Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Game Day vs The Phins

shadowboxer

Sometimes it's great to be working and watching out of the corner of my eye
Much easier to stop watching..
Spot on. At the pub watching with mates is a damn lot easier at home. After the first half it became a blur for me.
I get the rage from all and sundry, but after that Warriors Sunday night debacle- it was game over for season 2023 for me. It’s like a lot of things in life, once you accept it, you just move on.
As Roy Batty once said “All those moments will be lost in time, like [coughs] tears in rain.”

shadowboxer

I feel terrible for sharing this, but I took the Dolphins and won $250 tonight. When you know, you know.

Does anyone remember last year when we were the raging hot favourites against Canberra? We played like Bludgers and got smacked.

When Bennett came out during the week and said “It’s not about me!” That is code for I am getting the boys super pumped for my 900th game and we are winning this game of football.

Let me share this piece of wisdom, if Cronulla were undefeated all season and the GF was played at Suncorp against the team that finished 8th, I guarantee we lose.

I think that there is too much “Newtown NSW Cup” style of play in our football which is spectacular against the weaker sides, but is exposed by a disciplined NRL team.
Thanks for this post - it is exactly what I am thinking and couldn’t have put it better.

Very flat after that. Got smoked by again not taking the opposition seriously. Our middles got bashed without BHU. When we went at the debuting fella we scored/broke the line with ease. Seems like our fellas freeze on the bigger stages. Magic round last year and this. Finals. Stick that game in front of 8k at Shark park we probably are better.

Ronnie making that break with such ease and knocking on was a bit of a sign.

Dale came on and the second set gave away a penalty when we had the ball which lead to a try then minutes later he missed a tackle for another try and the game was over. I'm concerned we have him on the books for another 2 years after this but I will chalk it up to rust.

Jack Williams I have seen enough. Need an upgrade but that doesn't happen till we get our starting props back.

They went back and did a lot of work on the game plan after the chooks game. Sam touched on it a little on Sharkcast this week. Essentially breaking the game into different sections of 5-10 minutes. Would be interesting to see how many of those contests we lost.

Too much back slapping during the week. I'd pull Nicho aside and tell him to stop talking about Origin and podcasts but I feel like he will do that anyway. edit - just watched the presser. He mentioned things he needs to do better in his preparation and looked ropable. Shut down the origin stuff and seemed annoyed by the question. I'll back him to have a blinder next week vs the club that didn't want him.
In terms of this SOO crap I think he's had bad advice. The man who hates no one suddenly and quite randomly comes out and says he hates Qld never sat right with me. Deadset meathead behaviour and out of character.

Ronnie the big head needs a couple of weeks in the blue of Newtown. He carries the ball like a NBL mug lair. It is not the first time he has lost it, had it dislodged, or just plain f**ked up.

After two minutes we could of been up 6 zot.

As for the rest of the game I think our blokes might of been reading too many newspapers.

Means Hiroti will play IMO. Stonestreet not ready. Ikavalu gone (got a try on debut in Catalans win over St Helens 2 days ago). Mansour the other reggies winger and he's a jet. Iro maybe. Tracey maybe

It's a bad psotion to be in when the next men up might give a better showing but don't have the ultimate class which we lack

Inferno

Awfully glad I didn't watch this game live.

Manly have a pretty sizeable pack and although they're down on troops it didn't stop the Dolphins from running straight through us. I reckon Holy Moly will have a field day next week against Moyza/Teig/Sifa.

DJDL

Very flat after that. Got smoked by again not taking the opposition seriously. Our middles got bashed without BHU. When we went at the debuting fella we scored/broke the line with ease. Seems like our fellas freeze on the bigger stages. Magic round last year and this. Finals. Stick that game in front of 8k at Shark park we probably are better.

Ronnie making that break with such ease and knocking on was a bit of a sign.

This seems something of a mini pattern with us.
If the line breaks and/or tries come too easily early on, they get over confident instead of sticking to the process.

It happened against the Warriors and a couple of others which I don't recall off the top of my head.
Fitz needs to address that shit asap.

Honestly, it was pretty plain to see early on: work hard, get yourselves in position, then run shape at the debutante and the opportunities will be there.
Sadly, they just seemed to think it would be a cake walk because we opened the Dolphins up with ease in the second set.

Pharquing dumbfounded at that performance.

DJDL

Disappointed watching that, but after my recent experiences over the past few weeks, I realise it's only footy and doesn't matter in the overall scheme of things.

A win would have been nice, though. :)

Sorry to read that you've been up against in lately, Feej.
I hope the prognosis is positive and you're well on your way back to health.

Just got my first Ha Ha Harhhh from a Dolphs supporter whilst downtown at the local CBD.

He had a grin from ear to ear but luckily for me I was quickly able to ask him how his former club was going.

Being the recently ex Stains supporter he sulked away quickly.

I'll take that as a bit of a win, not a good win mind you. Maybe a narrow points win only.

shadowboxer

It’s Wayne’s world war Z Quigs.
I feel for you up north - showing up like the way they did was rough. Glad I was at the pub though. Still hungover