Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hayne the lair

oldmancraigy

All this despite the fact that his 2010 year was better than his 2009 season, and his 2011 season is arguably better than his 2010 season. Of course, people who only watch highlight tapes won't know this.

Hayne is one of the most team-orientated players in the game, but because the Eels are garbage he cops all the blame.

Spot on.

Put aside all the ridiculous opinions and just watch the footy, and Hayne is busting his hump to make something (anything) happen for Parra.

he's playing with a bunch of reserve graders in the backline, and still putting them through gaps and putting points on the board for Parra.

Sure, he screwed up the put down (was he showboating or did he freak out that Blair was so close??) - but 2 minutes later he holds up a beautiful short pass to put a man into a gap and a try results for Parra.

Hayne is the only person I know who is bagged for being shot at.

No one mentions the fact that TWICE he resigned with his club for unders. Once to keep a teammate (who chased the money 3 years later), and the second time to stay loyal to the code.

No one mentions the fact that he'll play anywhere for his state, and do his best for any Blues coach no mater how f*cked they treat him. Compare his reaction to Sticky's 5/8 comment to Meningas antics.

Haynes the real deal. he's responsible for half our tries this season ffs.

Hayne haters = NFI. Bartman, fair dinkum I thought you had more sense.

Oh - and good on Masoe - a Dragons fan sticking up for an Eel. Engine - you are seriously f*cked in the head.

LMFAO!!! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA @ THE LAME TRAIN.

What a f*cking show-pony W*NKER!!!!

LOL @ lying on the ground after it knowing he must look like an absolute d*ck.

RABK

Great player who recieves hate for it. Nothing new - Lewis, Langer, Johns, Walters, Buderus, Tallis etc

Penrose Warrior

I don't know if it was arrogance that caused it, or not knowing where he was, or thinking Blair was closer than he was. But it was a monumental f*ck up, he didn't need to do what he did. And yes they did score next set up that end, but you don't blow chances like that against the minor premiers (to be).

Hutty1986

No one mentions the fact that TWICE he resigned with his club for unders. Once to keep a teammate (who chased the money 3 years later), and the second time to stay loyal to the code.

No one mentions the fact that he'll play anywhere for his state, and do his best for any Blues coach no mater how f*cked they treat him. Compare his reaction to Sticky's 5/8 comment to Meningas antics.

Oh - and good on Masoe - a Dragons fan sticking up for an Eel. Engine - you are seriously f*cked in the head.

I don't think he is.. more a fan of an ordinary forward

Glen

LOL @ this thread, pathetic. The way you lot carry on you'd think he strolled through under the posts untouched then attempted a backflip before grounding the ball

Frailty

Hayne is a good player, but dare to criticise him and you suffer the wrath of people insulting you for doing so.

Also, Gould having a go at Hayne? Bullshit. The media continue to love Hayne to the point of nausea.

gronkathon

He seemed to lose track of where he was on the field.

I would imagine he is used to having an extra yard of pace when he doesn't have a pivots workload as well

The Engineers Room

He felt the pressure of the Melbourne cover defence and took what panned out as a wrong option. Thought the Storm player was about to tackle him and jump out to ground it.

Still thought that he had no separation and based on recent decisions this should have been a try.

Pierced Soul

Jealousy mate. Plus people can't handle the fact that he doesn't yell and make loads of noise when he scores.

Also they don't like that when he cops cheap shots he retaliates and headbutts merkins.

i like his plane movements :sarcasm:

Great player who recieves hate for it. Nothing new - Lewis, Langer, Johns, Walters, Buderus, Tallis etc

don't forget covell

he gets so much hate cos he comes across as an arrogant prick who thinks the game is about him. he's an incredibly gifted player who i believe with the right coach can become one of the best modern players we'll see.

he also cops shit cos more's is expected from him so when he throws a ball over the sideline he gets criticised, when he tried to show off in scoring he gets criticised.

there was no excuse for him not to score last night, he tried to be fancy and lost the ball

Cupid Stunt

He felt the pressure of the Melbourne cover defence and took what panned out as a wrong option. Thought the Storm player was about to tackle him and jump out to ground it.

Still thought that he had no separation and based on recent decisions this should have been a try.

Agree. Especially the last line. Bias aside there's been more than a few of these putdowns given as a try this year. Sadly worse have been given also.

BM1979

Wrong , I bag the pricks for shooting like shit and missing

POPEYE

That could have been given a try and I wouldn't have complained. Hayne is aware of all the attention Billy gets and just wanted a full back page photo for his scrapbook He didn't miss out by much

Worth the risk . . . just imagine the hoopla this morning if the Eels had won and he was declared the best in the world by nine. Benjii eat your heart out

haynenation

good to see people sticking up for hayne for a change. People expect him to play like he did in the saints 09 semi every game which is impossible as it was arguably the most dominant individual performance ever by a player.

as someone said. hes criticised for not doing enough and then the next week criticised for trying too much.

It doesnt help he plays with a very pedestrian backline (Sorry Morgan, Burt, Smith - etc).. but hopefully with a class player like Hicks there now things will change. You even saw it with Benji , when Lawrence was out, the Tigers couldnt penetrate in the backs at all and benji is one of the better players out there

Packy

I think he was just f**ked from running so far and had a mild brain snap. He wasn't showboating, just wanted to get the job done and made a decision... it was a poor one probably due to short term fatigue.

Mader45

It seemed like a 50/50 play. The way he laid on the ground afterwards realizing he had messed it up made me kind of think he was aware he was doing something risky.

At the same point.... I thought a lair was like a villains hideout.

What the f**k does this thread title have to do with Hayne?

Even liar makes no sense cause he didn't jump up acting like he scored either.

Tiger_Gold

It seemed like a 50/50 play. The way he laid on the ground afterwards realizing he had messed it up made me kind of think he was aware he was doing something risky.

At the same point.... I thought a lair was like a villains hideout.

What the f**k does this thread title have to do with Hayne?

Even liar makes no sense cause he didn't jump up acting like he scored either.

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Mug%20Lair