shane Richardson was told by Galvin’s manager Isaac Moses on Monday that his client had no interest in the Tigers extension.

The Tigers released an extraordinary club statement as a result, declaring Galvin would not be with the club beyond 2026, but that he is expected to see out the final 18 months of his current contract.

“We would like to announce that Lachlan Galvin will not be with the club beyond the 2026 season,” the Tigers statement said.

“Despite the club having the largest contract offer for a junior in the history of the club on the table, Lachlan and his management have decided his future lies elsewhere and were not willing to review the offer.

“It should be noted that the club has NO intention of releasing Lachlan from his contract, and he has not requested this.

“Obviously, there will be a lot of speculation around this release, but we will make no further comment. The club is focused on winning as many games as possible during Lachlan’s tenure and beyond. The club is disappointed, but we move on.”

Richardson declined to comment further on Monday, but reiterated that the Tigers would not entertain any request for Galvin to be able to begin formal negotiations with rival clubs earlier than November 1.

The Tigers had been prepared to upgrade Galvin’s deal for next season – believed to be worth around $350,000 – as part of a six-year extension offer. The breakdown in retention talks comes after multiple release requests from Galvin’s management last year, which the club rejected and were ultimately withdrawn.

With Dylan Brown’s record-breaking $14 million, 10-year Knights move re-setting a market short on playmaking talent and a potentially increased salary cap from 2027 in line with a new broadcast deal, Galvin is expected to join the NRL’s million-dollar-a-year earners with his next deal.

His junior club Parramatta is likely to lead suitors given Brown’s exit, while Manly will have the funds to pursue Galvin as they plan for life without captain Daly Cherry-Evans beyond 2025.

Moses has strong ties at Manly, where he manages coach Anthony Seibold. The Sea Eagles, however, are already pursuing Canberra veteran Jamal Fogarty to help develop their own teenage playmakers Joey Walsh and Onitoni Large, who left the Tigers as Galvin was positioned as Jarome Luai’s long-term halves partner.

The Roosters have previously indicated they would not enter the race for Galvin and chairman Nick Politis refuses to deal with Moses.

Bulldogs boss Phil Gould, meanwhile, has recently ended his own feud with arguably the game’s most influential player manager, and has been effusive in praising Galvin since he came into first grade.

Speaking on Nine’s 100% Footy two weeks ago, Gould said it would be a “tragedy” for Galvin to leave the Tigers and expressed concern at seven-figure offers being tabled before his 20th birthday.

“It’s brilliant money [but] it puts a lot of pressure and scrutiny on him,” Gould said.

“He probably shouldn’t be on that money at that age, there is no reason to do that to a young kid. Neither the club or his manager will allow that to happen.”

The Tigers themselves will be cashed up from 2026 given Galvin had been the backbone of their long-term planning in partnership with Luai.

Latu Fainu has impressed influential figures at the club since Luai’s arrival and is at this stage viewed as Galvin’s replacement in the halves.

This sort of thing is just the media trying to get some clicks, where is the source or evidence. This crap is detrimental for the club.

If it's true come and say it, whoever it is.
Well, I guess w need now if what the WT site has released is true, I would say where there's smoke, there's fire.
But it is disappointing that it's even happening now.

simmo1

Galvin would look better if he admitted it was about money rather than trying to white ant the coach.

If (and it's a big if, given his scummy manager's penchant for making up shit to the media) the story is true then I'm glad he is out the door. No player is bigger than the club.

What the f**k would a rookie know about who is and isn't a good coach?

Nutz

Galvin rocks player market after knocking back $5.5m Tigers deal to leave
By Michael Chammas, Dan Walsh and Danny Weidler
April 14, 2025 — 10.43am

Wests Tigers teenager Lachlan Galvin has turned the NRL player market on its head after knocking back a $5.5 million, six-year extension offer that prompted the Tigers to announce his exit at the end of 2026.

Galvin’s formal entry onto the market and the Tigers’ potentially club-defining call to withdraw from negotiations is set to trigger a slew of rival interest in one of the game’s best young playmakers.

The 19-year-old will be able to field formal offers from November 1 after Tigers chief executive Shane Richardson was told by Galvin’s manager Isaac Moses on Monday that his client had no interest in the Tigers extension.

The Tigers released an extraordinary club statement as a result, declaring Galvin would not be with the club beyond 2026, but that he is expected to see out the final 18 months of his current contract.

“We would like to announce that Lachlan Galvin will not be with the club beyond the 2026 season,” the Tigers statement said.

“It should be noted that the club has NO intention of releasing Lachlan from his contract, and he has not requested this.

“Obviously, there will be a lot of speculation around this release, but we will make no further comment. The club is focused on winning as many games as possible during Lachlan’s tenure and beyond. The club is disappointed, but we move on.”

Richardson declined to comment further on Monday, but reiterated that the Tigers would not entertain any request for Galvin to be able to begin formal negotiations with rival clubs earlier than November 1.

The Tigers had been prepared to upgrade Galvin’s deal for next season – believed to be worth around $350,000 – as part of a six-year extension offer. The breakdown in retention talks comes after multiple release requests from Galvin’s management last year, which the club rejected and were ultimately withdrawn.

With Dylan Brown’s record-breaking $14 million, 10-year Knights move re-setting a market short on playmaking talent and a potentially increased salary cap from 2027 in line with a new broadcast deal, Galvin is expected to join the NRL’s million-dollar-a-year earners with his next deal.

His junior club Parramatta is likely to lead suitors given Brown’s exit, while Manly will have the funds to pursue Galvin as they plan for life without captain Daly Cherry-Evans beyond 2025.

Moses has strong ties at Manly, where he manages coach Anthony Seibold. The Sea Eagles, however, are already pursuing Canberra veteran Jamal Fogarty to help develop their own teenage playmakers Joey Walsh and Onitoni Large, who left the Tigers as Galvin was positioned as Jarome Luai’s long-term halves partner.

The Roosters have previously indicated they would not enter the race for Galvin and chairman Nick Politis refuses to deal with Moses.

Bulldogs boss Phil Gould, meanwhile, has recently ended his own feud with arguably the game’s most influential player manager, and has been effusive in praising Galvin since he came into first grade.

Speaking on Nine’s 100% Footy two weeks ago, Gould said it would be a “tragedy” for Galvin to leave the Tigers and expressed concern at seven-figure offers being tabled before his 20th birthday.

“It’s brilliant money [but] it puts a lot of pressure and scrutiny on him,” Gould said.

“He probably shouldn’t be on that money at that age, there is no reason to do that to a young kid. Neither the club or his manager will allow that to happen.”

The Tigers themselves will be cashed up from 2026 given Galvin had been the backbone of their long-term planning in partnership with Luai.

Latu Fainu has impressed influential figures at the club since Luai’s arrival and is at this stage viewed as Galvin’s replacement in the halves.

I always enjoy reading your posts mate especially since you go to the trouble of putting the whole article up and not just a link.

chunk

Galvin would look better if he admitted it was about money rather than trying to white ant the coach.

If (and it's a big if, given his scummy manager's penchant for making up shit to the media) the story is true then I'm glad he is out the door. No player is bigger than the club.

Thats right and what about Luai, surely playing with him would be extremely helpful.

Nutz

Exactly, he hasn't earned the right to have an opinion, he's not in the leadership group.
He comes across as a spoilt little bratt.
He has to come out and publically denouce all this as a media beat up or he can go, that's right, get out, scram.

RedVee

If anything, we have mollycoddled the boy.
When that teachers pet comment was made by Galvin about Luai, it struck a chord. Luai laughed it off but I think Jarome was annoyed by it.
Coming from a kid was a bit much.
As far as I'm comcerned we should let him go right now to see who snaps him up, see who most likely broke the rules. They won't admit to have offered a contract on the QT but it has for sure.
We should release him and get compensation from the other club.
We then use Mason as a ½ until Latu is ready to go and we've got Luai and AD combo as well.
Nutz old mate, I’d stick the little twerp into NSW Cup to see out his contract.

This is set up beautifully for a “signed at xxx club for less money” like Saints are unfortunately getting used to.

Stinks. There is a group of leeches (oops managers) that have clubs they favour in their dealings. Group? Maybe cabal is a better term for them.

Thats right and what about Luai, surely playing with him would be extremely helpful.
The thing is, Benji was instrumental in getting most, if not all our new players this season, and a few have said how much they admire Benji, future training sessions will be interesting.

Nutz

Nutz old mate, I’d stick the little twerp into NSW Cup to see out his contract.

This is set up beautifully for a “signed at xxx club for less money” like Saints are unfortunately getting used to.

Stinks. There is a group of leeches (oops managers) that have clubs they favour in their dealings. Group? Maybe cabal is a better term for them.
Hello Red. You were right the first time mate, it is Leeches.
Na, I want him to have a presser and deny everything about Benji as a media beat up and pray for forgiveness or he can go right now.
We can win without him. We have halves options so he can take a walk.

The Rosco

I wish you blokes could have heard me swearing at LG most of the game on Sunday. Because then what I'm about to say might sound a little less like being a sore loser.
I DGAF what he "might" become. What sort of player he "could" be. How big his potential is.
Right here, right now . . . sure, he's fit. Sure, he loves being involved in everything.
BUT . . . how many times has he fkkd up clear opportunities like 2 man overlaps, or echoed Luke Brooks and put a grubber into the back fence ( followed immediately by another one). Crabbed across field worse than Noffa ever did ?
Hogged the ball to murder a chance down the right ? I could go on, but I hope you boys get it.
We casually overlooked all these negative traits in his play because we might have fallen under the spell of every arsehole commentator telling us he's the next BIG thing.
While it's real hard to not sound childish when we criticise him after he told us to GFO . . . grab a beer and watch replays of all our games this year. And watch him with a totally unbiased eye. No favouritism, no hatred.
Then watch Latu's few games for us with the same scrutiny.
Then, grab another beer and know that while the media flogs itself over this kid, we will finally have someone to bargain with, that is desperately wanted by another club, that we can trade for a great forward, or tall speedy back. And that we have someone that's very close to a like for like replacement.
Then, grab another beer and relax. ;)

Nutz

He's got as much chance of playing finals footy with us who are a club rebuilding and on the rise. He goes to another club who will pay overs and choke their cap.
There's nothing guaranteed in the NRL.
The chant used to be Football, Meat Pies, Kangaroos and Holden Cars.
Now it's Foozball, Vegan, Schnoodles and Latte Bars. There's nothing manly about league, we're doomed I say, doomed.

Woody90

I didn’t realise he was such a little prick if those stories are true. You blokes should immediately start developing someone else and as soon as he offers as much as Galvin piss him off to reserves and throw away the key until the end of his contract (or the club he goes to offers you someone good).

I honestly don’t see how he and Benji can keep working other if there’s an ounce of truth to what’s been reported. Very stupid coming out with that reasoning and so early.

I didn’t realise he was such a little prick if those stories are true. You blokes should immediately start developing someone else and as soon as he offers as much as Galvin piss him off to reserves and throw away the key until the end of his contract (or the club he goes to offers you someone good).

I honestly don’t see how he and Benji can keep working other if there’s an ounce of truth to what’s been reported. Very stupid coming out with that reasoning and so early.
I'd be pretty sure, it's all coming from his manager, I doubt he'd say any of that tbh, he doesn't come across like that at all, but maybe he is, he needs to deny it or I doubt he'll be playing FG for long.