Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hayne~NFL~RU~Tits~Eels~Dad~Jailed~Mistrial~Jailed~Retrial~Jailed~Appeal~Quashed-Sued~Fat~RMC

Anyone who thinks Grenturd is good for the game and doesn't play favourites really needs to look in the mirror.

He is a myth that favours his political power base, he will come under scrutiny from the clubs not aligned to him without doubt, and of course he had nothing to do with JH moving so quickly on the Tits offer
Why is it always so black and white with you, merkin?

Why are you so sure that there isn't a bit of grey?

Brett Hodgson, Andrew Ryan, Pat Richards

Those players BTW all left the club under amicable circumstances. Indeed they would all still be considered as part of the Eels family.

Judas and Hayne managed their exists extraordinarily bad. They are not part of the family anymore.

We should never attempt to erase their contribution from our clubs history, nor should we pretend that that the circumstances which surrounds their departures were anything other than selfish and mercenary.

emjaycee

I have no issue with Jarryd being remembered on the Wall of Fame like many past players, even give him his own section. For me however, the huge murals (both inside and outside) should be reserved for either "one club legends" such as Sterling, Hindmarsh, Price, etc. or for current players who are key marketing properties such as Semi.

To me the limited real estate available for these sized murals should be used for marketing and promotion of the brand.

Delboy

Why is it always so black and white with you, merkin?

Why are you so sure that there isn't a bit of grey?

Was told before he was appointed , yes someone from the Eels, that they were concerned about his past connections and the push from Roosters, Broncos and the Dogs to appoint him

They weren't happy with the cover up for Barba and other things under his time at the Dogs. He hasn't done anything to dispel those thoughts

He is a political mover, and it shows, and someone has to agree with El D :)

Was told before he was appointed , yes someone from the Eels, that they were concerned about his past connections and the push from Roosters, Broncos and the Dogs to appoint him

They weren't happy with the cover up for Barba and other things under his time at the Dogs. He hasn't done anything to dispel those thoughts

He is a political mover, and it shows
That's good, but you didn't answer my question Alan Jones.

phantom eel

You could suggest that bringing in Hayne has upset the balance of the team, but there have been too many examples of poor play he has had no part in that refutes that claim.
You could. I do. And I disagree the examples of general poor play refute that Hayne has upset the balance (and structure, having been tried in three positions).

If anything, I think they looked less potent with Hayne at fullback. He didn't much get involved in the organisation of play, and the Titans 5th tackle options were embarrassing at times.
This is true. Hayne is still a lazy player, and not worth elite playmaker money.

The Undertaker

Suity, I have 2 grandsons who support the Tigers and the Warriors, strangely both of them have turned off JH because he didn't return as promised. Right or wrong, that's what they think

As an aside, I spoke to a senior Fox identity last night, he said it was common knowledge in the game circles that the NRL ensured the Titans were placed in front of JH and given preference and favouritism to suit the NRL. Anyway it's done now, and we all have memories of our run in 2009 and other standouts, just can't warm to him these days
Sounds like your 2 grandsons have a good moral compass Dellboy.
Kudo to them.
When ya make a promise you should stand by it and its a credit to them ( and their family ) that they understand that

The Undertaker

Last night at Parra Leagues club my son and i caught the escalator to the 3rd floor where there is a MASSIVE Jarryd Hayne picture at the top of the escalator. Takes up half the wall. My son laughed and said 'what's that still doing there?. I told him, "because he is still and will always be a legend of this club, it's most talented player ever, and a man who has entertained us supporters for years. That doesn't change." (yes - I am a wise old man!)

I hope they always keep the picture up there because it deserves to be. As do the photos on the 'Wall of Fame' of Jamie Lyon, Brett Hodgson, Andrew Ryan, Pat Richards etc etc etc. The fact they ended up at other clubs does not diminish what they did at our club one little bit.
Whilst I agree he's undoubtedly a legend of the club I don't know about " most talented player ever".
That'd be open for debate

eels_fan

I'm ok with Hayne having his big poster/mural inside the club for now (agree with emjay on the external signage).

But in say 3 years time when (positivity!) we have a premiership for the first time in 30+ years, with Corey having lead our team around the park for 4-5 years - who deserves a big mural in the club more?

A guy with tremendous talent, as many have stated the most skilful player we've seen in our jersey, but who in his time delivered null in teams of team achievements, or a guy who may not be as skilful but led us to premiership glory?

For mine, Corey's mural is up there and Hayne's is relegated to a framed photo in the Hall of Fame

Hayne had a good 2009 and a good 2014 and a few flashes of brilliance in between.
Was his debut season anywhere as impressive as Bevans? It does not matter how you get to the try line they are worth the same.
Its the same as soccer. It don't matter how you get the ball in the net.Why I always rated Cahill superior to Kewell who had more talent.

Incorrect

Whilst I agree he's undoubtedly a legend of the club I don't know about " most talented player ever".
That'd be open for debate

I reckon you'd be hard pressed to find a league player who could throw 2-3 man cut out passes left to right and right to left, ball play at the line, beat his man with power or speed or evasiveness (sometimes all 3 in the same play ), drop kick a footy 60 on the fly, kick 40-20's , goal kick if required all in the one package. I've been watching league since the early 80's and I've not seen a more naturally gifted rugby league player capable of combining all those skills. Had Inglis' power, Thurston's game awareness, Lockyers silky hands, Slater's speed, johns' boot... Could put a hit on in defence like Lockyer and Thurston never did. The only thing he didn't have, and its not a physical rugby league attribute, that JT and Johns had is the mental consistency to bring his best every week.

One of my favourite Hayne moments, and its an obscure one but it showed his ability to see the game a couple of plays ahead, was the game v the Dragons on a Saturday arvo in 2014 at Parra Stadium, Benji's comeback game. Anyone recall Pauli Pauli's try in the north western corner that day? If you ever get to see it, watch the play about 2 tackles before Pauli scores, we are tackled down in the corner about 5 metres out and Pauli, trying to go back to his position over in the middle, starts to head across but Hayne grabs him and tells him to stay on the short side. 2 plays later, Hayne goes short side, isolates 2 smaller defenders (aren't they all smaller than Pauli!), and Bang! Try time, and I remember Haynes reaction, he was well chuffed.

At his peak slater was a better player. Sure Hayne could do more things.But like I said prior it doesn't matter how you get the ball in the back of the net.If you have one trick and it works all the time no need to learn another one.
NEXT

And in the semi it was Mortimer - Robo-Moi Moi who won it for us along with Hindys try saving tackle on Ennis.

Lets not remember these guys thou - Yep it was golden balls

EelsFan05

And in the semi it was Mortimer - Robo-Moi Moi who won it for us along with Hindys try saving tackle on Ennis.

Lets not remember these guys thou - Yep it was golden balls
After getting belted on his first hit up, Moi Moi won it for us in the fowards that night. Almost won us the GF as well and should have won the Clive Churchill.

Incorrect

Like I said , he (Hayne) had all the skills. Hence my assertion that he is the most naturally gifted league player I've seen in terms of skill set. You think Slater was better, fair enough. Better fullback, yes, but better all round player? Not likely. The 09 GF "freeze" if you want to call it that reinforces my point about the mental side of his game. And yeah, I often think to myself "thank god we had Robson in the prelim final in 2009, what ever would we have done without him?"....