Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hawkes move

Red Bear

Is it true that Hawthorn is moving back to Waverly next season? Reading their 2005 report card it looked that way.

CyberKev

Certainly not to play there, mate, given that the ground has been torn down. The stands at least.

They will be moving their administrative and training operations out to the lairy new centre at the old Waverley ground.

Mirvac has built a new gym and office complex for them out of one tier of the old Waverley stands, and they are leasing the facilities for $1 a year. In return, Hawthorn personnel do occasional promotional events for Mirvac who are building a new housing estate in the vacant areas that surrounded the old ground.

Red Bear

Lol fair enough. Why the move away/tearing down the ground? Musta been a pretty big ground if it could hold 72 000

CyberKev

GoTheBears said:
Lol fair enough. Why the move away/tearing down the ground? Musta been a pretty big ground if it could hold 72 000

I used to like Waverley, but I was in the minority.

For most, it was too cold, too wet, and too far from the city centre, particularly with no rail running to and from the ground.

They're probably better off with the Dome, although Collo would kill for the old Waverley playing surface, which was a deadset carpet and easily the best turf in the competition.

Ah, Waverley... I remember well being there for the only GF it hosted.

meltiger

CyberKev said:
too far from the city centre, particularly with no rail running to and from the ground.

Sad thing is - One day the Rowville line will end up getting built. Should have been done 30 years ago - & would have saved the footy ground.

CyberKev said:
Collo would kill for the old Waverley playing surface, which was a deadset carpet and easily the best turf in the competition.

That was because of the rain :)

lol

CyberKev

meltiger said:
That was because of the rain :)
lol

Mate, when it comes to football, mere matters of weather are very much secondary states of mind.

I remember sitting out at Waverley in pouring rain and getting rolled by Collingwood... Shocking experience and a truly dismal day.

The flipside to that was sitting through an endless torrential downpour (with no umbrella or jacket) as Hawthorn rolled Carlton in the 1988 second semi final.

We all had to strip naked back at the car and cover our respective modesties with our footy scarves when driving home (they were especially useful when ordering food in the Maccas drive through) :lol:

Unquestionably one of the top handful of days I've ever spent at the footy.

CyberKev

Hmmm...

Now I'm hoping my previous post didn't come across all homoerotic...

Not, of course, that there's anything wrong with that...:cool:

meltiger

CyberKev said:
Hmmm...

Now I'm hoping my previous post didn't come across all homoerotic...

Not, of course, that there's anything wrong with that...:cool:

LOL!

One of my favourite games out there was in similary disgracefully cold conditions, in fact I'd have to say I've never been so bloody cold in my entire life.

Richmond managed to struggle their way to the sensationally skillful total of 4 goals 16 behinds to knock off Hawthorn who had kicked about 5 goals 4 (Or something like that - Richmond's total is 100% right, Hawthorn's I'm not sure of)

The weather was that bad, even Waverley had turned into a mud patch, my one enduring memory (Other than being f**king freezing) was watching Richo (Non-scoreboard end) attempt a grubber off the ground, he slipped, stood on the ball and fell on his arse LOL

It was a great day!

CyberKev

I must disagree!

A truly awful day!

Round 3 1995, and you were spot on with the score for both sides.

meltiger

LOL

That one will always be vivid because I had come down from the Gold Coast to spend school holidays at mum and dads place and saw 3 games on the trot, North (Pretty sure the night we went silly and kicked 10 goals in the 1st quarter) st kilda & hawthorn. After being up on the Coast, Waverley was like being stuck in a freezer!! lol

Also, after ten years of watching Dunstall make us look like fools, to knock Hawthorn off was a great achievment.

Undoubtedly, our best win that year was desstroying the defending premiers at Optus Oval by around 10 goals.

I got to watch that from the comfortable surounds of my cousins couch in Robina :(

Red Bear

Just quickly what round were used by the clubs before the central move to the MCG/Telstra Dome (I know of Windy Hill, Optus and Whitten and Waverly).

CyberKev

ESSENDON: Windy Hill

HAWTHORN: Princes Park (Optus Oval); Glenferrie Oval prior to 1973

BULLDOGS: Whitten Oval (Western Oval)

KANGAROOS: Arden St

RICHMOND: Punt Road

ST KILDA: Moorabin Oval; Prior to 1965 (or thereabouts), I believe the Saints played out of the Junction Oval, but I may be wrong.

STH MELBOURNE: The Lake Oval (prior to the Sydney move)

CARLTON: Princes Park (Optus Oval)

meltiger

CyberKev said:
ESSENDON: Windy Hill

HAWTHORN: Princes Park (Optus Oval); Glenferrie Oval prior to 1973

BULLDOGS: Whitten Oval (Western Oval)

KANGAROOS: Arden St

RICHMOND: Punt Road

ST KILDA: Moorabin Oval; Prior to 1965 (or thereabouts), I believe the Saints played out of the Junction Oval, but I may be wrong.

STH MELBOURNE: The Lake Oval (prior to the Sydney move)

CARLTON: Princes Park (Optus Oval)

Yes.

You forgot Collingwood & Fitzroy!! lol

meltiger

Source - http://saints.com.au/default.asp?pg=history&spg=display&articleid=64425

As in 1918, the Saints began the next season full of running but, yet again, committee brawling affected on-field performances. This combined with the loss of players on war service to send the team plummeting down the ladder. There was an even more tangible effect on football when the St Kilda Cricket Ground was taken over by military authorities and the Saints were forced to play home games at Prahran.
Through it all the Club retained a tremendous following, and when long-awaited success came in the form of five wins early in 1950, the St Kilda-Carlton game drew 50,000 people to the Junction Oval. Coaches came and went, but by 1955 the Club had hit rock bottom.
Prior to 1964 the Club announced that it would move to a new home at Moorabbin, after years of being treated as second-class tenants by the cricket club.

Junction Oval.

meltiger

Was reading an interesting website this morning and was looking at Richmond's win/loss ratio at particular grounds. The following grounds were listed as being used in the AFL (Richmond didn't play at all)
  • Arden Street - North Melbourne
  • Brunswick Street - Fitzroy
  • Carrara - Brisbane
  • Coburg Oval - North Melbourne
  • Corio Oval - Geelong
  • Docklands - Main Venue
  • East Melbourne - University/Essendon
  • Football Park - Adelaide/Port Adelaide
  • Gabba - Brisbane
  • Glenferie Oval - Hawthorn
  • Junction Oval - St Kilda/Main Venue (GF's were played there)
  • Kardinia Park - Geelong
  • Lake Oval - South Melbourne
  • MCG - Melbourne/Richmond/Main Venue
  • Moorabbin Oval - St Kilda
  • Olympic Park - ?????!
  • Princess Park - Carlton/Hawthorn/Fitzroy/Footscray
  • Punt Road - Richmond
  • SCG - Sydney/North Melbourne
  • Stadium Australia - Sydney
  • Subiaco - West Coast/Fremantle
  • Toorak Park - ???????????
  • Victoria Park - Collingwood
  • WACCA - West Coast/Fremantle
  • Waverley Park - St Kilda/Hawthorn/Main Venue
  • Western Oval - Footscray
  • Windy Hill - Essendon
  • Yarraville Oval - Footscray
Are you able to help fill in the blanks in this list? I've never heard of some of these grounds being used?! lol

CyberKev

Hmmm.

I'm confident that North Melbourne used the Coburg ground for a season in the 1960s.

This is a bit sketchy, but I believe they were looking to leave Arden St and were using Coburg as a short-term base while the (recently vacated) Junction Oval was supposed to be getting renovated by the council.

I think the council may have got too greedy and the Kangaroos were getting a hard time from Carlton, who had a close association with the Coburg club. On top of this, an agitation group within the Kangaroos successfully lobbied for a return to Arden St and they found themselves back there the following season.

I'm not sure about the other grounds, although I think I have read of Essendon once playing out of the East Melbourne ground.

meltiger

I thought I wasn't imagining things. University definitly played there - Hence the merger with Melbourne when they folded but I am positive Essendon did too at some point - Although for what reason I am unsure, given Essendon is a Western Suburb lol

Yarraville may have been used by the Dogs? Yarraville Oval is only maybe a 10-15 minute walk down Williamstown Road from the Western Oval.

Olympic Park was the one that got me. How would you be able to play footy in there?!

Toorak Park - I'm thinking maybe Melbourne??? Or even Hawthorn to be honest. - It actually looks like Fitzroy or St Kilda checking the AFL site.

Hmm, I almost came up with a complete list :) lol