Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

GRAND FINAL: Parramatta v Penrith GAME DAY THREAD at Accor 2/10/22

To fair, panthers also pumped a south’s side last week with Walker, Mitchell, Murray, Cook in it…….our boys tried bloody hard (score could have easily hit 40 plus…)……sometimes the opposition is just too good…
I agree, They were too good on the day. They were phenomenal on the day. But they were beatable, if we were up for it. They were amped, we were not. That was the difference.

Apparently he is selling prawns on the North Coast….no joke either.,

Webster chased him down for his Saturday eels article and that’s where he found him….
Wow!! Surely he would come back in a heartbeat??? I know he still has a soft a soft spot for Parra.

King-Gutho94

So, after having almost 24 hrs to digest the game (and recover from a very long day), there's not a lot I can add to what has already been said.
We were unfortunately insipid and outplayed in every facet of the game. Well done Panthers.
I felt even in the first 5 minutes that it wasn't going to be our night. It was just a feeling. The body language from both teams was completely different. What disappointed me most was our lack of aggression and fight. We just played footy, nothing more. Penrith came to win. We just came to do what got us there. Nothing more.

Well, sorry lads, but in a GF that doesn't work.

I do have a few other observations from the day though.

- It was a long one. I left home at 11 am and went from home to Parra to Homebush to Parra to home again at 1.30 am today. I've been feeling a bit dusty today.
- When ACCOR is full, it always provides a pretty decent atmosphere. Yesterday, once the game started, it was the opposite. Panthers fans are as boring as f**k. Despite the fact they were about to win their 2nd Premiership in a row, the place sounded like a morgue at times. I've never been to a more quiet Grand Final but maybe that had more to do with the fact they were outnumbered about 70/30 by Eels fans. The noise generated by our two tries was equal to any of there's and we were getting smashed when we scored.
- The comments re Accor are warranted. Yes there are plenty of food and beverage outlets, but the service is appalling. I gave a woman a serve when I went to get a drink just before half time. Despite the queue being at least 50 people long, she just meandered around, chatting with other staff and not giving a f**k about the length of the queue. She didn't like what I had to say but I don't care.
- Being in Parra before the game was so much fun. I thought I was back in Rome with the amount of car horns being blown! Just the general upbeat vibe of the city centre was amazing.

- But finally, the best part of yesterday was catching up with some known forumites and meeting new ones. Spending time at the game, eating and drinking with them and just talking about footy and life and shit. The day in itself is an event and it is the social aspect that makes it what it is as much as the game.
The day ended after midnight with new mate @Matty Bhoy and myself enjoying some pizza and pasta at a tiny little place in Phillip st. Superb food it was too.

Anyway, onwards and upwards.
We have so much to learn from yesterday and the attitude we take into a big game.
Same same is just not good enough.
You are right about the Panthers fan not being that loud.

Maybe it's compleancy or just inevitablity they were going to win.

But even some panthers around us barely stood up and clapped whenever they scored.

I don't even recall a chant I was on the halfway line closer to the parra end but I didn't hear any chants down the other end from panthers fan.

And if there was it didn't echo through the stadium.

I think it was something about being sure that he'd win another premiership ring when he moves to Wests Tigers... and then cracking up laughing.
What a c**k smoker. He's going to have to face those guys next year and explain that.

I hope Sheensy rips him a new one.

Happy MEel

So, after having almost 24 hrs to digest the game (and recover from a very long day), there's not a lot I can add to what has already been said.
We were unfortunately insipid and outplayed in every facet of the game. Well done Panthers.
I felt even in the first 5 minutes that it wasn't going to be our night. It was just a feeling. The body language from both teams was completely different. What disappointed me most was our lack of aggression and fight. We just played footy, nothing more. Penrith came to win. We just came to do what got us there. Nothing more.

Well, sorry lads, but in a GF that doesn't work.

I do have a few other observations from the day though.

- It was a long one. I left home at 11 am and went from home to Parra to Homebush to Parra to home again at 1.30 am today. I've been feeling a bit dusty today.
- When ACCOR is full, it always provides a pretty decent atmosphere. Yesterday, once the game started, it was the opposite. Panthers fans are as boring as f**k. Despite the fact they were about to win their 2nd Premiership in a row, the place sounded like a morgue at times. I've never been to a more quiet Grand Final but maybe that had more to do with the fact they were outnumbered about 70/30 by Eels fans. The noise generated by our two tries was equal to any of there's and we were getting smashed when we scored.
- The comments re Accor are warranted. Yes there are plenty of food and beverage outlets, but the service is appalling. I gave a woman a serve when I went to get a drink just before half time. Despite the queue being at least 50 people long, she just meandered around, chatting with other staff and not giving a f**k about the length of the queue. She didn't like what I had to say but I don't care.
- Being in Parra before the game was so much fun. I thought I was back in Rome with the amount of car horns being blown! Just the general upbeat vibe of the city centre was amazing.

- But finally, the best part of yesterday was catching up with some known forumites and meeting new ones. Spending time at the game, eating and drinking with them and just talking about footy and life and shit. The day in itself is an event and it is the social aspect that makes it what it is as much as the game.
The day ended after midnight with new mate @Matty Bhoy and myself enjoying some pizza and pasta at a tiny little place in Phillip st. Superb food it was too.

Anyway, onwards and upwards.
We have so much to learn from yesterday and the attitude we take into a big game.
Same same is just not good enough.
Well said Suity, can’t argue with any of that. Wasn’t how we were hoping the night would go but had a cracking time up to about 7.30pm. Stoked you and @Matty Bhoy made the effort to have a beer before the game and once the dust settles on this lost opportunity, I’ll be looking forward to doing it all again next year.

Watching the footy show with my mates yesterday morning we heard that the players hadn’t seen each other for 48 hours and were finding their own way to the game. My mate who is a Penrith fan burst out laughing and said it’s already in the bag. The other two just said that they can’t believe that’s how a team would prepare for a GF. I knew we were cactus after seeing that and we played accordingly.
Wow, maybe because they were $1.39 favourites a f**king week ago, long before the Arthur family allegedly tanked our chances of an even game ffs

Brad Arthur did a good job in making the grand final but
He didn't make the grand final ffs, the players did! Arthur helped an above average squad (as proven by Origin and Kangaroo selections) finish with an above average points differential and sneak into a particularly high ladder position. Then we had some luck in Townsville where they outplayed us but had some concentration lapses and we jagged the win. We overachieved this year. There's no need for a f**king scapegoat.

As I said 4 or 5yrs ago JFH will be the best prop in the game or one of. He is a beast and your style of modern day forwards.

Pou what's your take on him? Average you said right.
He's a very good defender but ordinary in attack. Meters per run are very poor, like Nathan Brown when he used to make 200m for us a few years ago. Payne Haas is a far better player than JFH. It's not even close. I'd say RCG is better too. But with To'o and Edwards Penrith don't need big metres from their forwards.