Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Half Time Entertainment

steveshark

----
Got to see the game from the upper level of the ET stand via a spare seat courtesy of Carinashark - thanks mate - Usually see the game from the western hill. Anyway the street knob, lives about 5 houses down - be about mid 60's I'd guess, (Yelled at my kid 10 years ago -when he was 6 years old then for filling up his water pistol from his front tap - no water restrictions then) RUN down the stairs to the balcony above the players tunnel, cup his hands around his mouth and gave Mander an absolute gob-full. The rest of us were just boo-ing from our seats. It was amazing to see might send him a Christmas card now!!!!!

Craigshark

While we are on Entertainment, can someone please give me Steve Rogers email address.. I really want to email him and tell him to get the band to shutup in the middle of the game.. They are so bloody annoying..
Anyone have his email?

that wasn't a band, it looked like a mob of 13 year olds trying to make sound. they were pathetic

gavin_miller

steveshark said:
Got to see the game from the upper level of the ET stand via a spare seat courtesy of Carinashark
the street knob RUN down the stairs to the balcony above the players tunnel, cup his hands around his mouth and gave Mander an absolute gob-full. The rest of us were just boo-ing from our seats. It was amazing to see

i sit up there too.everyone was buzzing.we gave it to gus pretty bad.wanker.

ali

I used to be a fan of the band, but on Friday night they went too far. It was getting ridiculous. They need to shut up more often when we are attacking.

Booyah

They copped a massive spray on the Sunday Roast today by, of all people, Matty Johns.

Booyah said:
They copped a massive spray on the Sunday Roast today by, of all people, Matty Johns.

Yeah they did. Then after that Fatty and Gus were into them on the Footy Show

Gould even bagged the old Shark ATTACK ACK ACK ACK ACK :lol:

The Popper

Get rid of the band and get rid of them now. They sound bloody awful and they're a friggin' embarrassment.......often playing their chants at most inappropriate times too.
As for halftime entertainment...................we've got the best..............The Mermaids!

carinashark

Very creepy , that jaws theme. I hung around after the game to watch the players do the winning lap et all . Shaking hands with the Roosters players and everything very friendly . Cayless and Gallen smiling and chatting . Its sort of wierd after all the "not very friendly body contact"! And what about Mander ! In the firsthalf he did his best to give the Roosters a huge lead. The best was listening to Guss on the replay when we scored . His voice became depressed 'yeeeer thats a try' all in a dull monotone , like the Rooster he always will be. He just shouldnt be on 9 at all he is so biased.
Carinashark

Craigshark

Well i wrote an email to the club and here is my reply.. Pretty lengthy..

Hello Craig,

Thank you for your email in relation to the band that plays at Toyota
Park for home games.

You are correct in saying that Toyota park is not one of the loudest
grounds in the NRL, and as such the band was introduced to hopefully get
back that vibe that Shark park had a few years back, where other teams
were scared to come here and play. The band are one of the either most
loved or most hated pieces of entertainment for the Sharks. We have had
a lot of feedback in relation to them, both positive and negative. We
aim to balance out these out to make it a great experience for all.

I will let you know though that the band - especially the lead singer
(male) is a big Shark fan and he was also leading the band during the
Super league days. He genuinely watches the game and gets excited as
everyone else when the team are playing. I too take on board what you
say about them playing too much during the Sharks attack and I think
they did this more so during this past game due to the vocal Roosters
supporters who surround them. They were quite vocal and I think if the
band hadn't gotten a bit more involved, then perhaps this group would
have been even more so.

I did watch the Sunday Roast and heard what Matt Johns said, and I have
read the forum also, and will pass the messages on.

I have also had a few discussions with many of the players and they
claim not to hear the band play, many of them not even realising that
music is played once they have scored. Them dropping the ball I believe
is not due to the band (although it may seem that way), as if you also
watched the game at Campbelltown they dropped the ball without the
assistance of music.

Hopefully with some fine tuning we can however, as mentioned find this
balance between how much the band plays, and types of songs they play.
It is a continual process of change and development and I thank you for
your feedback.

All in all though - we had a great win after 3 losses, so hopefully that
is the main thing that was taken from the game.

Once again I do thank you for your feedback and it is great to have fans
who genuinely care about the Sharks.

Kind Regards,

Yvonne

Craigshark

Hm, i sent a link with a Thread i made about the band 'Big Fish.'
I am assuming that is what she meant..

Mr Sharkie

It's time to go: Big Fish

I don't mind having live music but did anyone else get driven up the wall by the random saxophone toots that were played just for the hell of it?

gavin_miller

i actually agree with Yvonne's statement about the band firing up when the rooters fans were chanting.Sometimes we sharks fans,as a whole, are not that overly vocal as a large group...and I noticed as soon as they got loud,the band kicked in.there is nothing worse than an away teams supporters being louder than the home team's...obviously I would prefer the sharks crowd to put in a little more than having to resort to a band though...

The Popper

Yeah, maybe you're right. Even though I reckon Big Fish are awful, the ruckus they make sure drowns out the noise from any opposition cheer squad. AND THAT'S GOOD.