Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Galvin

Woody90

I'd be pretty sure, it's all coming from his manager, I doubt he'd say any of that tbh, he doesn't come across like that at all, but maybe he is, he needs to deny it or I doubt he'll be playing FG for long.

I don’t know to be honest. Moses is a snake but he’s not an idiot. He starts releasing false information about his players criticising their coaches and he’s going to lose clients. But yeah, I agree whether true or not though Galvin needs to come out and say something to clear the air.

I Bleed Maroon

Gee whiz this is humiliating for the Tigers. Not only rejected a 5 million dollar offer, but told the Tigers ahead of time don't bother to come knocking, and then the manager white ants the coach in the media..... I mean, what do you even say to any of that?

All around he and his management sound like a toxic little pair of turnips so maybe it's for the best.

Im not being a smartarse, but if the reason he is leaving is genuinely because of coaching then what attraction is Jason Ryles, Nathan Brown and Sam Moa?

I have Manly favs, Dogs second.
I think the dogs, if they keep going the way they are going atm.
But they would need to release one players, whereas the Eels and Manly don't and should have the money.
But can they wait nearly 2 seasons?

Pezz70

Poor kid, someone is spinning him
shit about Benji, truth be known, maybe Benji can’t coach but he has done everything in his power to get this kid some NRL experience.

I’d be inclined to sack him this week and bring Mason in til Fainu is right. The kid is no longer the future of the club why should we aid his development, back to NSW cup or mowing lawns

Mason at no7 Luai to 5/8

Gee whiz this is humiliating for the Tigers. Not only rejected a 5 million dollar offer, but told the Tigers ahead of time don't bother to come knocking, and then the manager white ants the coach in the media..... I mean, what do you even say to any of that?

All around he and his management sound like a toxic little pair of turnips so maybe it's for the best.
Agree, I was backing him until I read the article, it doesn't sound like Gal tbh, but it looks like he's made his bed.

Pezz70

Wh
I think the dogs, if they keep going the way they are going atm.
But they would need to release one players, whereas the Eels and Manly don't and should have the money.
But can they wait nearly 2 seasons?
Where would the dogs put him, Burton is a better player right now, Jacob Preston is killing it so there a no lock spot up for grabs

Poor kid, someone is spinning him
shit about Benji, truth be known, maybe Benji can’t coach but he has done everything in his power to get this kid some NRL experience.

I’d be inclined to sack him this week and bring Mason in til Fainu is right. The kid is no longer the future of the club why should we aid his development, back to NSW cup or mowing lawns
I agree with the sentiment, but we still should putting our best team on the park, at least until Latu is back. We do have a good opportunity to jump up the ladder over the next 4-5 games.
IMO, that's all that matters atm.

The Rosco

I agree with the sentiment, but we still should putting our best team on the park, at least until Latu is back. We do have a good opportunity to jump up the ladder over the next 4-5 games.
IMO, that's all that matters atm.
Listen mate, I've just spent 20 minutes on the bench grinder sharpening the tines of my bestest pitchfork.
Don't come in here with all that common sense when I'm looking for some revenge stabbin' action.

Listen mate, I've just spent 20 minutes on the bench grinder sharpening the tines of my bestest pitchfork.
Don't come in here with all that common sense when I'm looking for some revenge stabbin' action.
Could it be "someone" you know?

Im not being a smartarse, but if the reason he is leaving is genuinely because of coaching then what attraction is Jason Ryles, Nathan Brown and Sam Moa?

Please make that come true Vic. That would place all the pressure of running the team on Brooks' shoulders. A role we all know (including himself) he can't perform. And then watch the little snot develop under that. All while Turbo is injured for 2/3rds of the season.

I'd buy a Manly membership to watch that disaster unfold close up.

I still reckon the Dogs myself. I'd trust Gould about as much as a televangelist. He did say they weren't interested, which in Gould-speak probably means the contract is already signed.

WA Tiger

I wish you blokes could have heard me swearing at LG most of the game on Sunday. Because then what I'm about to say might sound a little less like being a sore loser.
I DGAF what he "might" become. What sort of player he "could" be. How big his potential is.
Right here, right now . . . sure, he's fit. Sure, he loves being involved in everything.
BUT . . . how many times has he fkkd up clear opportunities like 2 man overlaps, or echoed Luke Brooks and put a grubber into the back fence ( followed immediately by another one). Crabbed across field worse than Noffa ever did ?
Hogged the ball to murder a chance down the right ? I could go on, but I hope you boys get it.
We casually overlooked all these negative traits in his play because we might have fallen under the spell of every arsehole commentator telling us he's the next BIG thing.
While it's real hard to not sound childish when we criticise him after he told us to GFO . . . grab a beer and watch replays of all our games this year. And watch him with a totally unbiased eye. No favouritism, no hatred.
Then watch Latu's few games for us with the same scrutiny.
Then, grab another beer and know that while the media flogs itself over this kid, we will finally have someone to bargain with, that is desperately wanted by another club, that we can trade for a great forward, or tall speedy back. And that we have someone that's very close to a like for like replacement.
Then, grab another beer and relax. ;)
I couldn’t have put it better myself

Seibold is on the nose at Manly too, my friend. But who knows.

Nutz

I'd be pretty sure, it's all coming from his manager, I doubt he'd say any of that tbh, he doesn't come across like that at all, but maybe he is, he needs to deny it or I doubt he'll be playing FG for long.
His parents wouldn't even talk to Richo apparently which was why Richo went to the board.
I actually feel better after my afternoon meltdown
A lot of good posts on here and the common denominator is if Galvin talked ill of Benji then he's gone, and as far as I'm concerned, the sooner the better as long as we get compo or another good player.
WT and Benji helped develop that kid, secured him a spot in the NRL and has offered him a huge contract, biggest in club's history. So how does he repay us ...spits in our face.
Moses should be deregistered and we need compensation for ruining our season.
How can he be accepted by the players now, and Benji too.
I think it only to right to piss him off.
Why not KOE Cup....because that's not fair on their players too.
Let him legally accept offers right now with a transfer fee.

WA Tiger

"The simple truth is Galvin has no faith in his coach’s ability. In discussions with the club over the past week, the boom five-eighth’s camp told Wests Tigers powerbrokers Galvin didn’t believe he would develop to become the player he wanted to be under Marshall’s coaching.
Galvin’s representatives didn’t even want the Tigers to table an offer, such was their desire to look elsewhere from November 1.

Sources with knowledge of the situation, talking on the condition of anonymity due to the confidential nature of discussions, told the Herald that Galvin believed there was a ceiling on how far he could develop at the club, especially given Marshall’s tendency to appoint former Tigers teammates as assistant coaches."

If this is the case then that should be the end of it.
No more coaching from Benji.

"There is a view internally that Galvin is wary of Marshall’s close relationship with new recruit Jarome Luai.

While Galvin and Luai are civil, they don’t share a close bond and Galvin is understood to have been frustrated by the impact of being asked to play second fiddle to the four-time premiership-winning playmaker.

Luai also has a high opinion of back-up five-eighth Latu Fainu, who is currently unavailable after undergoing surgery on his thumb last week."

If the above is true than we should have seen the last of Galvin and Luai playing together.

Galvin must be worth about $2m a year given he knows better than Benji or Luai.
I’m even more convinced now he won’t be picked tomorrow