Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hagan quits Parra!!!!

Even though I want to stay out of your lovers' quarrel with El Diablo, I did laugh at this.

He is probably blaming Brian Smith for what happened with Hagan!

He is avoiding this thread...which is unusual for the LU detective.
Parra and souths...2 teams i love seeing fail.

Meth

My perception of Hagan as a coach of recent is a fairly common one.

The Parramatta team, on paper, is fantastic- a top 8 team for sure. They have players that represent every natural attribute of a successful team.

They have looked to be a team so out of synch with each other that all of their class goes to waste. I think that this comes back to Hagan. For whatever reason, he seems to have failed to fuse the team together into a competitive unit.

I don't know if losing Hagan will help the Eels immediately- but it is clear that things aren't working at Parramatta at the moment

sydraider

Id be going for some new blood and ideas, someone like flanagan fits that bill. I just hope whoever gets the job, for their own sake, knows how to rebuild a forward pack, cos if that doesnt happen, it wont matter who gets the gig.

cb4

yeh, i think daniel anderson is the best man for the job
he has been there n dont it b4
a club like paara might be 2 much of a risk to throw flanagan into straight away

Pierced Soul

http://livenews.com.au/Articles/2008/10/21/The_real_reason_Michael_Hagan_quit_the_Eels

The real reason Michael Hagan quit the Eels

22/10/2008 9:44:00 AM. | Rugbyleaguelive.com

F_0_Hagan_Johns_a_320.jpg

Outgoing Eels coach Michael Hagan has revealed that a lack of respect for the game from the NRL's young brigade was at the heart of his shock decision to quit Parramatta today.

Hagan cited health and family reasons in a press conference today announcing his departure, but confirmed later that the increased prevalence of alcohol-fuelled incidents has turned him off coaching at NRL level.

"It's really disappointing that we've got some young players that aren't doing the right thing by the game, which has been evident at a lot of clubs, not just at Parramatta," Hagan told the Nine Network.

When pressed further and asked if it was a lack of respect for the game in general, Hagan replied: "In some ways I think it is, and I think that's a real shame."

The premiership-winning coach went on to voice his displeasure at the recent grapple-tackle controversy, admitting that he is unhappy with the current state of the game.

"Personally, it's not something you have to want to coach every week, but unless you're prepared to coach the ruck and that part of the game, you can't win games," said Hagan.

----------------

couple of interesting points. in terms of the young palyers mucking up i'm not convinced it didnt happen in the old days - just the media didnt care whereas now it sells papers

in regards to the ruck, it's really up to the coaches to shape the direction the game goes. they're the ones employing grappling and one out play claiming it's the only way to win which is bullsh*t.

for league to open up and becoming attacking again like SL they need the coaches to start taking chances. i thought after the tigers won in 05 that it would change things but it hasnt. it was great to see canberra chuck the ball around over the back half of the season and the way manly played in the gf was the way it should be played

Special K

Parramatta need a prick of a coach imo. Folkes would do wonders for them..

They have tried to retool a few times rather then rebuild(like when they bought Morrison, Riddell, Tahu, Stringer etc) and given their strength in lower grades you would think it is time to put the cleaners through them and start a fresh. Giving guys like Cayless $300,000 + a year is just felonious while they have their own young talent stolen away from them. They need a complete do over. Look at some of their backline talent in Inu and Hayne. Both of these players would be a number one option in most backlines but Parra couldn't get it right this year.

Inu, Hayne and Mateo is a really strong base to rebuild around if the hard decisions are made.

Pass the Ball

Having a forward pack that gets owned on a weekly basis and a CEO that is just clearly a fruit-loop, doesn't realy put them in a good position....

in regards to the ruck, it's really up to the coaches to shape the direction the game goes. they're the ones employing grappling and one out play claiming it's the only way to win which is bullsh*t.

for league to open up and becoming attacking again like SL they need the coaches to start taking chances. i thought after the tigers won in 05 that it would change things but it hasnt. it was great to see canberra chuck the ball around over the back half of the season and the way manly played in the gf was the way it should be played

I don't think it's up to the coaches. It comes down to the rules of the games... and how those rules are interpreted. The way Canberra play is terrific, but it's low percentage football which makes it hard for them to be a consistent side. Manly did well in the grand final, but only after Melbourne realised they had to be careful with their controversial tactics. Hopefully the NRL and Finch can crack down on grapples and the ruck etc that way footy can become about footy again and not about wrestling. 2005 was the greatest footy season in the past decade and I believe we need to go back to rule interpretations which made it a such a successful season.

cb4

i think 03 was better than 05 but i get where u r comin from
the rules need a complete overhaul

badav

Is Hagan talking squarely about Hayne

You dont think he could have made those comments and not had Tim Smith in mind??

Plus he also makes it clear that hes not just referring to Parramatta, but all clubs.

Which is a fair point.

Careful mate, common sense isn't welcome around here!

I was just reading the SMH article about this and I find it amazingly convenient that Daniel Anderson is currently without a job, holidaying in the US before being due to return to Sydney ("near Parramatta") to live on November 4th, in time for his kids to start school which he has reportedly always said he would move back to Sydney for. A mere 2 weeks before this is due to happen, Michael Hagan "walks" and Anderson is already being reported as "extremely interested" in the job.

Don't get me wrong - I'd welcome Daniel Anderson with open arms. He loves the club, he has great tactical knowledge of the game and he served his apprenticeship under Brian Smith. So he ticks all the good boxes.

But I just know there are deeper issues at play. I mean, players like Brett Finch and Mark Riddell get bagged mercilessly from pillar to post, but one thing can be said about them that can't be denied - they give 100% and are pretty damn passionate. And when I see Finchy trying his guts out and seeing the rest of his teammates (except Hindy, Moimoi and Mateo for the most part) bludging, you just have to see there is an underlying issue there. Finch may not be a favourite, but I reckon if he was on your team, he'd fire you up. But he fails to do so. Is it him, or is it the general attitude at the club?

I've long held a belief (mostly unfounded) that the 2001 Premiership messed up the players' mindsets and, Nathan Hindmarsh excepted, the surviving members of the 2001 squad just haven't been mentally strong enough to overcome their obstacles.

Another good example that exemplifies this - Michael Vella. He had cancer, recuperated from it and got back on the field and bled for his club. But did the club fire up and show passion? Hardly.

I pray that Anderson/new Eels head coach can change all that. But I am not sure it is even remotely possible at this stage.

Don't get me wrong - I'd welcome Daniel Anderson with open arms. He loves the club, he has great tactical knowledge of the game and he served his apprenticeship under Brian Smith. So he ticks all the good boxes.

But I just know there are deeper issues at play. I mean, players like Brett Finch and Mark Riddell get bagged mercilessly from pillar to post, but one thing can be said about them that can't be denied - they give 100% and are pretty damn passionate. And when I see Finchy trying his guts out and seeing the rest of his teammates (except Hindy, Moimoi and Mateo for the most part) bludging, you just have to see there is an underlying issue there. Finch may not be a favourite, but I reckon if he was on your team, he'd fire you up. But he fails to do so. Is it him, or is it the general attitude at the club?

I've long held a belief (mostly unfounded) that the 2001 Premiership messed up the players' mindsets and, Nathan Hindmarsh excepted, the surviving members of the 2001 squad just haven't been mentally strong enough to overcome their obstacles.

Another good example that exemplifies this - Michael Vella. He had cancer, recuperated from it and got back on the field and bled for his club. But did the club fire up and show passion? Hardly.

I pray that Anderson/new Eels head coach can change all that. But I am not sure it is even remotely possible at this stage.

:clap::clap: