Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gower wants out

Go Nulla

What about the Bunnies ? They missed out on Orford didn't they and surely they have money under the cap with all the nuffies that they have.

Special K

Also Richo would have a relationship with Gower from his panthers days.

I'd like to see Gower at Souths or the Storm. If I was a panthers fan I'd be sick of Gower. He always used to break your balls around contract times and be linked with the dogs, eels, esl, union etc and carries on like a dick off the field. A change for both parties would be good.

The NRL needs a trading system but I think. The Panthers could send Gower to the storm and in return pick up someone like Scott Hill or a package of say Cooper Cronk, Jake Webster and throw in a random young prop or centre? Its unfair on clubs to have players always bailing on their contracts...

Sharkie™

poor gowie, something doesnt go his way and he wants out.. he acts in real life like he does on the field, a cry baby.

Misty Bee

Pissweak bloody sook!!!

Piss him off Penrith. He's slower than a 3 toed sloth going to the dentist, and more overrated than Wests WCC crusade.

Penrith have a fantastic nursery - trust a youngster. Or buy Finch from the chooks.

Raider_69 said:
if gowie goes the Panthers would firm up in a big way for the spoon one would think

nah, Raiders till got it covered pretty well

LESStar58

Would his wife go with him to Melbourne?

Hope so....I'd offer to look after her while Gowie was training ;)

Haven't heard anything in melbourne media thus far but the Australian today said that St. George would be keen were he to leave (the suggestion has been rubbished in a story in the Australian, however) as there is a chance Barrett will go to Wigan.

Fibroman

I might drive my HQ round to the honeymoon suite and ask the pig myself. Gowie would never lie to the fibe man.

Special K said:
Also Richo would have a relationship with Gower from his panthers days.

I'd like to see Gower at Souths or the Storm. If I was a panthers fan I'd be sick of Gower. He always used to break your balls around contract times and be linked with the dogs, eels, esl, union etc and carries on like a dick off the field. A change for both parties would be good.

The NRL needs a trading system but I think. The Panthers could send Gower to the storm and in return pick up someone like Scott Hill or a package of say Cooper Cronk, Jake Webster and throw in a random young prop or centre? Its unfair on clubs to have players always bailing on their contracts...

So when can we Swop Scott Hill for him :lol:

Redback71

Would the Storm even have room under the cap for him? I wouldn't think a club would have that much room to move under the cap only weeks away from Round 1. Enjoy the cold Craig.

you seem to forget they lost orford and bell, and did not make any significant signings this season, so id say one would think they would have at least 400k

Hoggy

What a legend. Quite possibly the greatest player of all time.

;-)
scheming.gif

Could be the next Tasesa Lavea!

nqboy

http://foxsports.news.com.au/story/0,8659,18048692-32463,00.html

CRAIG Gower's health has deteriorated badly and he is heartbroken at Penrith's decision to dump him as captain, his manager revealed last night.

And manager Greg Willett also said Gower felt "let down" by the Panthers.

Gower returns home on Wednesday from his honeymoon in Vietnam and will hold crisis talks with Penrith later in the week.

Indications are Gower will request a release and sign with Melbourne.

The Australian Tri-Nations halfback remains angry at losing the captaincy and being fined $100,000 ($70,000 suspended) after a drunken weekend at a Jack Newton charity golf day on the Sunshine Coast late last year.

"I've never seen him so white and sick," Willett told The Daily Telegraph. "He was so disappointed how it [his sacking and fine] was done. He didn't look good. It affected him badly. His health was no good and he was heartbroken."

"This isn't about football or any amount of money. It's about his health. If he stays [at Penrith] and it affects his health, he should get out. He's hurting."

Willett said the crux of his meeting last week with Penrith officials was to discuss Gower's health. The Penrith halfback ended up in hospital suffering from depression after his well-publicised sacking from the Test team in 1999 for exposing himself to an Irish backpacker at the Coogee Bay Hotel.

"I was worried about him." Willett said. There has been an emotional strain on him. That's why I went to Penrith."

"It has eaten away at him. I think he could have got more backing on the homefront [Penrith]. That's what I said to them."

Willett would not speculate on whether Gower would formally request a release.

"We'll go and see Penrith when he gets back. He'll make up his own mind," he said.

Coach of English club Castleford, Terry Matterson, revealed yesterday that Gower's manager had been in touch when the issue first blew up at Christmas time.

Matterson said the club was interested in Gower if he is released. The newly-promoted Castleford Tigers are searching for a halfback following the club's failure to sign Cronulla's Adam Dykes.

nqboy

And this...

http://smh.com.au/news/league/gowers-ultimatum-defend-me-or-ill-walk/2006/02/05/1139074110257.html

Gower's ultimatum: defend me or I'll walk

The Penrith management's reaction to concerns detailed to the club by Craig Gower via his manager, Greg Willett, will this week determine whether the star player formally asks for a release from his five-year, $2.25 million contract.

Willett responded on Gower's behalf yesterday to end speculation about why the manager met Penrith chief executive Mick Leary and coach John Lang on Friday.

He said Gower was not angry with any individuals at the club nor was he necessarily seeking a reversal of the club's penalty - the loss of the captaincy and a $30,000 fine - for his alcohol-fuelled misbehaviour at a charity golf tournament on the Sunshine Coast in December.

But, Willett said, Gower remained deeply upset because he believed he did not get a reasonable opportunity to tell his side of the story before the decision was made and felt the club, while punishing him, should have done more to publicly defend his character.

"Craig gets back from his honeymoon on Wednesday or Thursday and I'll be looking to set up a meeting for us with the Penrith bosses before the weekend," Willett said. "We haven't asked for a release, but nothing has been ruled in or out at this stage.

"Part of the way you fix things is to sit down and have a chat, and Craig asked me to have a word to the club. The next step will be to bring Craig in on a meeting and see how the people in charge react to what was said.

"It's fair to say Craig is looking for the club to accept they went about things the wrong way. It wasn't so much the extent of the punishment, but the way the whole thing was dealt with that gobsmacked him.

"Craig put himself in a situation where he was drunk and he did the wrong thing and he had to cop something for it, but he didn't get the chance to give his side of the story.

"Some of the things he was alleged to have done, he didn't actually do, but the decision was made and dished out and that was it. He's unhappy about the process and he's also unhappy that the club didn't stick up for his character a bit more.

"You can go crook on a bloke for doing the wrong thing, but you can also point out the good things he does and Craig does plenty on behalf of the club.

"The club might still think they handled it the right way, but if Craig doesn't think the answers are good enough and they say, 'Bad luck', he might jump up and say, 'I'm out of here'. Or they might agree they could have handled things a bit better. We'll have to wait and see."

Willett also said Gower had no problem with teammate Tony Puletua accepting the vacant captaincy. "It's rubbish to suggest there is a problem between Craig and Tony," Willett said. "The talk that there is a problem between Craig and the other Penrith players because none of them were invited to his wedding is wrong, too.

"The guest list had to be kept to 90, including family and partners, and that was split between the bride and groom, so the invitations were obviously spread pretty thin. Craig thought that if he invited one or two teammates, others might get upset. He had a buck's night in Sydney with all of them instead."

Leary and Penrith chairman Barry Walsh said they would consider what Gower and his manager had to say.

"Penalising Craig like that was one of the hardest things I've had to do," Walsh said. "We'll talk to him and we'll work on building him back up and his image back up. He is Penrith through and through and we want him to stay."

Melbourne Storm's chief executive, Brian Waldron, said the club would be interested in Gower if he became available, and Castleford yesterday confirmed their interest in him.

Go Nulla said:
What about the Bunnies ? They missed out on Orford didn't they and surely they have money under the cap with all the nuffies that they have.

I remember them stating they have used their cap for the year, one of the great mysteries of the year is how?

skeepe

Gower was once labelled the toughest man in the NRL by the media. I wonder where all that toughness went? What a baby. He needs to grow up and be a man, take responsibility for his own actions.

The simple fact is, the Penrith club didn't MAKE him do what he did, he did that all by himself and left the club with no option but to punish him. Some may say he got off lightly, if he were a lesser player at the club he may no longer be there, so Penrith showed a modicum of loyalty in their dealings... it's a shame it's not being reciprocated by surely the biggest cry baby since Goldilocks complained about the porridge she had stolen.

buster bunny

Sir Knight82 said:
I remember them stating they have used their cap for the year, one of the great mysteries of the year is how?

I think after releasing Elford they would have some money left but I think they upgraded several of their Juniors contracts like Sutton. As far as I know they arranged their contracts to take more of this years salary cap to allow more room for the following seasons.

Parra Guru

This is hardly surprising from Gower, and he should consider himself pretty lucky to have held the captaincy for so long considering his bad behaviour in the past.

He has let the Penrith club and fans down and should learn how to face the consequences.

rabs

if what has been reported is true about the stuff he did then he should have been sacked anyway, this is all about ego to him