Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hannay tries to save career

Qld-Sharkie

Hang on....
When this first came to light, Hannay said "Mey, I will play park footy and get paid for it."

Now, because he hasnt been called back to Ricky's warm embrace its... "Iam gunna sue."
WTF ????????????

Your not wanted, you dont want to play park footy.... ask for a release, the dragqueens or roosters will take ya...

fizman

I am quite disturbed about this situation. I can only believe that there is something much more than playing ability and "not in our plans". Do the supporters/sponsors/associates have a right to know why a key signing and he was for this season has been so harshly dealt with?

For the record, he was playing very good football at 5/8 in PL.

I am also very concerned to hear that there has been no communication between the player and the club for over 3 weeks.

Just as a sidenote: There is alot of activity in the player market of late. I haven't seen too many high quality players knocking the door down to join us. Perhaps, Sticky has been told we have NO money and his job description is to develop what we have or buy some lower grade footballers and develop them.

Something just isn't quite right in Sharktown.

ghoti

fizman said:
For the record, he was playing very good football at 5/8 in PL.

I am also very concerned to hear that there has been no communication between the player and the club for over 3 weeks.

That's just as much Hannay's fault as it is Stuart's or Pierce's...there's nothing stopping him giving either of them a call...or has he lost his phone again?

fizman said:
Just as a sidenote: There is alot of activity in the player market of late. I haven't seen too many high quality players knocking the door down to join us. Perhaps, Sticky has been told we have NO money and his job description is to develop what we have or buy some lower grade footballers and develop them.

Something just isn't quite right in Sharktown.

We're hearing nothing because Ricky has stated that he likes to keep all signing developments outside of the papers, although the Tuquri situation would say otherwise.

I also can't see many three-quarters or five-eighths wanting to play outside of Noddy...they know they'll be starved of quality ball. There'd be little backrow interest considering we've got the most solid backrow in the competition...and hookers don't want to look stupid playing inside of Noddy like Buderus did in Origin 2.

Like I said before we signed Kimmorley, it's about his negative impact on our team, but it's also about the negative impact on our quality of signings. To see the amount of respect the rest of the NRL has for Noddy, watch the tape of the pre-game speech Noddy gives in Origin 2...dirty looks shot at him the whole time and not one person listening to a word he's saying.

spider

fizman said:
wonder who his carrier is these days?

Kiwishark

I reckon Hannay's heart wasn't in the club, Rick realised this and said 'if you're not here to play for the Sharks and win a prem for us, then stuff off' and that's what he did.

Somehow I think the quote from Ricky around the Tuqiri negotiations time where he said that he'll only sign players who want to play for the Sharks has significance in this saga....

I welcome it, it's a dog eat dog world and if you're not up to it, you go, that's all there is to it, get over it Hannay.

Since 73

Definately more to this than the story is saying.
Hannay has not made a break in first grade in 6 years and I did not want the club to buy him but this treatment seems very unfair to a guy who was a SOO player last year.

Sticky has worse players in the club but doesn't have them playing park footy, so obviously he has sent Hannay to purgatury to either:
a. punish him for some matter/attitude.
b. p*** him off enuff that he'll leave the club.

Sticky punted Albert as he would've identified in the introductory handshake that the guy was a bludger.
So he ain't afraid to get rid of 'big' signings.

Perhaps hannay's attitude toward his dropping or comments to a third party have landed him in Sticky's bad books.

Gee if Covell broke down tomorrow you'd think he'd be the replacement winger/kicker.
Not anymore.

I think they should give the bloke a release.

He certainly wasn't playing worse than Anderson.

Stuart looks like he is only interested in developing younger backs

bluey

Only release him if both parties aqgree to go thier own way.
Tear up the contract immediatly.
I think this would obviously cost hannah in the short term but if he wants to play nrl it is a move he must make.
No pain no gain

steveshark

----
I think Sticky is saying to Hannay and more importantly TOTHE TEAM, if you don't want to bust your balls, put your body on the line or give your heart and soul into winning a premiership then this is what WILL happen to you.

U.K SHARK

I cant see the sense in not realising him. We dont want a bloke who is playing park footy tying up 180k worth of cash in our salary cap.

carcharias said:
um.....

doesn't look like it.

0,,5533825,00.jpg

f**k I hate the modern limp wristed jerseys... what ever happend to the straight green with the white V.

In my day we wore propperies, not soccer strips. Bring back the white V I say.

And back on topic.

I reckon let the bloke go. Move on.

Twas a bad signing obviously. The guys heart wasn't in it. If we can solve the dollar side of things then cast him adrift, vote him off the island.

I think it looks bad on the club also. It's not like he snotted the management for not having the right coloured towel in his locker or something.

Worse things happen at sea - let him go grasshopper.

Pssts. "How are the mighty Gorillas faring in the comp"

Declared Idiot #88

eagle rock

steveshark said:
I think Sticky is saying to Hannay and more importantly TOTHE TEAM, if you don't want to bust your balls, put your body on the line or give your heart and soul into winning a premiership then this is what WILL happen to you.

close. It wasn't Stuart who said it, it was several members of the team(senior and junior) apparently he refuse's to get into the heavy contact at training, saying he's past that. He hasn't YET asked for a release, but when he does it won't be a hard decision.

U.K SHARK

Correct me if i am wrong, but as there is no premier league next year, wont we see more players dropped to A-grade?

Certianly sound correct UK.

That said, I am still wondering what structure we will have next year.

That is, should a player not be chosen for 1st grade and is too old for the under 20's what side will he play for?

fizman

Mr Angry said:
Certianly sound correct UK.

That said, I am still wondering what structure we will have next year.

That is, should a player not be chosen for 1st grade and is too old for the under 20's what side will he play for?

I believe that some of our best years were when we had Easts Tigers from the Qld Cup as a feeder club in the Johnny Lang era. We got blokes like Paul Green, Andrew Neave, Geoff Bell and Adam Mahr, but it brought others to club which provided good depth for us as well.

When Ricky was with the Roosters, they had an excellent setup with Redcliffe.

It would be good to see us work with another Qld Cup club. I can confirm that Canberra's Premier League/Reserve Grade side will be Souths Logan next year. I think we should follow suit.

I don't think that Easts or Wynnum are asssociated with NRL clubs. Easts were with penrith and Wynnum was with Manly, but I don't think so anymore.

It's another reason why the Titans will do so well, they have Burleigh, Tweed Heads and Ipswich on board - excellent depth.

Obviously the A-Grade comp to NRL standard is too much of a gap, so QCup would be a perfect stepping stone for players.