Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Good Blake Austin article from SMH

Ron's_Mate

Article from today's paper below. I know sports journos like to frame everything as a morality tale, but he sounds like a good bloke and I wish him well.

Wests Tigers recruit Blake Austin taught life lesson as coach of troubled teens

Daniel Lane
Published: December 15, 2013 - 3:00AM

Wests Tigers recruit Blake Austin thought he could teach a group of children from the wrong side of the tracks a bit about football when he volunteered to coach an under-16 team at Doonside in Sydney's west, but he quickly realised they needed much more than to be shown how to pass or kick a ball.

At the age of 22, the then-Penrith player became a father figure to 20 teenagers who were even written off by some of their club's officials as ''the uncoachables'' - an undisciplined bunch unworthy of anyone's time because their members were either in trouble with the law, a nightmare on and off the field and hurtling towards, at best, limited futures.

Austin admitted after just a few minutes into his tenure as coach of the Doonside Roos - a post he took on while he was sidelined by a long-term foot injury at the beginning of this year - he despaired as his team, which included two boys who needed to be home by 7pm because of a police curfew and another who missed every second week because he was in the juvenile justice system, hurled themselves into a brawl.

As he heard the words ''uncoachables'' hissed from committee members in the crowd, Austin knew he couldn't do the easy thing and walk away; couldn't add his name to the list of people who had given up on them because it was obvious ''his'' lads craved for someone to believe in them.

The man expected to take over Benji Marshall's No.6 jersey next year accepted the challenge and over the winter he taught them to have pride in the Doonside Roos maroon-and-white colours, to work towards a common goal and that they could belong, even in a joint that had expected only the worst from them, if they strove to improve.

''My younger brother has played alongside them for years but even in the club they labelled these kids 'the uncoachables' … it seemed everyone had given up on them and they didn't want to give them their time,'' Austin said.

''I had a good rapport with them and I wanted to teach them a bit about football, but it turned into something a bit more. Those kids taught me a lot … probably more than I did them.

''We had a squad of 20 kids and to give you an idea of the area, I only met three of the kids' parents. Three. These kids were catching trains to all our away games and they were living like adults. Two of them [have partners who] are having babies this off-season, and while that doesn't make them bad, it gives you an insight into their lives. I just wanted to be a positive influence.

''I became a constant in their lives, someone who was there for them. We trained two nights a week and for that hour we trained they listened, they learnt. But, when they went away it was back to their circles.

''I took them to the movies a few times; showed them something different. I guess they see me as one of their mates, but there is a line.''

Austin described watching the Uncoachables shine when they defeated St Clair 26-16 at Penrith's Centrebet Stadium in the 16(2) grand final as a treasured memory. ''They played good football,'' he said with an unmistakeable burst of pride. ''For the first few weeks [of the season] they couldn't get through a game without a fight, but when they stopped the silly stuff, they showed they could play.

''I'm going to coach them again next year, there's a couple of kids who should play in a higher division but they want to stay with their mates and that says a lot [about their loyalty]. These kids … mate, I'm not going to change them into saints or anything like that but if they can one day look back on their teenage years and think of their footy days as a good time, that'd be more then enough for me.

''If they remember I … tried … coached them and, you know, hung out with them, that'd be pretty special.''

Austin, who lived in Doonside before his family moved to Mount Druitt when he was 12, said no one should ever forget their roots but this off-season he has slaved to get to where he dreams of being - the Wests Tigers first-grade side.

Maybe, and we can only suppose this because Austin won't articulate it, he has tortured himself to emphasise to ''his'' 20 lads hard work has its rewards.

Regardless, this is the first off-season where Austin hasn't been in the ''fat boys' club'' and he said stripping nine kilos from his frame in an off-season that included driving from Penrith every Saturday to run the stairway to Hades at Coogee with his manager and former Kiwi league international Tyran Smith was a revelation.

''Over my last two seasons I was coming off surgeries and put on a bit of weight,'' he said. ''Last season I weighed in at 102 kilos and I'm weighing 93 now. I can't believe I played that heavy; I'm moving better, competing on more plays and am better for it.

''I'm excited by the season ahead. One of the reasons I joined Wests Tigers was because the club is a bit light on a few of the positions I can cover. I'll be hoping to … cement a spot in the halves.''

Smith says Austin has become even more ''mature'' over the past year but added the talented player, who qualified for Portugal's national league team to play against Greece and Italy when he was only 16 because he had eaten a Portuguese chicken burger, realised talent doesn't guarantee success. ''Maybe the challenge of joining a new club and the realisation, that no matter how talented a player you might be you still need to work hard, has made him even hungrier,'' Smith said.

Wests Tigers coach Michael Potter said Austin was recruited to play at either six or seven and while he would be scrutinised should he wear Marshall's old number, he warned supporters they would risk disappointment if they expected Benji Mach II.

''I was one of his biggest fans growing up,'' Austin said. ''But I'm not going there to recreate anything he's done. I want to bring my skills to the Wests Tigers and hopefully that can benefit the team. I'm at a point now where I've added a few things to my game. I'm ready to be a good No.6.''

Plenty might imagine the burden of replacing Marshall as ''crushing'', but the Uncoachables proved to Austin that in the game of life, perceptions mean stuff all.

This story was found at: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...s-coach-of-troubled-teens-20131214-2zdyl.html

tumbidragon

Found this vid while squizzing through the youtubes (just general pre-season fluff). Though you lads/ladies might appreciate it ;)

[youtube]watch?v=KlXs_DJkMNU[/youtube]

A lot of potential in this kid. Has size, footwork and youth on his side. Penrith should of persevered with him imo, but chose to release him and splurge on a 28 yr old Soward and Wallace... Good pick up, hope he and young Brooks (little shit smashed us last year) tears it up for you ;)

The Rosco

Thanks for that Tumbi.
Like you guys, we are building our hopes as the season nears.
Sometimes fluff pieces like this become interesting.

MrAnonymous

Was pretty annoyed when he left Penrith never really got a go when he should of.
The games he did get for Penrith in first grade wernt in the best circumstances.

The games i watched of him playing for Windsor he always looked a class above. Will carve up at tigers.

magpie4ever

Like the fact Blake has dropped his weight by 9kgs - 93 kgs is a great weight for a modern day 5/8, it will give him more mobility and lateral movement.

I wonder how he goes in Canberra. I think he could have a long career in first grade and maybe even play rep footy. At the same time maybe Moses and Martin will be better players than him.

I see Stuart as a strict, organizing type coach...from a union b/ground not surprising...I see similarities in his game and Cronks.
Austin is an off the cuff player...I wonder if Sticky will let him do his own thing or try to mould him into the way he wants his team playing

He is purely a ball runner. Passing, kicking and defence is all below par for a first grade half. Comes across as a bit of a ball hog. In saying that his running game is one of the best in the comp. I think Moses and Martin are better long term prospects so wish Blake all the best in Canberra.

super_coach

Time will tell, but last year he won three games for us off his own bat, we were in a massive hole, he makes a big run scores a try out of nowhere and through traffic and turns the team around.

Its nothing to do with ability, its all about mental hardness and never say die, I wonder if we have a player on our books who can fill the role, because without the spoon will be coming to Concord

broncos2010

He is purely a ball runner. Passing, kicking and defence is all below par for a first grade half. Comes across as a bit of a ball hog. In saying that his running game is one of the best in the comp. I think Moses and Martin are better long term prospects so wish Blake all the best in Canberra.

Yeah mate ok because Brooks light the world on fire last year, they say next johns ey? :roll:

How many games did Brooks win for tigers last year, I remember austin winning 3 by himself last season.

Yeah mate ok because Brooks light the world on fire last year, they say next johns ey? :roll:

How many games did Brooks win for tigers last year, I remember austin winning 3 by himself last season.

Its a fair point. Like I said time will tell but I reckon Austin was our best player last year. In saying that Beau Ryan was also our best player prior to going to Cronulla.

He won about as many as Blair will for you next year. Good luck with that.

Magpies Forever

What a game he had yesterday...

Copped a heavy knock and came back for more...

Yep, a great game. WT must have had rocks in their heads to let him go, we are so fixated on Brooks and Moses................. Moses is not yet ready. Oh well congrats to Austin on going to a club where it looks like he is appreciated.

Great player. I honestly think he could be the origin 6. He won't be but I think he could play well at that level.

I thought the WT were mad for letting him go as he is proving he is NRL ready now, he would of been a perfect partner to help both Brooks and Mosses develope,he reminds me of Josh Reynolds without the stupidity.