Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gus Gould

Kiwi

Now personally I have never been a fan of Gus Gould the commentator or tv personality, but there is no denying his coaching ability and what he has done at the Panthers since joining them is also a great achievement.

Should the NRL approach Gus Gould and pay him whatever it takes to spend a year at each club starting with the clubs at the bottom and help set up and implement changes required for these clubs to improve both on and off the field? I would love to see something like this happen and I hope hope that even my club the Broncos would jump at the chance to have Gould on board for 12 months, the knowledge he could pass on to even the rich and successful clubs would be worth throwing a cool million a year at him to make it happen. Could you imagine how strong the game would be if the Tigers, Sharks, Dragons, Sea Eagles, Eels, Raiders, Titans, Knights etc were doing what Penrith are now.

Big Pete

No, Gus' record isn't that great and he's very temperamental.

I remember the Cowboys approached him in 2010 to do the type of job your suggesting and after he went up there for a bit he washed his hands of the entire thing and said they were going to struggle.

Similar story in 2002 when the Bunnies came back.

He's good, but only when he wants to be good. A lot like his commentary really.

insert.pause

When Gould started at penrith a couple of years ago he actually went to the Broncos along with the panthers board to see their setup.

Dogs Of War

No, Gus' record isn't that great and he's very temperamental.

I remember the Cowboys approached him in 2010 to do the type of job your suggesting and after he went up there for a bit he washed his hands of the entire thing and said they were going to struggle.

Similar story in 2002 when the Bunnies came back.

He's good, but only when he wants to be good. A lot like his commentary really.

The organisation has to want to change. That would have been the same Cowboys board who rejected Wayne Bennett coming to coach them.

betcats

Gould's record in positions other than short term advisory positions is pretty good. The man knows footy inside out and has the connections to get things done.

Edit: I think with his ego you need to give him control.

Blues Riff

Penrith's board showed great faith in the man, basically creating a position for him and giving him complete autonomy. It's paying off, but I doubt other clubs would be so open to change. It certainly hasn't been painless.
In answer to your suggestion, no, f**k off, he's ours.

veggiepatch1959

Gus has a football brain second to none. Forget your Bennetts, Gibsons and Haslers, etc.

But the dude is one arrogant prick. Back in the early 90s, one of my mates belted Gould AND Steve Folkes senseless in the carpark of the Sundowner Hotel at Punchbowl, Sydney.

What a glorious sight!!

Noname36

Gus is doing a good job with Penrith but let's be honest here, if your club was going to use another's club's management as a blue print you'd probably go to Souths, the Dogs or Brisbane before you'd go to Penrith or Gus.

There's some clubs I don't think he'd go to anyway. Conflict of interest with his alliances to Penrith and the Chooks and all that.

AJB1102

So if he begins this journey next year he'll be done by 2032, at about 74yrs old, supposing there is no expansion in the next 16 years. The first few Clubs he spends time with will have decade plus old business models. Why am I even arguing the obvious stupidity of this?

If you want Gus to have an influence over all Clubs and therefore the competition, wouldn't it be better to bring him into a role at NRL HQ?

TheFrog

Should the NRL approach Gus Gould and pay him whatever it takes to spend a year at each club starting with the clubs at the bottom and help set up and implement changes required for these clubs to improve both on and off the field?

In any 16 team competition, only one team can come first, only one can come second, and one must come last. Position on the table is the measure of success or otherwise. You could improve the standard of every team by 500% and someone would still have to finish 16th, 15th, etc.

Gould is clearly an unparallelled judge of footballing cattle. But he can only lift one team at a time. I suspect he will be headhunted at great cost away from Penrith in due course. I fear things will then return to normal for the mighty Panthers. But we'll worry about that time when it comes.

Roy80

Could you imagine how strong the game would be if the Tigers, Sharks, Dragons, Sea Eagles, Eels, Raiders, Titans, Knights etc were doing what Penrith are now.

How did you lump manly in with that lot? Unless on field achievement means absolutely nothing?

Canard

Gus is doing a good job with Penrith but let's be honest here, if your club was going to use another's club's management as a blue print you'd probably go to Souths, the Dogs or Brisbane before you'd go to Penrith or Gus.

There's some clubs I don't think he'd go to anyway. Conflict of interest with his alliances to Penrith and the Chooks and all that.

So the head coach of the Panthers got belted by some bogan in a car park?

Sounds legit.

What Gould needs to do is use his unique position to promote the game, and not constantly call it boring, bag refs non stop and push stupid agendas like SBW for NSW.

I don't think he realizes how influential he is, especially with those less inclined to use there brain.

pHyR3

How did you lump manly in with that lot? Unless on field achievement means absolutely nothing?

poor crowds, poor memberships, small fanbase, unwillingness to travel, average sponsorships.

yeah, they're a real blueprint for the tigers, titans and warriors to follow. :roll:

soc123_au

Penrith's board showed great faith in the man, basically creating a position for him and giving him complete autonomy. It's paying off, but I doubt other clubs would be so open to change. It certainly hasn't been painless.
In answer to your suggestion, no, f**k off, he's ours.

I couldnt have said it any better. I reckon he will stay with us another 2 to 3 years at best. After that who knows where he will end up. I just hope the succession plan is better than last time he left us. I cant imagine Royce in the big office. lol. All jokes aside, I think the planning for succession has already started.