What's new
The Front Row Forums

Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gidley IS a hooker

Hanscholo

Bench
I've been saying it for 5 years and last nights origin performance just re-enforced what i have always thought. Kurt Gidley is a hooker.

I thought he really sparked the NSW attack last night, with his energy and his options. Had Will Hopoate not gone off with an injury I think Kurt would have forced Ennis onto the bench for the remainder of the game, such was his impact.

I think Kurts best asset - his astonishing work rate is wasted at fullback, and i think he crabs sideways as a half or 5/8, but when he goes to dummy half the bloke plays straight and looks very comfortable.

Not sure what Wayne plans to do, but id love to see Gidley given time to develop himself there.

billy2

Juniors
He is in the top 5 fullbacks in the game easily.

He has been in the top 5 5/8s in the game and could be again if he played there regularly.

He is a firstgrade standard halfback.

He is a rep standard hooker despite having L plates on still.

I've never seen him play 80 minutes at lock, but I reckon he could do it for Australia tomorrow and not let anyone down.

He is a coach's dream. The player who can play any of the core positions and do it really well.

Hopefully when Wayne comes, barring injury, gids can consistantly play 1 position and learn the trade. He is a gun and as has been said time and time again he is sometimes a victim of his own versatility. He's a jack of all trades. Truly one of the greatest knights players of all time.