Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Harold Matthews and SG Ball Discussion Thread

sweet-as

Tai played mathews this year but was not considered good enough by the powers to be to be graded into Ball where he will now play for parra here is a picture of him so you get a feelfor his size 120kg

I can tell you that he is actually more like 135kgs

micro

I do believe young tai has some discipline issues off the field, maybe that's the reason why Penrith let him go??
Sorry, Tai played matts last season not last year. Tai might have some minor things to work on but dont we all. Tai does well at st dominics and is a funny guy, that gets him into a bit of trouble at times. if tai was dumped because of his minor sense of humor outbursts penrith are more stupid than i thought.Parra will turn his talent and enthusiasm and his sense of humour into a top player, cant wait to watch next year.If Penrith think wilson, regan and satini are the best players in that age they must watch different games than a lot of other people out here, but then again they would not know talent if it bit them on the arse.

Big Mick

Sorry, Tai played matts last season not last year. Tai might have some minor things to work on but dont we all. Tai does well at st dominics and is a funny guy, that gets him into a bit of trouble at times. if tai was dumped because of his minor sense of humor outbursts penrith are more stupid than i thought.Parra will turn his talent and enthusiasm and his sense of humour into a top player, cant wait to watch next year.If Penrith think wilson, regan and satini are the best players in that age they must watch different games than a lot of other people out here, but then again they would not know talent if it bit them on the arse.

The kid will have a heart attack if he doesn't lose about 30kg quick smart.

Big Mick

Say it to his face ?.

LOL its not an insult.

Its a fact.

If you want to be a professional athlete you have to treat your body right.

For such a young age to be that weight isn't healthy and causes multiple complications in the future.

I should know. I used to be that weight, I was having massive problems and at risk of being a diabetic.

Since then i've lost 40kg to be a managable weight.

So yes I would say it to his face probably because noone else has the balls to tell him like many of the footballers in this day and age. Most get treated like children when in reality all they need is a straight talking too.

I wish the kid well with his career at Parramatta. I really do. I've watched him a number of times and the guy is a beast...but for his personal health and for the sake of his professional career he needs to become more conditioned.

Anyone who disagree's has deadset no idea about professional sports in the modern era.

Art Vandalay

LOL its not an insult.

Its a fact.

For such a young age to be that weight isn't healthy and causes multiple complications in the future.

I should know. I used to be that weight, I was having massive problems and at risk of being a diabetic.

So yes I would say it to his face probably because noone else has the balls to tell him like many of the footballers in this day and age. Most get treated like children when in reality all they need is a straight talking too.

I wish the kid well with his career at Parramatta. I really do. I've watched him a number of times and the guy is a beast...but for his personal health and for the sake of his professional career he needs to become more conditioned.

Anyone who disagree's has deadset no idea about professional sports in the modern era.

ahh k right fair point where did u say u studied medicine

sweet-as

LOL its not an insult.

Its a fact.

Mate I think you need to go and watch him play more often. He is by no means far over-weight.
He may carry a little extra weight, but it is his strength and weight which makes him so dominant.
Tai has under-estimated pace and endurance and with a little extra fitness training will push for an u/20s spot within the next few years.

sweet-as

LOL its not an insult.

Its a fact.

Also mate just because you had 40kgs of fat to burn doesn't mean he has that much. He may carry a little extra weight, but I believe that is cancelled out by his massive amounts of muscle.

dragonsman4eva

To be honest I dont believe either are "representative" quality. They both hold their own in division 1 but as I said are not fitting to play reps at the moment.

sweet as, Ross and Attard musnt be too bad, they both played outstanding at the youth deveolpment cup for NSW. Ross got best and fairest for his side and Attard just as good

ranga

Flock

To be honest I dont believe either are "representative" quality. They both hold their own in division 1 but as I said are not fitting to play reps at the moment.

sweet as, Ross and Attard musnt be too bad, they both played outstanding at the youth deveolpment cup for NSW. Ross got best and fairest for his side and Attard just as good

Dragonsman i agree with you. I was there that day and they were both standouts in a average team. I think Ross made the roosters harold matts last year and got injured? Attard was brilliant this year for St Clair how didnt he make the penirth development squad?

ranga

get your facts straight ,recently he has missed training with no excuse .turned up at games demanding what position he plays and shows no respect for any one around him ,its been said before no one is bigger than the game and he needs to remember that he is part of a team ,he has potential but why do you reward a kid with an attitude like this ,what does this teach the kid who has limited ability but premium dedication to a game we obviously all care for , get over him he aint that good

stretcher

Yeah well actually know a couple of the brothers really well, so we will have to see if im right, hopefully im wrong..
well if you know the brothers so well then you would know they are contracted and they dont have any clauses to get out on so penrith will not let them go........

stretcher

so there is no confusion only one person here at penrith thinks Tai is not up to it and thats the clown running the junior league development part.As has been stated he came 2nd in trys scored here and thats from a front rower
vaipuna tiakilifi was top of the try scorers and competition player of the year when he played matts 5times the player tai is and he didnt set the world on fire this year in the ball you guys need to realise how big a jump it is.Im a massive fan of tai but you have do as your coaches want when you play rep footy and when its over and you go back to club you have to train and lead by example as a rep player and yes i have said that to his face and to his credit he took it on board and finished the year great but expecting to make ball after all that big mistake his time will come they shouldnt rush him and yes his weight is an issue like or not......

stretcher

Dragonsman i agree with you. I was there that day and they were both standouts in a average team. I think Ross made the roosters harold matts last year and got injured? Attard was brilliant this year for St Clair how didnt he make the penirth development squad?
what you have to realise that competition is for players that are not rep players so to stand out in that competition in a team that didnt win a game isnt hard and if you can tell me who you drop out of the matts squad picked to put them in fair enuf but i dont think they could of picked a better team without picking 50 players and that aint gunna happen..

Art Vandalay

vaipuna tiakilifi was top of the try scorers and competition player of the year when he played matts 5times the player tai is and he didnt set the world on fire this year in the ball you guys need to realise how big a jump it is.Im a massive fan of tai but you have do as your coaches want when you play rep footy and when its over and you go back to club you have to train and lead by example as a rep player and yes i have said that to his face and to his credit he took it on board and finished the year great but expecting to make ball after all that big mistake his time will come they shouldnt rush him and yes his weight is an issue like or not......

agreed with vtk had a good ball season for sumone a year younger just as good as the older boys did in sg ball as well as the team not performing as well as it should

the sg ball squad are meeting at penrith for a meeting at 6 be interesting to c what is said

Big Mick

He may carry a little extra weight, but it is his strength and weight which makes him so dominant.
Tai has under-estimated pace and endurance and with a little extra fitness training will push for an u/20s spot within the next few years.

Geez..that's all i'm saying. For him to look after himself.

Maybe embellishing on the 30kg mark...maybe closer to 15-20kg and he'd be an absolute machine.

Imagine what pace and endurance he could have if he was conditioned in the future?...that's what i'm saying.

I've seen his raw power etc. I remember at the battle of the west he ripped the sh!t out of Parra...but also dropped the ball 2-3 times in the second half.

I'm gutted to be losing the kid...but I think we'll regret it when Parramatta's conditioning staff get a hold of him and make him Fui Fui Moi Moi 2.0.

Big Mick

agreed with vtk had a good ball season for sumone a year younger just as good as the older boys did in sg ball as well as the team not performing as well as it should

the sg ball squad are meeting at penrith for a meeting at 6 be interesting to c what is said

Agree 100% with this.

VTK will be so much better in 2010 than this year.

So much so in fact by end of 2010 i reckon he may find his way to the Toyota Cup team.

Big Mick

ahh k right fair point where did u say u studied medicine

My brother is a GP, Commonwealth Games Road Race cyclist and NSW Triathlon champion.

When I finally started taking his advice and stopped being stubborn I made the necessary changes and it worked.

Only reason I say it...is because I hate seeing potential wasted. Owen Craigie is a case in point. In SG ball and lower grades he was a machine, best junior player in a LONG time...he gets on the hamburgers and only 10-15 overweight for first grade and that limited his potential so much it's not even funny.

Tai has massive potential in this game, he can make a lot of money doing it but he needs to apply himself better and start the physical conditioning mindset now, proving not only to himself but the coaching staff that he is serious about taking it as a career path.

A lot of people have talent, its the ones who work and apply it that become superstars.