Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

GROWING UP in Australia

chileman

newtownbluebags said:
sure do!....Swan had a big exposure back then ;-) like Powers did in 1990!......
I still drink Powers up here sometimes, 10 times better than XXXX which I wont touck with my dogs lips let alone mine........I wonder if Bondie had a stash of Swan in his jail cell :lol:

chileman

:-k I think I recall that beer. Was it a full strength (gotta stop talking about beer, it's making me thirsty)? :crazy:
Bring back Toobs I say, they were just as good as Twisties , even better some might say, a vital piece of my childhood! :p

newtownbluebags

West End was/is, if they still make it, a South Australian concoction... ;-)

sponsor_westend.gif

crusader-eel

Ripping the Minties into the longest continuous piece you possibly could. Buying a chocolate paddle pop for 10c at the tuckshop.
Cheating at Rubik's Cube by swapping the stickers.

dannyboy

newtownbluebags said:
bring back the cane! :fist:
In primary school, my yr5 teacher used a feather duster...the cane end. I lost count of how many times i copped that...so much so that it stopped hurting.

At high school, the Tech Drawing teacher favoured a T-Square. You'd have to touch your toes and his swing was enough to hit a home run. Then the b*stard made you sit down. Man did that hurt. Once was more than enough for this little black duck.

Crusher

One of my year 7 teachers was Des Hasler. he taught at Puis for a couple of years. Not a bad bloke eaither. He used to cop heaps about playing for Manly.

shadow grinder

Crusher said:
Shadow..I've just really noticed you avatar for the first time!!!

bit of alright hey.

also as a kid ...on the phone with my friends or family i would say "you rang me so you hang up first" or you would do the old "what does a truck reversing sound like" and then hang up.

chileman

:lol: Copper bombs! Crusher did you ever make the zip guns with the copper pipe and a rubber glove finger cut off and whacked on the end! :p
Tearing minties, ah yes I remember that comp :oops:

by Hot Buttered.

It sucked.

Slade albums in the early 1970's. Hearing the lead singer burp in the middle of a song and thinking that was the most offensive thing I'd ever heard on a record.

Racing matchbox cars down my mates footpath.

Cracker night and the smell the next day.

Kicking a football around every weekday afternoon after school.

Only watching Tele for the Footy.

shadow grinder

watching the footy then as soon as the final whistle blew you would go out the front or the backyard and play footy with your brother and try and immitate what you saw.

dannyboy

A mate & I started a small fire in his back yard one cold wintery day. We thought we we so smart. In no time at all the side of the shed is in flames. We managed to put it out, suprisingly, but got one hell of a scare and covered in ash.

Same mate again & I played around with chlorine, fire & god knows what else in a confined space. Near on asphyxiated ourselves. Years later found out we could just as easily have blown ourselves up with just the right (or wrong) mixture of the crap we were playing with.

Again, us two bandits swam out to dinghys and small boats and unhooked them from their moorings.

I'd skin my son alive for doing any of the above.