Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Goodbye my good man peach - favourite Peachey memories

The Nulla #2

To Me, The Peach was the big reason i follow the sharks.

I would miss too much, the fist pump after a try, the high fives with the crowd after diving on loose balls under the sticks, the 100 metre dashs in the 90's, his big smile after a win. His little in goal grubbers, always getting the repeat set. His leadership, his sin binnings, his send off, his TRY SAVING TACKLES ( who the f**k will do what he did).

He will, with ET, be my messiah of the shire. You peach, are the heart and lungs, the greatest of all, and the inspiration, not only to dubbo, but redfern and most of all this great land we call Cronulla.

I love you peach, I love you.

This is the word of the lord

Lord hear our prayer

Big_Bad_Shark_Fan

i dont remember the sharks without peachey
frankly i dont want to remember them
he has been with us for so long now n has done so much for the club
one of the best backs in the world there for a while, but was overshadowed by darren lockyer. im sad 2 c peach go. what an instrument he has been for our club. it wont be the same. he has his own style and we will miss that in the sharks, the way he just injects himself into the game. what a sad day. it is raining at my house now, the rain is coming down, and with it just went a champion

goodbye david peachey
and thankyou for the moemories

Jono Russell

I remember back to day when the peach was just a kid, ET was a star player Matty Rogers was kicking it and Reserves with Dykes and peach, oh how good it was to see them all make that move up to Grade. Peach will allways be a true clubman to most of us sharkie fans.

coolumsharkie said:
I was sad to see Sludge E.T Matty and now Peach go...

Ah well the winds of change...

NOOOOOOOOOOOO That song!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The whistleing!!!!!!!!!!

ARRRRRRGGGGGHHHHHHHHH!

coolumsharkie said:
I hav no idea what your on about carch
lol.gif

Back in the 80's early 90's there was a ...how do I put this...."musical group".
They were called "The Scorpions" they were German or some sort of Euro vomit concotion.

They sang a song a song called "The Wind of Change" it was a woeful piece of stadium rock power balladeering.

It sent millions of young Germans mad.
It was the whistleing you see, at the start of the song there was this putrid melody being whistled.
Excrutiating stuff, the song is now banned in 12 countries for being so bad.

I hear rumours they are still operating on the black market.

wittyfan

Walking down the street
Distant memories
Are buried in the past forever
I follow the Moskva
Down to Gorky Park
Listening to the wind of change

Take me to the magic of the moment
On a glory night
Where the children of tomorrow share their dreams

With you and me
Take me to the magic of the moment
On a glory night
Where the children of tomorrow dream away
In the wind of change

DJDL

They had a sh*t-hot guitarist though Carch, by the name of Michael Schenker (not sure if he was in the band for that song though).

He is, along with Randy Rhodes, one of the most influential players of the early 80's.
Kirk Hammet et al list him as a major influence.

McLovin

I know what your talking about carch.

I've got some live version of that pathetic song...

Shark

Reading one of the other threads about the Lanky One, got me thinking to my fave on and off field memories of the Peach.

For mine, the on-field memory doesn't involve a flashy try or a clever bit of ball work to put a bloke through a hole in the defence.

It is a tackle he made on Geoff Toovey, at NorthPower Stadium at Gosford, in 2001.

He deadset just HAMMERED Tooves in the best front-on, ball-and-all thudding hit you have ever seen. We were sitting about 20 feet away, on the half way line...It all unfolded right in front of us. Beautiful stuff. You could feel the thud through the seat, just lovely.

Tooves was in Disneyland. He stood up, minus the ball (which Peach now had, BTW), but his arm was still crooked as if he was cradling the pill. He even bent over, extended his (empty) arm toward the ground, and motioned as if to play an imaginary ball. He wasn't even pointing towards our goal line, more in some strange 45 degree angle looking back towards the freeway. No idea, totally in la-la land.

Off the paddock, I had a drink with him and Matty Johns and others in Newcastle after our under-strength and un-rated side beat the then-powerful Knights at Marathon, in 2003. He was in pretty good form on the dance floor, sinking plenty of God-knows-what drinks and sucking back the gaspers...And he smiled all night. Great stuff.

Thanks champ...

black_dot

Yeah mate, that tackle was awesome, I didn't know whether to cringe or laugh at tooves, it was sickening yet totally fair and so strangely impossible not to enjoy ! what a tackle !

My best Peach memory is a strange one. It's the way the bloke handled himself after a far far lesser man, Hoppa patted him on the head after he'd erred in the semi final.real test of character, but at the end of the day peach has come out the winner, people will look at his career and remember him for his great footy for one club in the NRL, they will think back on hoppa for being a low piece of sh*t. You were right that day, that early in the piece Peach, you are still right.

Good stuff Shark . . .

On field: The 300m cross country try against the Panthers.

Off field: Myself and another forum member in Melbourne were trying to get into a club that was totally chockers. The bouncer wasn't letting anyone in. Peach just happened to walk past the door and spotted us. "Those 2 are with me," he told the bouncer.

All the best Dave!

wittyfan

black_dot said:
Yeah mate, that tackle was awesome, I didn't know whether to cringe or laugh at tooves, it was sickening yet totally fair and so strangely impossible not to enjoy ! what a tackle !

My best Peach memory is a strange one. It's the way the bloke handled himself after a far far lesser man, Hoppa patted him on the head after he'd erred in the semi final.real test of character, but at the end of the day peach has come out the winner, people will look at his career and remember him for his great footy for one club in the NRL, they will think back on hoppa for being a low piece of sh*t. You were right that day, that early in the piece Peach, you are still right.

Hopoate has been a complete disgrace to our game.

Jono Russell

On Field: let me put it like this.
Entry to get into Shark Park $18
Pie and Beer $7.50
Big League Magazine $4
bet on sharks to win $10
Seeing Peacheys smile after smashing the opposition: PRICELESS

Off Field: After our loss to dragons in 99 semi i was devistated like most fans a few week had past by and i was at a pie shop in hurstville i saw the Peach walk by with his lady, I had to go out and say hello and I did. He had no pen neither did his wife so he went into the pie shop and asked for one so he could sign my jersey. he was the nicest guy in the world.

Mr Sharkie

Leading 12-nil and with seconds to go before half time in a game against the Knights at Toyota the game was still very much in the balance with Newcastle having one last throw of the dice before the hooter.

Johns (possibly M) put up a dangerous chipkick for I think Robbie O. If Newcastle had scored then it could have reduced the deficit to six and given the Sharks a sour sheds experience despite the fact they were leading.

The kick went up and the crowd gasped as they realised there was no fullback. All that was needed was for the Knights chaser to collect the ball and it was a certain try.

And thats when our fullback appeared...sailing into the air to mark in front of his rival and race half the field to score and give the Sharkies an 18-0 lead after the first forty. The result was no longer up for debate. It was Peachey class & Johns arse and the Sharkies went onto win 42-16.