Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Have the Dragons forgotten how to celebrate ?

Mighty Saints

G'day guys,

I've just finished reading the R2K post regarding an online petition to host a Dragons street parade.

What the hell has the world come to when you have to actually petition a club that has won a Premiership after a 31 year drought, to host a street parade ???:x

Guys.....I thought it was just me, but after the Grand Final we seemed to have stopped the celebrations before they started. Living in Campbelltown, my 12 year old son regularly cops it for being a Saints supporter, but.....he always wears his colours and for the past 2 years in particular we spoke about all the things we'd do when and if Saints won the big one. Well....we won, and guess what ? It seemed like all the good celebratory antics we had planned were gone.

I rang the club after the Wollongong "whistle-stop" tour. I asked what else was planned - nothing, I was told.

Some may think i'm a bit harsh, but I'm sure there's many who - like me - waitied 31 years for this. For goodness sake....we partied harder when we lost in 99. I was really disappointed in what we did after we won, which was pretty much nothing.

I talk to Saints supporters who tell me how surreal winning was, and how it seemed to be over so quickly - I think the Club really dropped the ball on this one. The players apparently went on holidays the Saturday after the GF - for 6 weeks. They seemed untouchable the 2 days after the game.

I'm really sorry to be a downer, but it hurt me heaps. 31 years........my God......that is such a long time. Don't we know how to celebrate ??? I thought there'd be street parades and "meet the players" days all week.
I'm gutted.

Peter :(

STG-MACCA

A few of us kept partying for days on end mate......but as supporters, we don't require the players to be with us to enjoy the moment.

I understand the sentiments of your post, but for the boys they also want to let their hair down (they had gone through plenty too and I think they deserved it). In a perfect world (no media carrying on) the boys could have celebrated in the club with us all, but with iphones / smart phones in every second persons pocket those days are past mate.

The club on Monday and Tuesday night was still pumping with people singing and dancing till the early hours of the mornings. I personally didn't stop till the next weekend, but if I was a father, I realise this couldn't have been the same.

Since that weekend, we have had BBQ's / parties reliving the moment and these will continue right through the offseason for the people I associate with.

For those with families, I know it's tough and I know it was a bummer how it all seemed to crash with that 'incident' at the club (but remember someone did pass away). The party will fall right back into the swing of things at the street parade and the kick off next season.

The moment can be what you make of it yourself.

Deacon

Obviously the mood was killed in a big way on that night at the leagues club, for me it was a downer(sorry poor choice of words) but it put things in perspective for me with regards to life unfortunately, many feel the same I think

Mighty Saints

It's probably just you.

Did you go to the grand final and/or to Jubilee Oval afterwards?

Mate....unfortunately it's not just me who thinks that things ended a bit too quick.

Yep, I took my family to the Grand Final. I also went back to Kogarah and to Wollongong the next day. I've been a season ticket holder for 20 years. I've been to every losing Grand Final since 79 and been back at the Club - with the players - after each loss.

We won this year, and I'm telling you it was a very "hands off " affair. I watched as thousands waited in the rain for the players to return to Kogarah, and then saw the players for a short time before they were ushered away. I'm pretty sure they could have handled some interaction with supporters, and I don't think it was their doing.

To those of you that partied on for the week - that's great. But I think we were a bit dudded. Hell, the Club wouldn't even allow me to take my 12 year old son to the bistro to get something to eat - not on Grand Final day apparently - and I'm a member. Seems OK after and before every other game.

Peter
(Mighty Saints - formerly Original_Changa)

Ulysseus

My liver regrets the week after.

I'll second that motion, poor little bastard, I would not have been surprised if it tried to crawl out of my arse, assemble a bindle containing its few belongings and try its luck on the open road after the abuse it copped.

Mighty Saints, with the greatest respect, if you were concerned about the rain you were probably already dulling your own expectations.

You make of it whatever you will. The players have been close to the supporters all year. We all joined in the team song with them after the grand final. This happened at both Jubilee and Wollongong.

As mentioned, the players have to return to their lives at some point. We don't own them. After they leave the podium and take a break with their families, it's up to the fans to decide how we'll continue our celebrations.

Ulysseus

As mentioned, the players have to return to their lives at some point. We don't own them. After they leave the podium and take a break with their families, it's up to the fans to decide how we'll continue our celebrations.

The bolded bit is the problem.
f**king bidding on memorabilia, imagine the funds that could be raised by physically auctioning off Jason Nightingale.

Owning one would be like a talking point for all occasions, like a statue in the backyard, except it'd be more along the lines of "hey dude, is that premiership winning Saints player and two try hero Jason Nightingale cleaning out the guttering around your house?" and you'd be able to say, casually "yeah, won him in an auction, has to hang here for at least 8 hours a week for a long f**king time".

If I owned him I could utilise his genetic material to secretly create a team full of Nightingales of various sizes and dimensions (scarily I work for a multi billion dollar global evil empire and it would not surprise me if we weren't already doing something like this already) thus in turn assuring Saints success for eons to come.

Sure, some arseholes might comment on the moral side of all that, but they just don't support this game and realise what lengths we'd go to in the search for an edge.

Drew-Sta

f**king bidding on memorabilia, imagine the funds that could be raised by physically auctioning off Jason Nightingale.

Owning one would be like a talking point for all occasions, like a statue in the backyard, except it'd be more along the lines of "hey dude, is that premiership winning Saints player and two try hero Jason Nightingale cleaning out the guttering around your house?" and you'd be able to say, casually "yeah, won him in an auction, has to hang here for at least 8 hours a week for a long f**king time".

If I owned him I could utilise his genetic material to secretly create a team full of Nightingales of various sizes and dimensions (scarily I work for a multi billion dollar global evil empire and it would not surprise me if we weren't already doing something like this already) thus in turn assuring Saints success for eons to come.

Sure, some arseholes might comment on the moral side of all that, but they just don't support this game and realise what lengths we'd go to in the search for an edge.

:lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

saint-colesy

The death at the leagues club put a grinding hault to celebrations on the sunday night..

I went back to the taj on monday and it had a great atmosphere again..

Godz Illa

My old man and I uncorked a 50 year old ceramic bottle of port last night. It was called 'All Saints', he'd had it since 71 (it had aged 15 years at the time), and some time in the 90's he'd vowed to open it when Saints won the comp. Only problem is I have now tasted perfection, and can never drink inferior port again. fmd it was potent too

to_ddeath

That concept is just pure f**king awesomeness. No more words to describe it.

T.

big pat

i've noticed on some facebook pages, that people are having private celebrations and watching the game again, so i would have to say no, not quite anyway. ps the beer and steak night at allawah next monday night, they're trying to get the grand final replayed.

My old man and I uncorked a 50 year old ceramic bottle of port last night. It was called 'All Saints', he'd had it since 71 (it had aged 15 years at the time), and some time in the 90's he'd vowed to open it when Saints won the comp. Only problem is I have now tasted perfection, and can never drink inferior port again. fmd it was potent too
I've got one of those, except I think it's only 25 years old. More a ceramic jug or small-ish flagon. Pretty sure it from the eighties, Penfolds logo and has a team photo and autographs glazed onto the outside of the jug. Been years since I've taken it out of the kitchen cupboard. I'll have another look tonight.

I never thought to open it because I thought it would taste like lighter fluid after all these years. Plus I figured it was worth more as a collectable if it stayed unopen. Might have to have a rethink about that after your glowing report Godz.

big pat

I've got one of those, except I think it's only 25 years old. More a ceramic jug or small-ish flagon. Pretty sure it from the eighties, Penfolds logo and has a team photo and autographs glazed onto the outside of the jug. Been years since I've taken it out of the kitchen cupboard. I'll have another look tonight.

I never thought to open it because I thought it would taste like lighter fluid after all these years. Plus I figured it was worth more as a collectable if it stayed unopen. Might have to have a rethink about that after your glowing report Godz.

so thats whats in your bag willow, i thought it was change of clothes, now we know its a flagon of port, don't tell rexxy he'll swap it for some pimms instead.