Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Goodbye 2017

thebigredv

Widdop and Mary's words have been cheap all year. Worth nothing. Should have spent more time watching how Bellamy gets things done from players of equal or lesser calibre.

This club is at its lowest point. Forget wooden spoons. This hovering around the middle of the pack in 2012 - 2017 has meant nothing's changed. The club accepts this and will expect its fans to tolerate and pay up big. The problem is too many fans will keep paying - membership, ticket sales, merchandise... none of those types of fans are crying into their dinner bowls tonight. Just the tragics.

In reality I said goodbye to 2017 straight after the Charity Shield as I did in 2016 so not so bad or soul destroying for me but it doesn't mean that I'm not pissed off.
However, I feel sick for all the kids that follow them through the season and have their hopes dashed by inept people when it could be so, so different.
It is most likely only our indoctrination of our kids that will keep the fan base alive and who could criticise the kids if they buy a different jersey to wear next year as we sure as hell aren't giving them any reason to keep wearing ours.

Saints111

In reality I said goodbye to 2017 straight after the Charity Shield as I did in 2016 so not so bad or soul destroying for me but it doesn't mean that I'm not pissed off.
However, I feel sick for all the kids that follow them through the season and have their hopes dashed by inept people when it could be so, so different.
It is most likely only our indoctrination of our kids that will keep the fan base alive and who could criticise the kids if they buy a different jersey to wear next year as we sure as hell aren't giving them any reason to keep wearing ours.
U can't say you where on a high when they won 6 straight and were leading the nrl premiership ladder

No, I like a few others predicted a fall from grace and copped heaps for being a nasty, cranky old so and so as well as being a negative person.
IMO it was all unsustainable however to be fair in a few games I was pleased with the style of footy we played.
With Mc Fookknuckle and his cohorts in charge to have hope is akin to thinking smoking is good for you.

Saints111

No, I like a few others predicted a fall from grace and copped heaps for being a nasty, cranky old so and so as well as being a negative person.
IMO it was all unsustainable however to be fair in a few games I was pleased with the style of footy we played.
With Mc Fookknuckle and his cohorts in charge to have hope is akin to thinking smoking is good for you.
Well aslong as he's around the Boys will be smoking :smoking:

Kids, this kid has only been happy once since 1983 when I was a 10 year old watching the Dragons play the first time and that was 2010.
Absolutely hate loosing but today we simply didn't turn up.
Coaching staff to be held accountable as it was all mental today not skill or physical.
Very poor finish to a year.
I actually think we could have beaten the Sea Eagles next week and then Donkeys / Roosters who knows.
Some great wins this year boys but for shits sake some absolute shockers from us as well.

jeffdragon

I might expect to much, but the saints let the fans down time after time in clutch situations.
All on the line and we fail to deliver.
Most of the finals will be in Sydney which would of been good to see us playing here.
But alas we fell short again.
I huge bloody let down.

hazzbeen

Mate was happy , but in the back of my mind I was always waiting for the slide to happen (no never wanted it to happen ) but this seems to be his coaching pattern . For me the writing was on the wall 8 weeks ago . For me its been another horrible year under Marys coaching style , never changes anything when its obvious its not working .....

Blood Shot Eyes

Mate was happy , but in the back of my mind I was always waiting for the slide to happen (no never wanted it to happen ) but this seems to be his coaching pattern . For me the writing was on the wall 8 weeks ago . For me its been another horrible year under Marys coaching style , never changes anything when its obvious its not working .....
Yep Hazz and weve got 2 more yes 2 more years of this torture to endure.....thats unless sanity prevails and they sack him......because as long as your bum points to the ground he aint going to quit.......what worries me you will find that the board thinks he has done a good and that things will improve when Hunt and Graham come on board

mickeylane

The players, coach failed the club when all they had to do was beat the team placed 12th on the table..

simply not good enough and based on that you can't take the same players, coach into next year and expect a different result irrespective of Hunts and Grahams arrival.

Some glaring problems that won't be fixed over the pre season.

Dufty - still not quite there - way too many problems in his game still that CANT BE FIXED DURING PRE SEASON
Mciness - too limited in attack great defender and passer - thats it can't play 80 min any longer
Nightingale - too slow
Right Centre - Need one desperately
Solutions to be considered
Sign Moylan to FB (Dugans money)
Sign Lichaa as THE twin hooker w Mciness ideal No.17 to change up temp in attack
Sign Rona or similar for wing spot
Sign Brenko Lee for Right centre - schooled Lafai yesterday

Hasler and Mcguire being sacked this week maybe Hasler does become the coach - either way need changes and not just few plenty because the mob yesterday didn't turn up and i have no confidence in the same lot turning up next year....

Use our cap and sign the players we need to become a top 4 team!

grouch

The players, coach failed the club when all they had to do was beat the team placed 12th on the table..

simply not good enough and based on that you can't take the same players, coach into next year and expect a different result irrespective of Hunts and Grahams arrival.

Some glaring problems that won't be fixed over the pre season.

Dufty - still not quite there - way too many problems in his game still that CANT BE FIXED DURING PRE SEASON
Mciness - too limited in attack great defender and passer - thats it can't play 80 min any longer
Nightingale - too slow
Right Centre - Need one desperately
Solutions to be considered
Sign Moylan to FB (Dugans money)
Sign Lichaa as THE twin hooker w Mciness ideal No.17 to change up temp in attack
Sign Rona or similar for wing spot
Sign Brenko Lee for Right centre - schooled Lafai yesterday

Hasler and Mcguire being sacked this week maybe Hasler does become the coach - either way need changes and not just few plenty because the mob yesterday didn't turn up and i have no confidence in the same lot turning up next year....

Use our cap and sign the players we need to become a top 4 team!
Nope.

It's the coach, and the people in charge of appointing the coach.

Nothing more.

mickeylane

Nope.

It's the coach, and the people in charge of appointing the coach.

Nothing more.
NO the coach is not blameless but the players have a job to do and they failed...no intensity, no go forward, no desperation.

JDB was like a lamb on the field - not once did he turn up the heat to his fellow forwards, Widdop, Mann, Mcdonalfd, Dufty, Dugan were disgraceful!! thats not the coaches fault - its the players mental preparation to the game...they shit themselves and they failed! Im totally pissed off and the majority of the same lot cannot go around next year! no f**king way

grouch

NO the coach is not blameless but the players have a job to do and they failed...no intensity, no go forward, no desperation.

JDB was like a lamb on the field - not once did he turn up the heat to his fellow forwards, Widdop, Mann, Mcdonalfd, Dufty, Dugan were disgraceful!! thats not the coaches fault - its the players mental preparation to the game...they shit themselves and they failed! Im totally pissed off and the majority of the same lot cannot go around next year! no f**king way
No.

It's
the
COACH,
and
the
people
in
charge
of
appointing
the
coach.

Nothing more.

The kids don't know (and have not experienced) any better.

The Dragons are raising a generation of fans who will accept mediocrity and mid-table to be a success.

Mary said as much yesterday. He was devasted at not making the finals but after the emotions dissipate and he properly reflects on the year, it will be considered a success since we have improved in every area.

Straight Shooter

Drag Queen

You're 100% correct here. The team looked like a floundering mess yesterday. I'm actually surprised the Dogs didn't put more on us tbh. Dugan should have played FB yesterday. Shoot me now.

This Year?

I'm more pissed of today than what I was yesterday, Yesterday it felt like a nightmare and today it's like finding out its not a dream. It's so surprising how this team finds more ways to let down it's fans even on fan appreciation day.

This season could have provided so much better but instead this side just plods and derps after a wonderful start that had us looking like top 4 certainties.